Will I go to school?

Trip Start Jun 07, 2008
Trip End Jun 28, 2009

Loading Map
Map your own trip!
Map Options
Show trip route
Hide lines
Where I stayed
Beaverkill Fishing Shack

Flag of United States  , New York
Wednesday, July 30, 2008

The next question that grownups and kids always ask is:


Now, I have to be honest. It may sound strange, but I really like school. I went to a great school in New Jersey called the Willow School. It is one of the "greenest" schools in the world. The buildings are all made of recycled materials and have lots of windows and we got to play in the woods. I loved my friends there. My teachers were good, too, especially Mr. Parker, my second grade teacher. He is from Canada and goes to the Arctic in the summer to do research. So when I heard I would not be going to school I was a little sad. I actually tried to convince some of my friends to come with us on the trip.

But I am getting used to the idea of no school for a year, or at least no school like I have been used to with classrooms and kids and no parents most of the time. My mom and dad are going to teach me this year, with some help along the way from tutors in some of the places we visit. So what subjects will I study?

Math, of course. I will be doing multiplication and division and all those things, but also measuring the distances between places, measuring how far it is to the next town, counting wild animals we see, and all kinds of things like that. I like math.

Science, my favorite, will be fun. I already have a museum of bones, feathers, rocks, and stuff that I have collected from all over (it is in storage for the year with most of my toys and books) and look forward to adding to it. I want to find more porcupine quills and also maybe a a lion's claw. I once got my dad in trouble with the Argentine Police when I tried to bring back lots of guanaco bones in my bag! In London, we spent most of a day at the Museum of Natural History, my favorite. My teacher, Mr. Parker, said that if "young Teddy Roosevelt could learn while going down the Nile", so could I I think that is true, at least about science things.

P.E. will be different and maybe a little harder. My parents both like to hike, bike, run, surf, sail, and do all sorts of outdoor things, so I know we will be doing lots of activities outside most days. I actually love to surf and bike so am excited about this part. However, I will miss playing soccer, hockey, and baseball with my friends and hope I can keep up while I am away.

Art is going to mean drawing lots of things we see along the way. I like to draw battle scenes and knights and did this a lot while we were in Ireland. My mom also got me a camera so I can take photos of things I like during the year.

Language Arts is a tough one. I love to read and when we went to Ireland, I finished all the books my parents brought for me before we got off the plane. But I found some cool books about Celtic history and Irish heroes in Dublin and learned a ton about Celtic heroes, Vikings, and other stuff, then we saw some of the buildings and things I read about during our stay there. That was fun. I look forward to reading a lot this year. However, I don't like to write (at least on paper) as much. I am going to work on it and this blog is one of my homework assignments for the year. I am also keeping a journal, writing about places we visit and people we meet, food we eat, and fun things like the "Best Hot Chocolate in the World Contest" that my family started about four years ago.

And as I mentioned, I am going to interview kids everywhere we go. I came up with some questions already and tried them out on my cousin Hannah, my friend Jake, and a boy I met on the beach in west Ireland. Everyone was great about answering the questions and I think it will be fun to do. Here are my answers to the questions, then the answers of the first three kids I interviewed. As well, there is an interview with a boy in Turkey that my dad met when he was there two weeks ago for his last work assignment. It doesn't really count because I did not do the interview, but it is nice that my dad remembered about my interviews when he was away. I think he should interview people his age, too!

Zola, age 8, on the road

Where do you live?
Right now, in the Beaverkill but next month I will travel the world with my family.

Who do you live with?
My parents, Peter and India, and my little sister, Tallulah. She is three.

Do you go to school?
I was finished the second grade at the Willow School in June and now my parents will be homeschooling me and I will have a tutor some while we travel.

What is your favorite subject?

What languages do you speak?

What do you do for fun?
Read, hang out with my friends, ride my bike, play sports

What are you most afraid of?
I don't know yet.

What do you want to be when you grow up?
Haven't decided.

What do you want to tell other kids?

Hannah, age 8, Nashville, Tennessee

Where do you live?
Hendersonville, Tennessee

Who do you live with?
My step-father, Darrell, and my mom

What does your house look like?
It is peach-colored and has two floors.

Do you go to school?
Of course.

How do get to school?
My mom drives me there

How many kids are in your class?

What languages do you speak?

What do you do for fun?
Watch TV and play with my friends

What is your favorite holiday?

What are you most afraid of?
Spiders and snakes

What do you want to be when you grow up?
Don't know yet

What sports do you play?

Neil Campbell, 10 years old
Connemara, Ireland

Where do you live and why?
We live in County Kildare, because it is quiet and because my parents live there.

Who do you live with?
Mom, Dad, and two brothers, Killian and Conor

What languages do you speak?
English and Irish

Do you go to school?

What is it like?
The school is small and white. There are 26 kids in my class and 160 in the whole school.

What is your favorite subject?

What are you afraid of?
Spiders. And ventriloquist dummies, they freak me out.

What do you want to be when you grow up?
Part of the Eavymeal Warhammer painting team.

(After I interviewed Neil, his brothers and I went to check out a boat on the beach that looked like it was deserted and had washed up. We tried to pull the anchor out of the sand and then climb on the boat, when the owner came driving his car fast across the beach and shouting at us. I thought he was going to kill us but he just shouted again and we ran back to our parents.)

Jake Moore, age 10, London

Where do you live?
I live in London in Clapham, near a big common (park) and about 1.5 miles across the River Thames from Buckingham Palace where the Queen lives.

What is your house like?
Our house was built in 1840 but that isn't really very old for London. It has 3 floors and is medium size. My bedroom is on the 3rd floor and looks over the street. We have a terrace at the back that looks over my garden where I play - but its not very big! I can't ride my bicycle there but I do like to play swingball tennis and badminton.

Who do you live with?
I live with my mum and dad, my older sister and younger brother. I also have Leo the killer lion (cat) and 2 goldfish (fish and chips who belong to Noah my brother!)

Do you go to school?
I go to school at Newton Prep which is a 20 minute walk from home.

How many kids are in your class?
There are 13 children in my class and 65 in my year.

What is your favorite subject?
My favorite subjects are sport (physical aducation) and maths.

What do you do for fun?
For fun I like to play the piano, play football, cricket and tennis. I also love my remote control car. I also love skiing and snowboarding. I love sailing too.

What are you afraid of?
I am most afraid of spiders and very high heights.

What do you eat for breakfast?
For breakfast before school I eat some toast with peanut butter or honey or cereal.

What is your favorite food?
My favorite food is (its hard to choose) lemon sorbet (needs to be really good). I love sushi. At home I love to eat bbq chicken wings.

What is your least favorite food?
My least favorite food is tomatoes and custard (not together)

What want to be when you grow up?
When I grow up I want to be either a musician or a surgeon.

What message would you tell the children of the world?
To the children of the world I say 2 things;
1: Never give up and
2. War never brings peace
Slideshow Report as Spam
  • Your comment has been posted. Click here or reload this page to see it below.

  • Please enter a comment.
  • Please provide your name.
  • Please avoid using symbols in your name.
  • This name is a bit long. Please shorten it, or avoid special characters.
  • Please enter your email address to receive notification
  • Please enter a valid email address

Use this image in your site

Copy and paste this html: