Brazil '09

Trip Start Jun 15, 2008
1
9
28
Trip End Jun 19, 2008


Loading Map
Map your own trip!
Show trip route
Hide lines
shadow

Flag of Brazil  , State of Rio de Janeiro,
Friday, June 12, 2009



Our Itinerary in Rio de Janerio, Brazil
June 12-26, 2009

Friday, June 12

Left for Rio de Janerio from Charlotte, NC with a lay over in Atlanta, GA

Saturday, June 13

Arrived at People's Central Institute (ICP) where we stayed for 7 days. ICP offers all day educational services for children 3 months to 6 years; remedial classes for public school children ages 7 to 12; adult classes for training on computers and computer repair, English classes, bakery school, and opportunities for field work.

Went to Men's toy store to buy tools

Watched sunset on Sugar Loaf Mountain

Sunday, June 14

Toured Corcovado, The Christ Statue

Attended the Hippie Fair

Visited the Lamb Community Center to discuss the work to be completed

Watched the children in the favela (slums) dance in the streets at the Hillbilly Fair

Attended church service at Jardim America Church

Monday, June 15 through Thursday, June 18

Completed construction work at the Lamb Community Center. The work we completed included adding stairs to the second floor, repairing the fence, and putting up white board in the classroom. We bought supplies and paid for someone to put up a roof over the outside area.

On Tuesday, June 16, we held VBS

On Thursday, I returned to ICP with flu-like symptons and went to bed without supper.

Friday, June 19

Toured downtown Rio and went to the Cathedral and Copacabana beach.

Saturday, June 20

Relaxed at Camp Clay

Hiked the trails and to the top of the mountain at Camp Clay

Sunday, June 21

Visited a Coffee Plantation

Shopped at a near by town

Attended Edjmonto's English class

Attended church service at church near Camp Clay

Camped out on the top of the mountain on the first day of winter with Ed Goodson, Danny Thompson, and Tim Giles. Watched the Southern Cross and other beautiful constellations.

Monday, June 22 through Wednesday, June 24

Worked with children at AMAS, a home for abandoned and abused children in Niteroi

Thursday, June 25

Toured Niteroi

Flew home

Friday, June 26

Arrived home











Slideshow Report as Spam
Where I stayed
ICP and Niterio

Post your own travel photos for friends and family More Pictures

Use this image in your site

Copy and paste this html: