Minor drama unfolds in Sydney town

Trip Start Mar 18, 2010
Trip End Dec 30, 2011

Loading Map
Map your own trip!
Map Options
Show trip route
Hide lines

Flag of Nigeria  , Lagos,
Friday, June 18, 2010

My housesitter resigned yesterday.

It turns out that she had a mild allergy to cats before she took on the position as cat sitter to Puss and Oren, but it has developed into a full blown rash all over her hands and arms.   She knew this over a month ago, but didn't know how to tell me, so she ignored my emails and waited until I asked her to phone me before telling me she was moving out the day after I get back for my break.

I wonder: if I hadn't have asked her to call, would she have waited until I got back to tell me?

I’m not really that happy about it as I have now had to cancel my 'going bush’ motorbike trip and look for a new housesitter instead.  Life moves on, throws us curve balls and sticks it fingers up at us, but we carry on and get on with it.

So I placed an advert yesterday that says this:

From:  July 30,2010 In: Australia
Period Housesit is available: 6 months + 
State:  NSW
City: Sydney 
City/Town Area: Western Suburbs  

I'm looking for someone to look after my cats and house long term while I go overseas. The house is located near Parramatta a few minutes’ walk from public transport.

The deal is this...rent free for up to six months (worth approx. $11,000) reviewed after three months. In exchange for looking after my babies and watering my plants. You pay utility bills and buy catfood. Someone will come in, mow the lawns and make sure you are living up to your part of the deal (done this before and got taken advantage of).

Inside the house: RC Aircon, One bedroom for use (with or without bed, if you have one), an office, a lounge room (with TV - optional Foxtel, DVD and iPod Dock) and a kitchen diner (mircowave, fridge, gas hob and electric oven). The laundry has a washing machine and dryer. Outside the house: a large garden, carport, porch and outdoor furniture.

If you are interested in more information, please send me a message.

Only contact me if you are a geniune cat lover (and not allergic to them) and prepared to share your bed.

Looking for: A mature person, preferably someone who has owned there own home at some point. Non smoker, no children and no other animals.

Interviews will be held the weekend 17th and 18th July 2010


I’ve had four responses so far.

1. A girl with two goldfish

2. A couple that can't move in until 14th August

3. A girl who hasn't got back to me after I asked if she liked cats

4. A lady with a baby

I was polite in every response, despite wanting to say, 'DID YOU READ THE ADVERT?'

To number one I asked if she’d ever seen a cat and fish live in harmony and referred her to the great Walt Disney movie ‘Lady and the Tramp’.

Number two were reminded that interviews were being held on 17th and 18th July and if they couldn’t make it, thank you and good luck.

I’m still waiting to hear back from number three.

Puss is too grumpy and unpredictable to have around adults, let alone a kid who might pull his tail.  I'm worried, that if my spawn of Satan had his tail pulled, or his bad leg brushed he take a kids face off in one swipe.  Sounds dramatic, but I’m sure a few people who bear his scars would share my fears for the offspring of number four.

I’ll keep you posted! :-)
Slideshow Report as Spam
  • Your comment has been posted. Click here or reload this page to see it below.

  • Please enter a comment.
  • Please provide your name.
  • Please avoid using symbols in your name.
  • This name is a bit long. Please shorten it, or avoid special characters.
  • Please enter your email address to receive notification
  • Please enter a valid email address

Use this image in your site

Copy and paste this html: