A day in the life of Daniel in America!

Trip Start Dec 31, 2009
Trip End May 27, 2010

Loading Map
Map your own trip!
Map Options
Show trip route
Hide lines
Where I stayed
Fairway, Purdue, Indanapolis

Flag of United States  , Indiana
Sunday, January 31, 2010

Hi Guys, It's been a while since I've written a blog I know! That's due to a few reasons, firstly I have just been so busy meeting new people and enjoying America that I've haven't found time for any blogs! Secondly I'm also three weeks into Collage and when I do sit down at the computer, I've been doing work instead of what really important- updating my Aussie mates about my travels! Finally, I hadn't taken any new photo's and I know that's what you guys really wanna see about haha. But I promise to make this blog extra long so you guys are fully updated!

There is so much to tell that I'm going to break up this blog into two- this one will be about my Average daily life, and the next one will be about interesting things I've been up too and all the quirky things I've found out about America!

Where to start! We'll I guess I'll start with the house

I'm living in a house with 60 like minded Christian guys, and every day is just absolutely amazing. There is always some to hang out with, people wanting to play video games, watch movies etc, even if its 3am in the morning haha.

My room mates are Nick and Chas- really cool guys you can see some pic's of them the pictures section, Chas is studying Math Education and Nick is a Medical Science major.

Here's a typical run down of a day at Purdue:

11:30am- wake up, do the whole morning routine
12:15pm- catch a bus to class
12:30-1:30 - sit in a lecture lol
1:30-3:30 - come home from class do go on Facebook or Home work 
3:30-4:30 go to another lecture
Night: Watch some 'big bang theory' (Comedy TV show) with nick and chas
Have dinner with the house
Maybe go to the Co-rec (massive sports center- its Free!)
Maybe play some 12 player system link halo, 
Maybe have a bible study, 
Maybe play some guitar, 
Maybe do some home work
Maybe get go to a 24 hr restaurant and have some pancakes, chicken nuggets... whatever's going down!
At this time it's probably 1 am in the morning
This means its 4pm the next day in AUS, so I'll get on FB and Skype and talk to Emily, parents or mates from Australia
That'll go on till 3am then I'll grab my ear plugs and head to bed.

Haha, so as you can see I have a typical collage student schedule pretty much... The latest I've woken up in the day is 2:30pm and the latest I've gone to bed is 6:30 am....  not surprising that both these occurred on the same day lol
Now for food....

Food is provided 3 meals a day 5 days a week (though if you want you can always heat up leftovers on the weekend).

Breakfast: The cereal is the most sugary things I've ever tasted! (you can check out some pic's haha)- you can literally get cereal that has marshmallows in them most are 30-40% sugar lol. Otherwise you can have waffles with maple syrup and peanut butter toast- oh BTW, Sunday morning breakfast the house buys 120 glazed, filled and regular doughnuts. YUM!

Lunch: Usually consists of something along the lines of macaroni cheese and fish sticks, or toasted sandwiches, or pizza pockets- Americans love their food! I love my food also, but I'm no different to anyone else over here.

Dinner: Dinner's are great! (check out the pic's) There is always jugs of Kool Aid or Gatorade on the table. Some nights we'll have bacon (American bacon is from a different part of the pig and is mostly fat), pasta, shepherds pie, or even pancakes with eggs, or what probably got me the most was French toast (egg in toast) with icing sugar and maple syrup. Yes, that was for DINNER, not even dessert. Probably once every week and a half we will have a 'trade dinner' with another house (so far they've been female houses) so dinner turn out to be very social events. After dinner we also have dessert, but I've talked so much about food I'll give you a break! 

Some of you will might be wondering, Is Dan going to be Fat when he comes back?? Haha, We'll I'm pleased to say that I have not put on even a pound since I've been here haha. Oh the wonders of youth.

Also the pic with the food platter is one I had at an international exchange function!! It was amazing! Strawberries, Blueberries, Raspberries, Pineapple, Rockmeoln, PawPaw, Boysenberries... with a thick caramel sauce that I dripped over the top... WOW.


So as I've said before, in the house lives 60 guys, who make quite a mess- there is no one over the age of 22 in the house and we do all the cooking and cleaning ourselves, and collectively make it happen.

I have two meal duties and one house duty per week. I have to clean up on Monday morning breakfast, (with another guy), and I have to clean up after Thursday dinner (with 3 other guys). My house duty involves getting rid of all the old food from the fridges and giving the kitchen a-bit of a more thorough clean once a week. It doesn't take long at all, and considering I get 3 meals a day and bed to sleep on- It's a great deal! I also have to do all my own washing and ironing haha, so that has proved interesting. Makes me appreciate my Mum that bit more haha. Love ya mum! I've found it quite easy to be independent actually, living out of home.

Check out the video of me cleaning out the deep firer with some guys from the house!! It hadn't been done in ages and there was all this burnt, brown.... disgusting things at the bottom that clogged up the pipe... lol It's a great laugh!


I'm talking 5 classes over, but two are only half a normal class so it works out OK. I've managed to get Friday's free so I've got a 3 day long weekend every weekend which is great!

I'm taking all education classes, two to do with technology and education, a multiculturalism and education, a history and philosophy of education and an 'Introduction to education class'. In two weeks time I will be heading out to a school about 15 min away and doing some 'prac' where I will observe and maybe even teach a year 8 Science class, so I'm really looking forward to that!

The classes are a very different feel to Australia, for example txting is not allowed in class, even in a lecture hall of 300 people and ESP not in a lab of 20. I feel a little more like I'm at high school lol. Also the work is very different, I've come straight out of Science where all the assessment is based on a couple of test in the middle and end of semester, here though I have heaps of small, but annoying little things that I have to do every week! I've found however that the academic writing standards are alot less over here, so sometime my work is of a higher quality then maybe what was necessary


The weather is still freezing! Its usually below 32 Fahrenheit (0 Celsius) in the day. The snow had almost completely melted about a week ago, but then I snowed again, so I'm still in a winter wonderland haha. Check out a pic of me just after I'd walked home while it was snowing! I was actually completely white when I came inside lol, most had melted by the time the picture was taken. Oh how I wish I could be enjoying the heat, beach, and the surf of Brisbane and the Gold Coast!!

We'll that's all about the typical things I do everyday! I'm about to post a blog with all the cool experices I've had so stay tuned! Btw I know this is littered with grammar and spelling mistakes!! And I can spell and write correct paragraphs If I want... but for this blog I choose not to!! Haha.
Slideshow Report as Spam
  • Your comment has been posted. Click here or reload this page to see it below.

  • You must enter a comment
  • You must enter your name
  • You must enter a valid name (" & < > \ / are not accepted).
  • Please enter your email address to receive notification
  • Please enter a valid email address

Use this image in your site

Copy and paste this html: