Jun 17, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
Today we went to visit Francis and David (Graham's cousin) at their house, Dol-y-Neuadd, just outside Llanfair Caereioion. It was good to see them again – we were here in 2008. After a good talk, we went for a drive to Lake Vyrnwy. The river Vyrnwy (a tributary of the Severn) has been dammed by a wall built with stone and slate in the 1880s, which was the first of its kind in the world. The wall is very decorative with 25 arches and 2 small towers with turrets. The Gothic revival straining tower also adds character to the area. It was built to supply Liverpool with water which it still does. This caused some friction as the water supplied to an English city meant the submerging of a small Welsh village, Llanwddyn. It is a pretty area and we had a high tea in the Hotel. People come to hike, cycle and fish for trout. It was a beautiful sunny day and people were making the most of the summer’s day (very much like a good winter’s day in Mackay). Robert (David and Francis’s son) has bought the Cann Office Hotel (built 1310) where we had a late dinner.