Country living

Trip Start Jun 03, 2010
Trip End Feb 04, 2012

Loading Map
Map your own trip!
Map Options
Show trip route
Hide lines
Where I stayed
Workaway with Alex

Flag of New Zealand  , Nelson,
Monday, November 29, 2010

Time seems to have slowed down, but I think only because I have stopped paying attention to it slipping by. Could be the influence of the country lifestyle. Jane put me in contact with her friend Alex, who owns a B&B about 10 kilometers out of Motueka in the countryside. I have been at his place about ten days, again working for room and board. He has two guesthouses, and I'm staying in one of them called the Hayshed. He has a beautiful property with a little river boardering one side. Alex is such a nice guy, very friendly and makes me feel at home.  He is really flexible and makes sure that I am able to see the area and do the things I want to do. Another helper, a woman named Lorena, has been here, too. She is also really nice, and we've gone on some runs and bike rides together. It is about 35 minutes and seven miles to bike into town, where I still meet up with Ingrid from time to time. Alex drives into town every day, so I can usually catch a ride one way or both. 

There are some really beautiful places within biking distance here, which I love. Up the road is the source of the Riuwaka River, where it comes out of the mountain through a small cave. It forms a pool aptly named the Crystal Pool, since the water is so clear you can see the rocks at the bottom, several meters down. The pool has a blue-green color to it, and it is just so beautiful with the mountain and trees all around it. Even just biking into town is amazing scenery: green forested hills layered into the distance against an impossibly blue sky painted with fluffly white clouds. Kaiteriteri's beach is also in biking distance, as long as you don't mind crawling up the hills in your lowest gear. The golden sand, blue-green water, and possible dolphin sightings make it worth it.

The work has been mostly tidying up the garden/yard by pulling weeds. We spent a couple of days fixing the fence and putting up sheep netting (basically a short wire fence) so that Alex can use his neighbor's sheep as lawnmowers for the field that is too rocky to mow. The neighbor is about a quarter mile up the road, so it was easiest to just walk the sheep over. Six of us were prepared to strategically place ourselves to try and keep the sheep from running off into the bush. I stood on a side path coming out of the neighbor's farm to block the sheep from going that way (by waving my arms and making noise). Once on the main road, the sheep practically ran to Alex's place, where he was waiting with the paddock gate open for them. Luckily we didn't have to stop any traffic, but I had my camera ready just in case. What a sight that would've been. 

When I'm not herding sheep or biking around the mountains or hanging out in town, I've been trying to find a job and a flat in Nelson. It's slim pickings. My choices are sports store sales person, rental car worker, house cleaner, supported living worker, natural health store sales person, or dishwasher. I applied to them all. There was a job that seemed similar to my job back home, but I'm not sure I'm ready for anything serious yet. Apparently the kids on summer break took what few jobs were available, and I only have a few weeks before the country shuts down for a month over Christmas, or so I've heard. I might need to start looking in bigger cities. I'm not really in a big rush, though. I'm happy here and could always do more workaways. 
Slideshow Report as Spam
  • Your comment has been posted. Click here or reload this page to see it below.

  • You must enter a comment
  • You must enter your name
  • You must enter a valid name (" & < > \ / are not accepted).
  • Please enter your email address to receive notification
  • Please enter a valid email address


Mom on

My daughter - the shepherd :) Sounds like a lovely place.

Use this image in your site

Copy and paste this html: