Monumental Hotel Orlando

12120 International Drive, Orlando, Florida, 32821, United States | 3 star resort
Prices starting from $79.00
 

Travel Blogs from Orlando

Universal Trip for Transformer's Opening Month

A travel blog entry by azuzo on Jul 27, 2013

1 photo

Last November, Matt and I purchased annual power passes for Universal Studios. Since then, we've visited quite a few times so luckily the passes have already paid for themselves. Since Orlando is only a little over two hours from Jupiter, we make it a mini weekend getaway by leaving Saturday morning and coming home Sunday evening. This entry will …

The biggest National Park of all...Disney World

A travel blog entry by mcgovern

2
26

... D. After that I went to Disney’s Animation. It was so fun because we went through a lesson and I got to draw Chip and Goofy. We did the class twice because I loved it, but it is really cool because you always draw a different character! After that we went on the Tower of Terror. The Tower of Terror was my least favorite ride of the day. I didn’t like the Tower of ...

My last Friday at the Quest!

A travel blog entry by bradrediger

... as I'm going to miss them so much! I need to finish getting ready for today, so I better go. On another note, congrats to two of my favorite people, my cousins Danny and Jennifer, for graduating this weekend! While I feel like you should both be 8 years old, I guess I am ok with you graduating. :) I wish I could be there to celebrate with you, but I'll congratulate you in person in a week! Have a magical day!
...

Malls and sea

A travel blog entry by chaletaria

2

Day 6

We wanted to do a Mall in the morning (according to S a genuine american experience) so we went for a drive and managed to find the huge Florida Mall. May I point out that the americans do not seem to have discovered roundabouts- everything was an intersection. The mall was quite interesting and very big, though not busy. We got S a nice belt and E some dresses. A snack later we’d done and decided to use our free pass to Seaworld. ...

How has this resort rated in the past?

  What's this?
Discover trends in hotel experiences based on real traveler reviews and ratings. Mouse over circles to see what some travelers had to say.

Location

This 3 star resort, located in the International Drive/Universal/SeaWorld area of Orlando, is near Orlando Premium Outlets, Lake Eola Park, Grande Pines Golf Club at the Marriott, and Faldo Golf Institute.
Map this resort

    More great choices in Orlando

    Search TripAdvisor for more deals in Orlando

       

    TravelPod Member ReviewsMonumental Hotel Orlando

    Reviewed by azuzo

    Noisy AC

    Reviewed Jul 27, 2013
    by (7 reviews) , United States Flag of United States

    We booked the Monumental Hotel through Hotels.com ($90.00 a night) which finally bumped us up to a free night on our next trip, yay! We have stayed at the Monumental a handful of times and prior to this trip, had no major complaints. The hotel has a good location, is quiet, clean and the staff usually pretty friendly. Parking is also a dream and there are no hidden resort fees. We checked in pretty late since we went immediately to the park and then dinner right after and were given a room on the 3rd floor (307 I believe). Right away we noticed something was off with the A/C unit, as the actual temperature in the room did not seem to match up to what it read. It was also rather noisy and shook the room a bit, which we didn't really pay much attention to until we were trying to sleep. This led to a very sleepy Sunday at the park. All things considered, we will most likely seek out other hotels next trip to Orlando.

    This review is the subjective opinion of a TravelPod member and not of TravelPod.com.

    Historical Traveler Reviews Monumental Hotel Orlando

    Nice rooms, charges for parking, No wireless internet

    from

    Rooms are nice and spacious. Hotel is a located away from the crowds but just a few minutes from parks and shopping. They charges $8 / day for parking (the hotel was near empty). NO WIRELESS INTERNET... I thought Crown Plaza was suppose to be for the business traveler.

    Stay only if under $90

    from

    I would stay at this location ONLY IF IT IS PRICED UNDER $90 and is listed at a cheaper price than other resorts. Orlando has so many hotel rooms which offer so much more with much greater service. My visit was in March 2005, off peak time for 3 day period. I wish to state that if management had reacted to the staff errors during my visit or, at the very least, responded to the email survey that they sent to me, I would not make these complaints now. However, my comments have elicited no response from management so I do not feel that my comments are harsh. They are justified.

    Nice place to stay, but a little of.....

    from

    We stayed there last november for 4 nights.

    Warm and inviting stay at the Resort on I-Drive

    from

    This resort is very nice! I got a deal online for $73.99/night when it originally goes for $138.99/night. I think for the actual rate I would rather stay at a theme parks moderately priced resort but it was great for the deal that I got. Be forewarned that they do have an occupancy tax, a sales tax and an $8 resort fee. It does seem rather far from the "nightlife" and restaurants on I-Drive but it isn't. It also is just a short drive (taxi ride) from all the attractions. The room and bathroom are both large and beautifully decorated. The staff at the front desk were very helpful and accomodating. I think the only thing that took away from the rooms appeal was the stained carpet. The beds were extremely soft and comfy. I wouldn't consider them having a "kitchenette" but they do have a mini fridge and a CD/alarm clock radio along with a CD to help you sleep and a decorative bag having an eye mask, ear plugs and a lavendar linen spray (I thought this was a neat little treat). We didn't eat in their restaurant, Pineapple Grille but we did order room service and it arrived quickly and was pretty good. The house salad is small but the club sandwich is yummy and their desserts are HUGE. If I could find the same deal in the future, I would definitely stay here again.

    Superb Holiday, wonderful accomodation.

    from

    We have just returned from a two week vacation at the Kingstown Reef Resort on International Drive. The accomodation was spacious, clean and comfortable. The reception staff were very young and seemed a little inexperienced but were exceedingly curteous and helpful. Having read previous posts on this site we were slightly concerned, however, everything was fine and the air conditioning was superb. We were very impressed by the two swimming pools and it is worth noting that even at 11:00am you could wander down to the pool and be assured of a sun lounger and sun shade. The grounds are immaculate and well tended. Even though our accomodation was in a separate building we had a visible security presence every evening. This is our tenth visit to Orlando and we have stayed in many different hotels in/around International Drive, I would rate this 9/10. My only little grumble is housekeeping did not service our room until 4pm each day, the reason being, so many business folk use the hotel for short stays, there are a lot of rooms to service for new visitors and too few housekeeping staff!!! We had a fabulous holiday.

    Remote timeshare

    from

    We stayed at this property from May 16 to 22nd-we recently read reviews on tripadvisor-when we checked in we ASKED for availability of a room above the standard room-we were told that all rooms were the same-we had no idea that suites were even available-we asked for one of the bldgs. behind the checkin-next to the pool-and were told they were ONLY for timeshare people-those were the rooms with ceiling fans-wooden shutters-living rooms-kitchens-OUR bldg. was across the parking lot-we were never told this property was a timeshare-we thought we were booking into a hotel-we were told when we booked there was no parking fee-but-we were charged $7.00 a night-they said it was for the EXTRAS we got-coffee-water etc. if you didn't have a car-you were stuck-you couldn't walk anywhere-there was nothing around to walk to-you would have to wait out front for a trolly to come by-we never ate in there-so couldn't comment on the food but the poolside drinks were expensive-we were extremely upset by the location of the property -but the property itself was very clean both the grounds and the rooms-the beds very comfortable-extremely quiet-we made the best of the situation as our rooms were prepaid-didn't know the area so got lost a few times-would I stay there again? NO it was too remote for us-and if your staying in a timeshare someone should tell you when your booking it

    Great Place, but.....

    from

    I know this resort as the Crowne Plaza Resort - same address - didn't see the Kingstown Reef name anywheres, but anyway.....

    Great resort, excelent location!

    from

    We stayed two weeks ago 3 days at this Crowne Plaza and all I can tell you is that it was the best choice we could make. It is at the end of IDrive in a quiet location just off all the confusion and noise. Plenty of open space, green lawns, great swimming pools heated and opened till late in the evening! We got a room with two double beds in one of the buildings, it was immaculate, silent, spacious even with touches of luxury, the bathroom was also great. Parking is free and plenty of space. All the property is very well looked after and every thing is in its place. At a very affordable price what more could you want for a perfect family vacation????

    Ok, but not up to Crowne standards

    from

    We stayed 2 nights at the Crowne Plaza. It was just OK. Nothing fancy.

    It was very clean, very quiet. But it was more like a standard Holiday Inn, not a Crowne Plaza. No bell hops, no conceirge. The price was good, the location was fine, and there is really nothing bad. The restaurant was OK for dinner (beware of included tip!), but breakfast was subpar. $6.99 for buffet of cold french toast, or rubbery eggs.

    Buffet does not include coffee or juice. Add those and it comes in over $20 for 2. You can have a better breakfast at a million places on I drive. Bathrooms were big, and the shower was nice. Rooms had a Key West feel, and parking was easy. For $95/nite, I guess I can carry my own bags.

    Excellent off site Hotel !

    from

    The Crowne Plaza was just a great place to stay for our family of four. Large rooms with ceiling fans that were very clean. The pool was nice, our boys used it plenty. The bathrooms are large, with a great shaving or makeup mirror which is lighted. The windows have white wooden shutters and our room also had a porch. The rooms have an Hawaiian flare to them and tastefully done. We also had a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and a small kitchen sink in room. We have stayed at the Contemporary Resort, Polynesian, and Wilderness Lodge in the past. We will return here again.

    TripAdvisor Reviews Monumental Hotel Orlando

    4.00 of 5 stars Excellent