Monumental Hotel Orlando
How has this resort rated in the past?
Photos of Monumental Hotel Orlando
Travelers also looked at:
- More recommendations
TravelPod Member ReviewsMonumental Hotel Orlando
We booked the Monumental Hotel through Hotels.com ($90.00 a night) which finally bumped us up to a free night on our next trip, yay! We have stayed at the Monumental a handful of times and prior to this trip, had no major complaints. The hotel has a good location, is quiet, clean and the staff usually pretty friendly. Parking is also a dream and there are no hidden resort fees. We checked in pretty late since we went immediately to the park and then dinner right after and were given a room on the 3rd floor (307 I believe). Right away we noticed something was off with the A/C unit, as the actual temperature in the room did not seem to match up to what it read. It was also rather noisy and shook the room a bit, which we didn't really pay much attention to until we were trying to sleep. This led to a very sleepy Sunday at the park. All things considered, we will most likely seek out other hotels next trip to Orlando.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TravelPod member and not of TravelPod.com.
Historical Traveler Reviews Monumental Hotel Orlando
Nice rooms, charges for parking, No wireless internet
Rooms are nice and spacious. Hotel is a located away from the crowds but just a few minutes from parks and shopping. They charges $8 / day for parking (the hotel was near empty). NO WIRELESS INTERNET... I thought Crown Plaza was suppose to be for the business traveler.
Stay only if under $90
I would stay at this location ONLY IF IT IS PRICED UNDER $90 and is listed at a cheaper price than other resorts. Orlando has so many hotel rooms which offer so much more with much greater service. My visit was in March 2005, off peak time for 3 day period. I wish to state that if management had reacted to the staff errors during my visit or, at the very least, responded to the email survey that they sent to me, I would not make these complaints now. However, my comments have elicited no response from management so I do not feel that my comments are harsh. They are justified.
Ref: FRONT DESK STAFF
Upon check in, the room assignment was wrong but no one made an effort to correct the mistake-wrong building, wrong type room. When I requested a different roomand even offered to pay more, I was told that the hotel was full by the front desk clerk but this was not true- the hotel was empty during the time I stayed at the resort. The staff was courteous at all times but never helpful. The staff suffers from one of the following- lack of training, complete incompetence or utter laziness. These problems could be handled by the presence of good management.
The bed was uncomfortable PERHAPS due to the fact that housekeeping used a queen sized sheet on a full mattress which means that the bed linens came off throughout the night. Housekeeping did not change to the proper size sheet during my stay. Pillows were the cheap stuffed type and 3 of 4 had lost their shape. Room was very small and non-descript but clean and tidy. The bath was large and very nice. No tub but the shower stall was lovely and huge. Plan on cold shower in the morning around 8 AM. Microwave, bar sink,coffee maker and small fridge were nice but one can find these amenities in most of the Orlando hotels in this price range. Cable TV suffered frequent interruptions. Housekeeping kept the room very clean but left the doors ajar!! I returned one eve to an open room. Luckily, nothing was taken. No other service was provided other than making bed and supply of new towels. No turn down service.
The restaurant buffet $6.99 at Sunday brunch was inedible- eggbeaters used in scrambled eggs, overcooked and overprocessed bacon and sausage, lukewarm coffee and water used for hot chocolate. Thank heavens for fruit. The waitress was polite and smiled but did not understand English. She noticed that we did not eat the food or drink but I was charged for it. I wrote "Terrible food" on the bill which I charged to my room so that I could discuss with the manager later. The front desk apologized profusely but I was still charged! Manager never seemed to be available.
Ref: OTHER AMENITIES
The pool area was indeed very nice and clean. We did not make use of it because it was too chilly at this time of year. Tennis courts are available.
Website listed that computer was free of charge with internet hook-up within the room. Not true. There is a business room in one building which was the bulding where I should have had a room, but the price was exhorbitant- $2 first minute, $1 each minute thereafter. $.75 printed page. This was a problem for me since I run a business. Staff apologized for this inconvenience (They do this well probably because they do it often. Practice makes perfect.) but did not correct error or provide solution. I found an internet cafe so I did my work there.
Good point- complimentary washer and dryer in the hallway.
Although others have commented that it is off the beaten path- south end of International-that should be a selling point. Accessible to highway, very close to amusement parks. This resort is located on the main drag but not with the associated traffic.
Ridiculous charge for parking $8. I would understand a charge if it was located in the city proper but this is just a hidden fee.
I do need to mention that the manager did not insist upon a mandatory cancellation charge as stated on the internet reservation when I shortened my stay due to our disappointment.
In summary, stay somewhere else. For instance-Sheraton Vistana across the street where you can get a 2 bedroom, 2 bath apartment for virtually same price. Which is what I did for the balance of our vacation!!!
Nice place to stay, but a little of.....
We stayed there last november for 4 nights.
I had booked a deal through their website which gave us a suite with balconny for just USD 95,00 a night.
You have to check in in a seperate building, when we arrived at 1.30PM they did not have a room ready for us the guy at the front desk said.
We had to come back in 2 hours, when we arrived at 5.00 PM the girl at the frontdesk gave us a room right away, but could not give us a smoking room because al the rooms are non-smoking, so they have to state that on their website and not say garantued smoking room.
The other strange thing is, when I told her that we came in at 1.30PM and no room was ready, she said that must have been a mistake, because almost al the suites where empty the night before and the rest of the week.
Wel thats a motivated guy at 1.30 PM.
The room itself is not really a suite, its large but with a strange lay-out, a bedroom and a hughe bathroom and a small corridor with wetbar, and a living room which is not really a living but a strange place with TV set and table and couche.
The place is really calm and sereen. Nobody around and also really clean. Housekeeping did a good job. Also Coffee and tea in the room, and complimentary water.
Room service took to long in my opinion, an order for some chickenwings and french fries should not take 60 min.especially when the Hotel is so empty.
Al in al a good place and for the USD 95,00 a steal and great value.
But when they ask the regular prices of USD 200,00 and up, its way overpriced.
Location is also a bit of the beaten path. You need a rental car, because with a taxi that will cost you a bundle.
You are on the far south end of I drive.
Warm and inviting stay at the Resort on I-Drive
This resort is very nice! I got a deal online for $73.99/night when it originally goes for $138.99/night. I think for the actual rate I would rather stay at a theme parks moderately priced resort but it was great for the deal that I got. Be forewarned that they do have an occupancy tax, a sales tax and an $8 resort fee. It does seem rather far from the "nightlife" and restaurants on I-Drive but it isn't. It also is just a short drive (taxi ride) from all the attractions. The room and bathroom are both large and beautifully decorated. The staff at the front desk were very helpful and accomodating. I think the only thing that took away from the rooms appeal was the stained carpet. The beds were extremely soft and comfy. I wouldn't consider them having a "kitchenette" but they do have a mini fridge and a CD/alarm clock radio along with a CD to help you sleep and a decorative bag having an eye mask, ear plugs and a lavendar linen spray (I thought this was a neat little treat). We didn't eat in their restaurant, Pineapple Grille but we did order room service and it arrived quickly and was pretty good. The house salad is small but the club sandwich is yummy and their desserts are HUGE. If I could find the same deal in the future, I would definitely stay here again.
Superb Holiday, wonderful accomodation.
We have just returned from a two week vacation at the Kingstown Reef Resort on International Drive. The accomodation was spacious, clean and comfortable. The reception staff were very young and seemed a little inexperienced but were exceedingly curteous and helpful. Having read previous posts on this site we were slightly concerned, however, everything was fine and the air conditioning was superb. We were very impressed by the two swimming pools and it is worth noting that even at 11:00am you could wander down to the pool and be assured of a sun lounger and sun shade. The grounds are immaculate and well tended. Even though our accomodation was in a separate building we had a visible security presence every evening. This is our tenth visit to Orlando and we have stayed in many different hotels in/around International Drive, I would rate this 9/10. My only little grumble is housekeeping did not service our room until 4pm each day, the reason being, so many business folk use the hotel for short stays, there are a lot of rooms to service for new visitors and too few housekeeping staff!!! We had a fabulous holiday.
We stayed at this property from May 16 to 22nd-we recently read reviews on tripadvisor-when we checked in we ASKED for availability of a room above the standard room-we were told that all rooms were the same-we had no idea that suites were even available-we asked for one of the bldgs. behind the checkin-next to the pool-and were told they were ONLY for timeshare people-those were the rooms with ceiling fans-wooden shutters-living rooms-kitchens-OUR bldg. was across the parking lot-we were never told this property was a timeshare-we thought we were booking into a hotel-we were told when we booked there was no parking fee-but-we were charged $7.00 a night-they said it was for the EXTRAS we got-coffee-water etc. if you didn't have a car-you were stuck-you couldn't walk anywhere-there was nothing around to walk to-you would have to wait out front for a trolly to come by-we never ate in there-so couldn't comment on the food but the poolside drinks were expensive-we were extremely upset by the location of the property -but the property itself was very clean both the grounds and the rooms-the beds very comfortable-extremely quiet-we made the best of the situation as our rooms were prepaid-didn't know the area so got lost a few times-would I stay there again? NO it was too remote for us-and if your staying in a timeshare someone should tell you when your booking it
Great Place, but.....
I know this resort as the Crowne Plaza Resort - same address - didn't see the Kingstown Reef name anywheres, but anyway.....
This is a great property - beautiful grounds, 2 good heated pools, 2 jacuzzis, 1 children's pool with a fountain that we didn't see turned on the whole time we were there. We had a little problem figuring out where check in was when we arrived, but it is in a separate building between the 2 hotel buildings. Parking wasn't terribly convenient, as it was quite a distance away from our building, but not a big deal. We arrived to find very pleasant and efficient folks working at the front desk. There was an ATM, a restaurant, a gift shop, poolside bar, a consierege, and a ticket desk where you could buy tickets to all the theme parks. We were checked in quickly and one of the gentlemen came out with us, took the bag cart over to show us where to park and to take our bags up to our room. We had reserved one of around 6 suites that are available and he told us we were in the newer building that had opened about 1 and a half years ago. The suite was directly straight ahead off the elevator at the V of the building and was very nice, with both the laundry room and vending room withine a few steps of our room. It had a nice sized living room with a couch, desk with a phone and built in internet access with a screen, TV and closet. Next was a small area with a microwave, refrigerator, ice bucket and glasses. The bedroom had an entrance to the living room and the bath and was very large with a king size bed, dresser, closet with a safe, another TV and phone, and a radio/CD player. The bathroom was huge with another door back to the living room. It had a makeup mirror, a scale (I could have done without that - lol) a nice shower and mirrors. Plenty of towels and shampoo, lotion, mouthwash and soap.The bedroom had windows on each side (corner room) and there was a small veranda with 2 chairs. We had very good service all week and the rooms were immaculate and tastefully decorated. The bad news which was a big item for us - the suite had a temp controller which was activated by a motion detector. I have had these in hotel rooms before - the problem with this one was that you couldn't set it on auto - we set it for 65 - it never went below 72. It shut off while we were out all day, so it was very warm when we would get back to the room. It would cool off somewhat quickly, but then the big problem came when we went to sleep. There was no detector in the bedroom, so the air did not come on all night. We had maint look at it a couple of times and apparently it was "working as designed". We were offered another room, but we had already unpacked everything and were just too tired to move - although if it had been much warmer, I would have moved - possibly to another hotel, if the new room had the same problem...but we were fortunate in that it was a pleasant week and not brutally hot, so we stuck it out. It was quiet, the beds were very comfortable, and it was in general, very pleasant. We had one meal here that was quite good and reasonably priced - tip was included. Drinks were expensive - $6.50 at dinner and $7.00 poolside. We talked with several folks staying here who were in standard rooms and all loved the resort. Overall, I would stay here again, but only during the cooler months, unless I was in a standard room.
Great resort, excelent location!
We stayed two weeks ago 3 days at this Crowne Plaza and all I can tell you is that it was the best choice we could make. It is at the end of IDrive in a quiet location just off all the confusion and noise. Plenty of open space, green lawns, great swimming pools heated and opened till late in the evening! We got a room with two double beds in one of the buildings, it was immaculate, silent, spacious even with touches of luxury, the bathroom was also great. Parking is free and plenty of space. All the property is very well looked after and every thing is in its place. At a very affordable price what more could you want for a perfect family vacation????
Ok, but not up to Crowne standards
We stayed 2 nights at the Crowne Plaza. It was just OK. Nothing fancy.
It was very clean, very quiet. But it was more like a standard Holiday Inn, not a Crowne Plaza. No bell hops, no conceirge. The price was good, the location was fine, and there is really nothing bad. The restaurant was OK for dinner (beware of included tip!), but breakfast was subpar. $6.99 for buffet of cold french toast, or rubbery eggs.
Buffet does not include coffee or juice. Add those and it comes in over $20 for 2. You can have a better breakfast at a million places on I drive. Bathrooms were big, and the shower was nice. Rooms had a Key West feel, and parking was easy. For $95/nite, I guess I can carry my own bags.
Excellent off site Hotel !
The Crowne Plaza was just a great place to stay for our family of four. Large rooms with ceiling fans that were very clean. The pool was nice, our boys used it plenty. The bathrooms are large, with a great shaving or makeup mirror which is lighted. The windows have white wooden shutters and our room also had a porch. The rooms have an Hawaiian flare to them and tastefully done. We also had a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and a small kitchen sink in room. We have stayed at the Contemporary Resort, Polynesian, and Wilderness Lodge in the past. We will return here again.
TripAdvisor Reviews Monumental Hotel Orlando
Travel Blogs from Orlando
... worked with people from different institutions which I have visited and communicate when they come across a problem. Figures of the Scholarship Number of Cities/Towns visited; 23 Number of States visited; 11 Number of hospitals visited; 11 Days spent at conference; 6 Number of journeys via aeroplane; 11 (11 842 mileage miles) Number of train journeys; 5 (149 miles-as the crow flies) Number of bus journeys; 48 Maximum temperature; 32 degrees Minimum temperature; -12 ...
... that not every day in America includes Mickey and Main Street it is nonetheless a nation that seems, in many ways, to be in line with my feelings on life and the pursuit of happiness. These, though, are dreams for another day, one that is not dominated by the looming idea of the best part of nine hours on a plane. Still, you will be pleased to know, dear reader, that project road trip 2014 is already on the drawing ...
... now the rides we wanted to go on would be shut. It was such great timing though as it hadnt interfered with our Hollywood Studios plans - and was merely nature's way of telling us to START PACKING!!!
We decided to go for the same dinner tonight as last night (Papa Johns pizza and doughnuts) as my imagination was non existant by now! Home to pack and clean and try and fit everything in the cases!