Travel Blogs from Pigeon Forge
Any folks who want to see the difference between how a crow flies and how a VR trip goes click here to see the planned route (devised by Chief navigator Tom) But since we are fearless and fancy free ...
... so high. Troy left me there and continued on his way up to the top, the views were amazing. I was happy with what I saw from where I was sitting. We found out later that it was one of the strenuous hikes to do.
We were lucky enough to be in Gatlinburg when there was a car show in town, we have never seen so many muscle cars in our life, it was cool watching them cruise up and down the streets, hours of ...
... mouse, clearly, but what was it doing? Whatever it was, it was quite noisy. Well, since I was awake anyway, and the pig had apparently moved on, I decided to get up to pee. With my headlamp on, I could see that the strange noise had something to do with my water filter, because it was bouncing.
On the trail, you have to filter your water, otherwise you run the risk of getting some nasty bug that will give you the runs, and I promise you, you do not want the runs when you ...
... shriek as he entered the water, entertainment for all. Sach's have an exclusive video of this if anyone wants to put in an order.
On the way back Chris and I checked out 'Food City' and collected another loyalty card for another grocery store that we'll probably never see again.
Due to the combined exhaustion from the past two days we decided to chill ...
... in the world. They were setting an aggressive pace and they were dragging us along behind them. We made it to the falls in 2 and a half hours. I was broken, and seriously wishing i had not carried my massive back pack along for the ride. No time to rest M and L were on a mission and before i could rest my weary legs they were heading back down the mountain.
We completed the hike in 4 hours. As we enjoyed our lunch (Peanut butter ...
How has this motel rated in the past?
Historical Traveler Reviews Riverchase Motel Pigeon Forge
My girlfriend and I just wanted to pick up one day and travel to gatlinsburg, we didnt make reservations because it was a spur of the moment trip. we noticed when we arrived it was really crowded.being oct i didnt think it would be..anyway we couldnt find a room so we ended up at this poor excuse for a motel.the river chase motel.. they charged me with tax a total of 96 dollars for one night..when we got to the room it was awful some horrible cleaning smell you could tell was masking some other odor.....the bed was a full size bed.. the girl at the desk said it would be a queen the bed was nasty so we decided to sleep on the floor... there isnt one good thing I can say about this motel... pigeon forge should do alot more to regulate there motels and make sure there is at least some kind of standard for them to meet....i love tenn and i love gatlinsburg but i will say that it will be a long time before i come back just because of this horrible place......if this makes it to the post site and anyone reads this.......do yourself a favor and sleep in your car before staying at this roach infested. nasty place........P.S like it couldnt get worse they supplied us with 2 dish towels to use to dry off after showering in there dirty filthy shower.....shame on you "river chase motel"
When we checked in I noticed that the place was not particularly clean. I asked to see the room first. The lady at the front desk immediately stated that I could look at the room but would be responsible for paying for it whether I liked it or not due to the fact that I had a reservation and the room was held with my credit card. We looked at the room and noticed that there was a very strong disinfectant smell that seemed to be covering who knows what smell. The room was tidy and the sheets clean so we opted to stay considering the fact that we would "have to pay" anyway. The coffee maker looked like an antique and there was no coffee provided. The lady at the front desk stated that they could "sell" me some instant coffee for $1.00. The towels were extremely thin and scratchy. The paint on the walls was old and patched with different shades. The carpet looked as if it would tear if walked on too quickly it was so old, and literally wrinkled. The elevator was the dirtiest I have seen in the continental U.S. We stayed here primarily for the kids to be able to enjoy the pools and water slides. The pool water was very cloudy and the pools themselves were very small. The kids were on top of each other it was so crowded. I wouldn't stay there again at $10.00 per night let alone standard rate !!!
My husband and I along with our 8 yr. old daughter stayed in Gatlinburg at the Glenstone Lodge for 4 nights. Loved it! We were going to go back home on day 5 but decided let's stay one more night. We heard from some people that we met that the River Chase in Pigeon Forge is nice and it has water slides indoor and out. Well if it weren't for the slides I wouldn't have stayed. I have learned now to ask to see the room before you put your money down and unload the car. The room was so gloomy, husband tried to open curtains, they fell off of the rod. The beds were as hard as a rock and sloped down in the middle. I'm 38 and I think they were at least that old. I told my husband that I will always ask to see the room first before we do anthing else. They had coin laundry machines, which I thought was nice. Oh boy, the machines were fine but the place where they are kept on the second floor is another scary place. There is one dimly lit light in there, dark as can be and that was during the daylight hours. Good place for someone creepy to be hiding out.
We asked for a no smoking room, and when we got inside the room there were cigarette burns and an iron burn on the floor, the room smelled bad. The whole room look really dirty, especially the ceiling. The beds were the hardest beds I have ever attempted to sleep on in my life!! The bathroom had a tile floor and there wasn't a rug in there, I have a 2 year old, so that was dangerous! On the way to our room there was a beer can on the stairs and it was still there when we checked out. The air conditioner a few rooms down leaked everywhere all over the walkway and dripped to the parking lot. The swimming pool was extremely cold, and too small for the water slides and people trying to swim or enjoy the water without getting splashed by ice cold water. And in order to get towels for the pool you have to give them your room key! when you give the towels back then you get your room key back. We had to drip all the way back to the nasty little room! This was the worst hotel stay I have ever had.
We stayed at this motel in May, 2004. After reading some of the other reviews (previous years), sounds like no repairs have been made. Good thing for the water slides, the only thing the motel has going for it. The room I was in needed restroom repair (stood in ankle deep water while showering). Same iron marks on the carpet I presume. Very thin towels and no hand towels, no floor towels ( my son fell when coming into the restroom.) Coffee machine was very old, no coffee for the machine and also cups were not for hot liquids. I went to the office and asked for coffee cups and the man showed me the only cups he had (not for hot liquids.) I had to go buy a cup of coffee just to have a coffee cup ( I bring my own coffee when I travel.) No info on how to dial out, and also no one in the office after 11 p.m. Staff was ok, one very nice gentlemen with whom we spoke with that complained about a motel he stayed in and gave very bad reviews. I thought was ironic considering the shape of this motel. I stayed for a short period of time because we were busy and would not be in the room much anyway. For the price, I guess ok (low season). In season price, I would not go near the motel. I hope management reads some of the reviews and makes some needed repairs.
Great motel, great pool, friendly staff
I stayed the river chase during april 2004. I took my two nieces and nephews for three days. We had a great time. The room was clean (but could use some upgreads) and when we came back after lunch, the maid had it spic and span. The indoor water slide is great for unpredictable weather. We actually spent most of our time there even though the weather outside was nice. The rates were good and the staff were very nice and curitious. They even monitored the slide and helped the smaller children. The central location is a plus. We had a great time and made some great friends. No compliants from me!
A few problems
We stayed here a few years ago and had a fabulous time. We then brought a group of family with us 2 years ago and the rooms were very shabby and the walls were painted a brown color with brown "dirt" coming down the walls. We were upset and my Aunt and Uncle couldn't believe that I had recommended the motel to them. We stayed because the kids were on the waterslides before we could even complain and we wouldn't have heard the end of it had we left. When I did go to complain the Manager (person at the front desk) I was told that they were renovating, but that they couldn't put us on the new side because they were full. So we usually go to Tennessee every year but are now weary about staying here again. I would like a decent response from management about this experience.
I didn't know this site existed till tonight so I am writing a review from 18 months ago..May 2002.I was a making reservations for a group of 10 college students including myself visiting Pigeon Forge for the weekend.I was looking through the Travel Planner and from the picture RiverChase looked nice and the indoor pool seemed attractive.We arrived to a filthy hotel. We checked in and went to our room and unloaded our luggage. The room I was to stay in had a maintenance worker in the restroom repairing something so we had to go to another room. It was horrible, curtains falling off the windows, wallpaper peeling, an melted iron imprint on the carpet and a bed that looked a million years old. Lights didn't work, a 1970's style TV. I proceed angrily to the front desk where I am greeted by the clerk that has horrible hygeine and asked for a refund.She said they could only give back 75% of our money since we had already entered the room because they would have to "re-clean" it. I argued but got nowhere. So I took the 75% and ran to another hotel for the same price and it was much much better.I don't know how the Tennessee Dept of Health could allow this place to stay open.DON'T STAY AT RIVER CHASE.
In July of 2002, My husband, 2 of our children and I vacationed in Pigeon Forge. I booked this motel 2 mos in adv W/a req for a smoking room. When we arrived our room was not ready, so we left and cme back later. There were OVERFLOWING garbage cans in the hallways, when we got to the room I sat on one of the beds and it was broken the whole side sagged down to the floor. Wall paper looked old and was peeling in quite a few places, I lit a cigarette as I assumed I was in a smoking room and my husband used the bathroom. After finally gettting some one up to the room, he acted like a jerk because we wanted our money back. The room was nonsmoking (no sign on door either), so he became irrate that I smoked in the room, which I actually hadn't, I lit it in there and then return to the car to tell my husband of crappy room conditions. Girl at desk basically called me a liar, telling my husband I called back after making res and req nonsmoking. We did get a refund-minus the charge for my husband using the bathroom once and me lighting a smoke! Don't stay here it seems real nice they have 2 waterslides, but there are other place in the area that also have these amenities.