Rydges Melbourne Hotel

186 Exhibition St., Melbourne, Victoria, 3000, Australia | 3 star hotel
Searching for availability...
*Prices above are provided by partners for one room, double occupancy and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
 

Travel Blogs from Melbourne

Melbourne

A travel blog entry by carrhaughan on Dec 27, 2013

2 photos

... it makes the day much better. The banter amongst the gathered Brits and the two Aussies is quite funny, particularly as the day progresses and the England defeat looks increasingly likely and overwhelming (you can tell it’s bad when the bar behind us runs out of one type of beer after lunch and they decide not to change the barrel as they reckon it’ll take longer than the game has left!) Defeat eventually comes and it's all very ...

How has this hotel rated in the past?

  What's this?
Discover trends in hotel experiences based on real traveler reviews and ratings. Mouse over circles to see what some travelers had to say.

Location

This 3 star hotel, located in the Melbourne CBD area of Melbourne, is near The Princess Theatre, Her Majesty's Theatre, City Museum at Old Treasury, and Comedy Theatre.
Map this hotel

Amenities

       

    Historical Traveler Reviews Rydges Melbourne Hotel

    VERY dirty and outdated

    from

    We (me and my wife) stayed at this hotel from Jan 09 - Jan 12 2006. When we booked it we looked at user reviews at various websites and they were all good reviews so we decided to book. We booked the queen spa "suite", for ~ AU$190/per night. It was anything but "suite". The carpet was so dirty we had to wear shoes all the time. It was NOT vacumed once during our stay, nothing. All they did was make a bed and tidy up the bathroom. The rubber on the bottom of the shower door in the bathroom was peeling off so every time you take the shower the entire bathroom would be under water. The hotel is VERY outdated, the AC units are super old and noisy, the TV was making clunky noise as well and you only have about 8 channels. The elevator for the first 9 floors (yes, there are seperate elevators for the rest of the floors) was so old I was afraid to ride it...every time it would stop it would make clunky noise and kind of stop in the up-and-down fashion so your entire stomach would come up and down...terrible. The rooms in the renovated portion of the hotel are so small and would be only suited for single traveler. All these rooms are in the renovated section, the bigger rooms like ours are in the old section. The halls had some stuffy smell, like somebody was smoking in them and then tried to cover the smell with some cheap air freshner. The pool that's on the roof top was small and ok, you can take a swim and refresh. The chairs are old and broken down and the area around the pool had green carpet and some stuff was coming out of it, looked very very dirty. If you are on the first 9 floors, you would have to take the scary elevator ride down to the ground floor than switch elevators (the new elevator in the renovated portion are actually very nice and smooth) and go up to the 22nd floor to get to the pool...very inconvinient. Only good thing about this hotel is it's location, but I would strongly NOT recommend this hotel, because it's outdated, dirty and overpriced.

    We apologise for concerns with the queen spa suite being perceived as dated and tired. The suites have been identified for refurbishment, however the timing of this work is not conclusive at this point. In regards to your comments about the air conditioners, we hope to install new units into the rooms mid-year and in the meantime we have a dedicated maintenance team to ensure that all appliances are running smoothly. The pool has also been earmarked for renovation in the near future. The hotel underwent a major multi-million dollar upgrade of 293 rooms that finished in 2005 that did not include the suites or the pool at the time.

    Since your stay we have completed a make-over on our suites, which includes new "Dream Beds" designed especially for Rydges Hotels, new bedding and guest amenities. These in themselves other than providing the best nights sleep; also give the rooms a lift in their appearance.

    Our TV system has the 5 free-to-air channels available as well as Foxtel channels including Fox Sports. We also have available an on-demand movie system which offers a wide range of current movies.

    The hotel is divided into two sections, our deluxe rooms and the suite rooms; we have 3 elevators servicing each section. The design of the hotel dates back to 1970 when it was first built, and was originally a hotel and offices combined. The offices have now been taken over by the hotel, hence the different elevators. Most of our guests find the spilt elevators quite convenient as it cuts the traffic in half and therefore saving on waiting times.

    The hotel offers a wide range of rooms catering for all travellers; whether they are single or group travellers. Our newly renovated rooms cater from 2 people to 4, in twin, queen or king beds. Our suites can cater up to 6 people in our largest room. Our website details the different types of rooms available making it easer to decide which room would best suit your needs.

    We currently have 4 smoking floors and are in the process of converting these to non-

    smoking; we hope to be a totally non-smoking hotel by July 2007.

    Again thankyou for your comments in regards to your stay with us.

    Should you return to Melbourne please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

    Regards

    David Bornmann

    General Manager

    Really nice and good location!

    from

    This is as good as a Hilton and the rooms, although a bit small, were really clean and nice.

    At Rydges Melbourne, we have several core values, the basis of which is an obsession with exceeding guest expectations. This goal is instilled to all team members throughout their employment at Melbourne. We strive to provide the standard of service that elevates us above our competitors, making Rydges Melbourne the premium hotel in Melbourne.

    We thank you again for your valued feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Melbourne in the not too distant future.

    If I may be of any assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

    Regards,

    David Bornmann

    General Manager

    Asians Beware!

    from

    Service from the reception staff is starkly different for Asians. I sincerely hope 'Rydges' is not equivalent to 'Racists'. I am a Chinese Singaporean and I stayed there for 4 days and witnessed many times the treatment I received compared very badly to Caucasians. A very bad experience indeed!

    Your comments in regards to the treatment you felt you received during your stay are a great concern to us, and ones that we have taken very seriously. We strive to provide the best possible service to all our guests without discrimination. We have many staff on our team from many different backgrounds and country, as well as many of our staff being proficient in a variety of different languages. This allows the team to be able to communicate easily with all of our guests and avoid any problems that may arise when there is a language barrier.

    A majority of our guests are from overseas, and many from all over Asia. Whether our guests are travelling for business or leisure, come from Asia or Europe, or any other continent, our staff provide an equal service to all and cater for everybody's needs and wishes.

    I sincerely apologise if you felt discriminated against during your stay with us and encourage you to contact me should you return to Melbourne.

    Regards,

    David Bornmann

    General Manager

    One of My Favorites!

    from

    I really loved staying at Rydges during my Australian vacation! First of all the staff couldn't have been friendlier. I never came across anyone at Rydges that wasn't polite or friendly.

    The hotel is located in the CBD but what I call, "off to the side a bit" since it is not right in the center. It was an inconvenience since Melbourne is a walkers city and has good tram lines to take you anywhere. Rydges is also within walking distance from the Queen Victoria Market, Fitzroy and Carlton districts.

    The rooms at Rydges are very nice and the hotel is undergoing a multi million dollar renovation that will make it even better. Be sure to book on their websight for some great deals and be sure to book a deluxe room where is says "stylishly renovated", I think there are still some older style rooms that they sell for a cheaper rate. I think the room here was one of the biggest I have ever had. It includes a king bed, sofa, desk area, TV and a closet unit with free coffee and tea plus a pay per use mini bar. They even left free cookies to have with your tea everyday.

    The bathrooms are sparkling clean and have soft linens and good bath products (soap, moisturizer and shampoo). The bath/shower was a pain because it was one of those types with a half glass wall and no curtain so everytime I used it I splashed water all over the place. The only thing I didn't like about the room was that the bathroom only had 2 dim overhead lights and no vanity lighting. Too dark!

    The other downside to the hotel is the slowwwwwww elevators. They are under renovation and the hotel promises newer faster models, but until then plan plenty of time to get between your room and ther lobby!

    Rydges is a great hotel and really helped to make my Australian vacation a good one!

    Thank you for leaving feedback of your stay at Rydges Melbourne on the TripAdvisor website.

    I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Since your visit the upgrade on the lifts has been completed and they are now much faster!

    Your comments in regards to the polite and friendly staff are greatly appreciated as the team at Rydges Melbourne strive to provide the best possible service to our guests.

    Please do not hesitate to contact me should you travel back to Melbourne.

    Regards,

    David Bornmann

    General Manager

    Nice staff, shame about the outdoor pool!

    from

    The hotel is not badly placed in Melbourne and the staff very fiendly, rooms okay, but was very disappointed with the so called 'roof top heated pool'. The area around the actual swimming pool is very dated and the pool itself looks like it needed a good clean - also was defintely not heated!

    We also stayed in the Paramount Apartments which are located across the road from the Rydegs - defintely check these out, much cheaper and indoor swimming pool much better!

    We appreciate the time you have taken to leave a review of our hotel on the TripAdvisor website. The responses our guests provide us with are an invaluable source of information and allow us to improve our standards and service.

    In regards to your comments made about the hotel's pool, it is in fact heated to 26oc all year around and the area has also been earmarked for renovation in 2007.

    Again thankyou for your feedback and if you visit Melbourne again please do not hesitate to contact me.

    Regards,

    David Bornmann

    General Manager

    Good hotel

    from

    I stayed here for a week in mid December 2004. I have to agree with other comments about the friendliness of the staff. My room was ok; the usual modern hotel room. It was clean and tidy. Was able to watch English football on Fox Sports channel which was a definite plus point. I was also able to stay in my room after check out time at the cost of only $10 per hour. Hotel breakfast cost $12.50 for tea/toast, which was a bit much but i could have as much as i wanted. Location is very good being only a brisk 10 minute walk from the shops on Bourke and Swanston Streets. Hotel foyer was a bit gloomy with not having much natural light and the lifts were very slow in arriving and that is my only real complaint. There is a small pool on the 22nd floor and small sunbathing area surrounding it.

    As you can see by the other reviews we have many visitors from the UK and they definitely appreciate the Fox Sports channel! We also play all the major sporting events on the flat screen in the CBD bar on the ground floor of the hotel, this always attracts a crowd!

    Since your stay we have replaced our lifts and they are now much faster.

    Again thankyou for your comments and please do not hesitate to contact me should you visit Melbourne again.

    Regards,

    David Bornmann

    General Manager

    Excellent Staff!!

    from

    I stayed here for 4 nights in June 2004. The staff at the front desk were extremely helpful and after I had been on an overnight flight from Hong Kong they managed to get me checked into my room by 10:30am nearly 4 hours early! This was a real bonus. We were upgraded to a suite for some unknown reason and I must say it was great. It had all the usual fittings including fox sports on the tv (australian equivalent of sky sports). Our room was very large as it was a suite and had a spa bath and living area. The hotel is close to the central shopping area and is very close to the Victoria Parliament Building. Across the road to the hotel is a great english pub which serves great food at good prices!

    Our Staff at Rydges Melbourne strive to provide the best possible service to our guests to ensure that their stay is a pleasurable one.

    The location of the hotel means you are within walking distance to almost everything that you would need during your stay in Melbourne. There is also the convenience of train, tram and bus services right outside the hotel. The reception staff are more than happy to provide suggestions for shopping or sightseeing as well as providing detailed directions to get there!

    We are always updating our menu at our in-house restaurant, The Legends Grill, and provide a wide range of dishes at competitive prices.

    We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and should you visit Melbourne again please do not hesitate to contact me.

    Regards,

    David Bornmann

    General Manager

    Excellent staff service

    from

    I recently had the fortune to stay at this hotel. The service was warm and friendly. All staff are extremeley helpful and supportive of customer needs.

    The rooms are well maintained and their is an extensive menu choice.

    One concern would be the external noise from the surrounding city life..but hey that's expected in a cosmopolitan area.

    At Rydges Melbourne, we have several core values, the basis of which is an obsession with exceeding guest expectations. This goal is instilled to all team members throughout their employment at Melbourne. We strive to provide the standard of service that elevates us above our competitors, making Rydges Melbourne the premium hotel in Melbourne.

    We thank you again for your valued feedback and if you return to Melbourne please do not hesitate to contact me.

    Regards,

    David Bornmann

    General Manager

    Helpful staff

    from

    Just returned from a holiday in Australia,stopped in Sydney,Melbourne and several places on the Ocean road.The Rydges hotel on Exibition st took some finding even with a street directory,the car park is underneath the hotel and is NOT FREE as stated.It costs you $9.50 per visit ,there is also a congestion charge of $9.50 if you drive out of the City and come back in.this can be paid at several Bill Payment machines located in several outlets in the City.Don't forget to pay this within 24hrs or you will be charged extra. Driving in the City can be a bit of a nightmare because of the Tram System,you have to turn right from the nearside lane The staff in the hotel were excellent and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them.if you had any questions about where to visit they would go out of there way to help and direct you. The rooms were good value for the money paid,and the food was excellent.

    The hotel uses Wilson's Parking which is located underneath the hotel and they provide a discounted parking rate to all Rydges Melbourne guests. Unfortunately, you did receive the incorrect information about the parking. We try to keep all of the information about the hotel's amenities up to date and we apologise that you have got the incorrect details in this case.

    Driving in the Melbourne CBD can be a little daunting, even for Melbournians, especially the famous "hook" turns you described. The congestion charge you mentioned I assume is the "City Link" toll, which you can pay at our reception desk or alternatively the toll can be avoided if you take a different route bypassing the toll-way all together. For these reasons, and because of our central location it is sometimes easier to travel around by foot or by public transport. Our reception staff know everything there is to know about Melbourne and it's surrounds and as you mentioned are more than happy to impart their knowledge.

    Again thankyou for your comments, and if you are visiting Melbourne again please do not hesitate to contact me.

    Regards,

    David Bornmann

    General Manager

    Avoid Rydges

    from

    I recetly had the misfortune to stay at the Rydges. Whilst our room was very comformtable the hotel is undergoing refurbishment and we were allocated the only room on that floor to have been completed. Thus on both days between 8am-5pm the corridors and room were filled with workmen plastering and fitting bathrooms. Noisy and very dirty! One kind workman even let us into OUR room with HIS access key when our malfunctioned!! The last straw was the water tank on the roof above us (the hotel was kind enough to grant my request of a high floor) which was drained outside our window. The noise and water torture effect continued for 2hours despite 4 phone calls to the manager. Never again!

    Firstly I would like to thank you for leaving your comments and feedback on the Trip advisor website. We read every review and appreciate every comment made, both negative and positive. The responses our guests provide us with are an invaluable source of information and allow us to improve our standards and service.

    Unfortunately during your stay there was an extensive refurbishment under way in the hotel, which has since been completed. We apologise sincerely that your stay with us was disturbed by the work going on around you.

    In regards to the workman letting you in to your room with his key, we have a strict policy at the hotel about room keys and this is not the usual practice. Your comments have been passed on to our maintenance manager for remedial action.

    Again thank you for your feedback and if you are in Melbourne again please do not hesitate to contact me. We would love for you to return and give us the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel

    Regards,

    David Bornmann

    General Manager

    TripAdvisor Reviews Rydges Melbourne Hotel

    3.50 of 5 stars Very Good