Rocabella Deluxe Suites & Spa Santorini
Travel Blogs from Imerovigli
I understand now why people visit Mykonos first followed by Santorini. After spending a few days up late in Mykonos, it was nice to kick back in Santorini. Santorini is much more relaxed and allowed us to rest and catch up on some much needed sleep.
The instant that the ferry began cruising up to Santorini, I quickly understood why someone …
Before this trip, we envisioned the gorgeous views that one sees in the every postcard from Santorini, but we discovered there is much more to the island than just that. What makes Santorini even more special are the eclectic people you meet from all over the world. It is true that you get experience the scenic island with your own eyes; however, …
... all hell broke loose and much of the island sank into the sea. The caldera where everyone goes to take pics of the famous sunset is actually the old edge of the volcano, but now is a series of viewing areas, and in Fira, amongst many restaurants. Apparently all Greeks know that there will be another big eruption some day and it will probably be the end of the island. Also, when it last erupted, the sun couldn't be seen for six months! I also learned ...
... in chocolate or another topping after popping out of the donut machine. There could be no greater breakfast than this,I pondered aloud, and so we set out on foot and found the place, Krinos, to see for ourselves.
TRIED to get the woman to stop pouring the chocolate on, but due to the language barrier we got the full deal. (perhaps she thought, as I might, that less actually means MORE) See the photo for the experience – assume the photo is much ...
... it when the driver turned on the interior light so he could see to send a text! Luckily Blackie was directly behind him & didn’t see it. He had already almost come to blows with the driver when he dared to try to put his golf clubs on the roof rack & tie them on with flimsy string (they sat in the front passenger seat)!
A porter was waiting for us when we arrived at the hotel, which I thought was a nice touch until I realized we would never have found ...
How has this hotel rated in the past?
- Continental Breakfast
- Shuttle bus service
- Swimming pool
- Room service
- Free High-Speed Internet
Historical Traveler Reviews Rocabella Deluxe Suites & Spa Santorini Imerovigli
The location is over the top gorgeous and the pools are great and refreshing, the hotel is about midway between Fira and Oia which was very convenient for us, but when it came to details of service that is where the hotel was lacking... After being at a great resort in Crete for a week paying a comparable price to Rocabella, it was obvious to see that Rocabella is made it obvious to see what was lacking... The rooms are small, yes, but sufficient, we stayed in room #10 and unlike some other reviews of this room we felt that it was just perfect for us. What bothered me was that each day we had to use a bath towels because there were never towels by the pool and therefore they would not give us two sets of fresh bath towels in our room, just one set. I don't know if this is because they thought we were stealing the towels but I think it is totally unacceptable when you are paying upwards of $200 a night. They also provide shower gel but no washcloths and in our three nights that we stayed there they did not replenish the toiletries at all. I would recommend staying here if you are not the type of person that gets hung up on the details. The view if fabulous and the location is great but don't stay if you get excited about the little things.
Yes..the staff is very nice; yes the view was amazing..but for the price and the word "luxurious" is false advertisement!!! They really got you good with the website.We had an apartment. By European standards there was a living room and bedroom. We basically lived out of our suitcase. A skinny closet and a chest that had 3 mini-draws. I requested numerous times and confirmation regarding our room being on a high level...ummm..our room was literally right next to the bar. If they lower their prices, then you would not be disappointed..but the world luxury..they need to look it up in the dictionary to understand. It was moldy; smelly; the bed cover I dont know if they bought them from their great-grandmothers. The bathroom--it was standing room only in the shower and leaking everywhere..all we did was stare at Santorini Princess on the plank wishing we were there instead. They have the nerve to be building a spa..they should use their $$$$ that they rob from everyone and redo all the rooms.
Do not be fooled by the web-site.!!! I have never had such a horrific experience in all my travels. I can sleep in a tent, stay at a motel or enjoy a Hyatt, but this was my most unbearable stay anywhere on the Globe! Our room was #17. It was dark, dingy, small and cramped and cave-like room. Cruise ship rooms and bathroom are larger. There were no cupboards, closets or nightstands. We lived out of our suitcase. The linens and towels were worn and the floors stained. But the main cause the made me write a review was the SEWER SMELL omitted from the drain in the cramped bathroom. The hotel tried to use chemicals to cover up the smell, but it just made our eyes burn and get a headache. My husband got some packing tape to cover up the drain and it was a little better. There are no pictures of the rooms on the web-site for a good reason...if you saw the rooms you would not book.
We stayed here in May 2006, and were extremely disappointed with the rooms. We were moved to ANOTHER hotel for the first night because of an over-booking (which hotel was totally wonderful, and the service we received there was delightful). However, when we moved back to Rocabella the next day, we were shown to an awful room - small and far away from the pool/main part of the hotel. After much arguing, we were shown two other rooms, but neither were available for us to move for the first night. Anything other than a senior suite at this place is too pokey for two people to comfortably stay for any length of time. Furthermore, the female manager was extremely unhelpful and quite rude. The assistant manager was delightful, and saved us from having our holiday completely ruined. The hotel is also a taxi ride from the town. We will not go back, or recommend this hotel to any of our friends.
We were booked for Rocabella for 5 nights. We stayed 3 and left. First, I will say, the hotel has beautiful views, but is not 5 star. It's very far from town, in the middle of nowhere. It's too dangerous a walk in the night. After spending time walking around the cliffs in Fira you aren't going to want to take the long walk back in the day either. We clocked it on our car, it's 4 KM. We were assured we would get 2 beds, and when we got there they took us to a room with a double bed, very small room. Then they took us to an "upgraded" room which consisted of a larger room with another double bed and a sitting area with two couches. We took turns sleeping on the rock hard couches. After complaining again they said they would put another mattress on one of the couches. They put a chaise lounge mattress on it! So, we told them we were leaving after 3 sleepless nights in a hotel that was supposed to be luxourious. Then they wanted to move us to ANOTHER room, on the third day. We explained not only were the sleeping arrangements not what we were promised--the place was for couples and too far from town (and we were told in emal it was a 15 min walk--it's a 50 min walk). The manager responded with "go and knock on doors and meet people-there are families here too" and then when we said we were two single straight women not wanting to hang out with families or honeymooners he replied "we do not call men in here for you!!" HOW INSULTING!!! We left. We were charged for all 5 nights, and only stayed 3. They called it a "cancellation" charge.
My husband and I went to Greece for our 1st year anniversary. We had started off in Mykonos and we loved our hotel there (Royal Myconian).
My husband and I stayed at Rocabella Suites from 20-27 June 2006 for our honeymoon. I booked the accommodation based upon the positive reviews on this website however, a few days prior to leaving I read some of the more negative ones and was a little worried!
We stayed at Rocabella for a week at the end of May, and left feeling disappointed and basically a little ripped off. The staff are very friendly and very helpful, and the fact is that Santorini is not a cheap island to stay on, particularly if you are perched on a cliff overlooking the caldera. That doesn't excuse the prices charged by Rocabella though, we were expecting close to 5 star luxury and just about scraped 3 star.
We booked this hotel thinking it was a 5 stars. I'll verify this info as it turns out it is advertised on a well known booking site as a 3 1/2 stars.
We had a very similar experience to a number of other people that have already posted re: accomodations. What they call a Studio, Apartment or Suite is not well-defined. So it basically allows them to run somewhat of a scam in my opinion, because they use those names interchangeably. For example, we were given what was clearly a Studio, while we paid the extra $80 or so for the Apartment. The studio did not have a living room area, though I was told that a stool was the living room; it did not have the private veranda that was promised on their website, but i was told i could use my own chair. When we complained, they refused to acknowledge that what we were given was not an Apartment, but immediately said that they would switch us the next day when another better room was availalbe. The new room was a loft, and did have the things that were mentioned (i.e. living room area, and private veranda). Also this new room also had normal windows (vs. the studio had a 2 foot tall by roughly 1 foot window). It's pretty clear they tried to trick us the 1st night, just like they have with the many other people that have posted on tripadvisor. So if you do get a decent room to begin with great, though I would strongly recommend that you do not pay up for a better room, because you really don't know what you're getting.