Rocabella Deluxe Suites & Spa Santorini
- Shuttle bus service
- Continental Breakfast
- Minbar in room
- Airport Transportation
- Breakfast Available
Photos of Rocabella Deluxe Suites & Spa Santorini
Historical Traveler Reviews Rocabella Deluxe Suites & Spa Santorini Imerovigli
Location is great but not luxurious!
The location is over the top gorgeous and the pools are great and refreshing, the hotel is about midway between Fira and Oia which was very convenient for us, but when it came to details of service that is where the hotel was lacking... After being at a great resort in Crete for a week paying a comparable price to Rocabella, it was obvious to see that Rocabella is made it obvious to see what was lacking... The rooms are small, yes, but sufficient, we stayed in room #10 and unlike some other reviews of this room we felt that it was just perfect for us. What bothered me was that each day we had to use a bath towels because there were never towels by the pool and therefore they would not give us two sets of fresh bath towels in our room, just one set. I don't know if this is because they thought we were stealing the towels but I think it is totally unacceptable when you are paying upwards of $200 a night. They also provide shower gel but no washcloths and in our three nights that we stayed there they did not replenish the toiletries at all. I would recommend staying here if you are not the type of person that gets hung up on the details. The view if fabulous and the location is great but don't stay if you get excited about the little things.
Yes..the staff is very nice; yes the view was amazing..but for the price and the word "luxurious" is false advertisement!!! They really got you good with the website.We had an apartment. By European standards there was a living room and bedroom. We basically lived out of our suitcase. A skinny closet and a chest that had 3 mini-draws. I requested numerous times and confirmation regarding our room being on a high level...ummm..our room was literally right next to the bar. If they lower their prices, then you would not be disappointed..but the world luxury..they need to look it up in the dictionary to understand. It was moldy; smelly; the bed cover I dont know if they bought them from their great-grandmothers. The bathroom--it was standing room only in the shower and leaking everywhere..all we did was stare at Santorini Princess on the plank wishing we were there instead. They have the nerve to be building a spa..they should use their $$$$ that they rob from everyone and redo all the rooms.
Warning!!! Sewer smell
Do not be fooled by the web-site.!!! I have never had such a horrific experience in all my travels. I can sleep in a tent, stay at a motel or enjoy a Hyatt, but this was my most unbearable stay anywhere on the Globe! Our room was #17. It was dark, dingy, small and cramped and cave-like room. Cruise ship rooms and bathroom are larger. There were no cupboards, closets or nightstands. We lived out of our suitcase. The linens and towels were worn and the floors stained. But the main cause the made me write a review was the SEWER SMELL omitted from the drain in the cramped bathroom. The hotel tried to use chemicals to cover up the smell, but it just made our eyes burn and get a headache. My husband got some packing tape to cover up the drain and it was a little better. There are no pictures of the rooms on the web-site for a good reason...if you saw the rooms you would not book.
We stayed here in May 2006, and were extremely disappointed with the rooms. We were moved to ANOTHER hotel for the first night because of an over-booking (which hotel was totally wonderful, and the service we received there was delightful). However, when we moved back to Rocabella the next day, we were shown to an awful room - small and far away from the pool/main part of the hotel. After much arguing, we were shown two other rooms, but neither were available for us to move for the first night. Anything other than a senior suite at this place is too pokey for two people to comfortably stay for any length of time. Furthermore, the female manager was extremely unhelpful and quite rude. The assistant manager was delightful, and saved us from having our holiday completely ruined. The hotel is also a taxi ride from the town. We will not go back, or recommend this hotel to any of our friends.
Not for Singles
We were booked for Rocabella for 5 nights. We stayed 3 and left. First, I will say, the hotel has beautiful views, but is not 5 star. It's very far from town, in the middle of nowhere. It's too dangerous a walk in the night. After spending time walking around the cliffs in Fira you aren't going to want to take the long walk back in the day either. We clocked it on our car, it's 4 KM. We were assured we would get 2 beds, and when we got there they took us to a room with a double bed, very small room. Then they took us to an "upgraded" room which consisted of a larger room with another double bed and a sitting area with two couches. We took turns sleeping on the rock hard couches. After complaining again they said they would put another mattress on one of the couches. They put a chaise lounge mattress on it! So, we told them we were leaving after 3 sleepless nights in a hotel that was supposed to be luxourious. Then they wanted to move us to ANOTHER room, on the third day. We explained not only were the sleeping arrangements not what we were promised--the place was for couples and too far from town (and we were told in emal it was a 15 min walk--it's a 50 min walk). The manager responded with "go and knock on doors and meet people-there are families here too" and then when we said we were two single straight women not wanting to hang out with families or honeymooners he replied "we do not call men in here for you!!" HOW INSULTING!!! We left. We were charged for all 5 nights, and only stayed 3. They called it a "cancellation" charge.
Cried of disappointment...
My husband and I went to Greece for our 1st year anniversary. We had started off in Mykonos and we loved our hotel there (Royal Myconian).
The ferry to Santorini from the Mykonos pier was 5 hours delayed, and got to Santorini almost at midnight. When we got to Rocabella, it was obviously very dark, but could see the charming exterior of the property. The reception area was also quite charming, with local decorations with a modern twist. The large plasma played Fashion TV, and the staff were all very fashionably dressed. Now, that was all good...
Once we were taken to our "apartment", we were both dumbstruck. It was NOTHING like what we had expected from the pictures on their website and from the price we paid (I do not think I need to elaborate here, as many other reviews have already done so). We thought it was a mistake, and asked the staff if all the rooms were the same. She said yes. At the time, we just did not have anything to say, and went into the room. After standing around in the room for 5 minutes, we realized we could NOT stay there. We called the front desk and asked for another room. The same staff came by (not so friendly this time) to show us to another room.... It was even worse. Well, it was quite similar to the first one, but smaller. There was also a glass of half drunk wine on the table. It was very off-putting to say the least.
We went back to our first room and called the front desk again. The guy basically said that there are no other rooms available and had to wait till the next morning to see if anything becomes free. My husband and I KNEW we could not sleep in the room, so we headed to the reception. My husband spoke to the man very calmly that we were quite unhappy with our room and that we need a different room, and that this trip was a very special one, one that his wife (me) was looking forward to all her life. The man did not really care and basically said that the problem was not his. At that point, I could not stand there any longer. I went outside, sat at a bench and started crying! I never do this, especially in public, but I was just too disappointed.
As it was really too late to contact our travel agent (based in Santorini, who we booked the hotel through), we had no choice but to stay one night. We felt really grossed out with the bathroom, shower, bed sheets, everything. As soon as the morning came, we called our travel agent. The travel agent spoke to the hotel and was told there was a better room, so we went to look. It was bad... smelled moldy and was dark, even though it was much bigger than the other rooms. So we ended up paying for most of our nights at Rocabella, and paying for ANOTHER hotel near Fira. We moved to Majestic hotel and was much happier there. Clean and spacious.
The only thing good about Rocabella was the view. They have two pools that are quite small, but definately charming with an unobstructed view of the grand caldera. At least we were able to enjoy it for an hour before moving to the other hotel. The breakfast was at a small cramped room that had no air conditioning that offered very little choice.
Coming from Asia, we were definately spoilt with the luxuries we have at resorts/hotels here, but I was really shocked at Rocabella's false advertising and the amount of money they charge for their inn.
My husband and I stayed at Rocabella Suites from 20-27 June 2006 for our honeymoon. I booked the accommodation based upon the positive reviews on this website however, a few days prior to leaving I read some of the more negative ones and was a little worried!
Our room (number 25) was lovely, if a bit on the small side. What Rocabella's website describes as a studio apartment is really just a room with bathroom (cramped) and (generous) balcony. We had uninterrupted views of the 'famous' sunset, a quiet location (enough distance from the main pool and bar) and were only five seconds walk from the second pool, which was lovely as it was quieter than the main one.
I thought we would have had more of a 'kitchenette' as described on the Rocabella website, but in fact all we had was one electric ring and a coffee machine (a kettle would have been more useful). This was a disappointment but we coped!
Rocabella is not a place to stay if you enjoy being in the centre of town with easy access to all the bars, restaurants and nightlife. The complex was a 20 minute walk from Imergivoli and an hour's walk from Fira! A car is a must if you want to visit Oia and the beaches on the south side of the island, and get to a decent supermarket to stock up on food and water! (Rocabella will help you organise a car, which is very convenient).
Overall, we had a fabulous holiday. The accommodation is clean, stylish, the staff friendly and helpful, two swimming pools is luxury! and the island itself is truly magical. Enjoy!
Very expensive and mediocre
We stayed at Rocabella for a week at the end of May, and left feeling disappointed and basically a little ripped off. The staff are very friendly and very helpful, and the fact is that Santorini is not a cheap island to stay on, particularly if you are perched on a cliff overlooking the caldera. That doesn't excuse the prices charged by Rocabella though, we were expecting close to 5 star luxury and just about scraped 3 star.
With the money paid you would expect some nice touches, but there weren't any and they seriously take advantage of their fairy isolated location (15/20m walk to the nearest village). If you want breakfast, food, water etc expect to pay hugely inflated prices.
My wife and I were hoping for a romantic, luxurious break and got nothing of the sort. If you get a very cheap deal then go but in our opinion its not worth anything like their standard rates to stay there.
We booked this hotel thinking it was a 5 stars. I'll verify this info as it turns out it is advertised on a well known booking site as a 3 1/2 stars.
We were disappointed at first because of the appartment (#10). We had booked an appartment but as I am reading the reviews, they might have given us a studio instead. It was too small, no place to sit, the bathroom/shower were extremely small. The linens and towels were probably clean, but did not seem fresh. The room was stuffy.
The location is not ideal. We had booked there (Firostefani) thinking that we would be able to walk to Fira and Oia (approx 1hour), but we started walking to Oia and realised that the path did not seem as safe as we would have liked so we came back after 20 minutes.
The continental breakfast was good (included in the price of the room for us), but I would not have paid 10-15 euros for it. The breakfast room was served in a small room at the front of the hotel.
Despite those negatives, we really enjoyed the view, the pool area and the restaurant. The food was good, the drinks too. The layout of the pool and chairs was perfect and the view incredible. The staff at the hotel was great. The view must be one of the best on the island. Dinner is served by the pool - there are 4-5 tables (there's no actual restaurant). It worked for us since we had dinner watching the sunset and it was just great.
I am ambivalent as to whether I would recommend this hotel to a friend or coworker or not, because of the room. It was bad enough to prevent me from recommending the Rocabella. However, once we got over our first impression, we really enjoyed it.
Would avoid it...a lottery as to how good your experience will be...
We had a very similar experience to a number of other people that have already posted re: accomodations. What they call a Studio, Apartment or Suite is not well-defined. So it basically allows them to run somewhat of a scam in my opinion, because they use those names interchangeably. For example, we were given what was clearly a Studio, while we paid the extra $80 or so for the Apartment. The studio did not have a living room area, though I was told that a stool was the living room; it did not have the private veranda that was promised on their website, but i was told i could use my own chair. When we complained, they refused to acknowledge that what we were given was not an Apartment, but immediately said that they would switch us the next day when another better room was availalbe. The new room was a loft, and did have the things that were mentioned (i.e. living room area, and private veranda). Also this new room also had normal windows (vs. the studio had a 2 foot tall by roughly 1 foot window). It's pretty clear they tried to trick us the 1st night, just like they have with the many other people that have posted on tripadvisor. So if you do get a decent room to begin with great, though I would strongly recommend that you do not pay up for a better room, because you really don't know what you're getting.
TripAdvisor Reviews Rocabella Deluxe Suites & Spa Santorini Imerovigli
Travel Blogs from Imerovigli
Now I know you're all confused. The map says Crete but the blog says Santorini. Well I did warn you all before I left that there was a percentage of randomness about this trip. Turns out, given that it is off-season here, there is one ferry a week to Crete. (Stop grinning Poli, you can say "I told you so" when I get back). Anyway, fortunately we only had to adjust our timing by a day so this time tomorrow we will be just ...
... hours waiting for our connection. IF we are exceedingly lucky, British Airways will allow us to change to an earlier flight but somehow I never get that lucky these days.
I would recommend Santorini but NOT in the high season. We've had a great time and the crowds haven't been too onerous and we've been able to get into everything and do everything without waiting in a queue. A few shops and restaurants have been ...
... nothing much there- what a waste of time- so that put her conscience at ease after cancelling our trip over there! The afternoon we had free until dinner at 7- so we headed to the jewellery shops of course! Aunty lee and mum ended up buying a lovely pendant which em had pointed out but she was quite disappointed the rainbow stone colour she wanted didnt come in gold :( We went back to the waffle place for lunch- this ...
... a couple of times, effectively blowing out the centre of the island. All that remains now is a (loosely) crescent-shaped piece to the east and a small arc to the west, with the spout having built up a low mound of volcanic debris in the centre. As such, the western edge of the main island is a sheer cliff that drops away to the water, and it is on this cliff that Thira is built (affording many spectacular views from atop) (/history).
... and no there is no bus or anything like that to take you up it is a zig zag slippery steps covered in **** from the donkeys!
SO we road a donkey up!!! It was the most fun horrific scariest hilarious thing I have ever done! I think they are mixed with horses because they are HUGE and when you first get on the donkey it is facing down the hill and your clinging to this thing like wait how are we going to turn around? Jana was behind me facing down ...