How has this hotel rated in the past?
- Free High-Speed Internet
- Room service
- Room service
Photos of QT Canberra
Travelers also recommend:
Historical Traveler Reviews QT Canberra
It's meant to be a service industry....
The fun started with the check-in. After a 3 hr drive the disinterested staff offered no help with my excess of luggage beyond directions for where to find a trolley, how to take it to the basement, then to go and get my car and take it to the basement and hope the trolley would still be there. I wrestled with the fact that maybe I was just turning into a grumpy old man but it got better. The airconditioning didn't work, and the west facing room was a sweatbox. After several phonecalls and some hassling for an hour I was moved to a tired but comfortable enough room with a nice view. The next day I found out that my boss, who had flown down to Canberra later, was given the same room I had rejected and had to leave the balcony door open all night which meant she ended up freezing in the middle of the night!
The place is tired, expensive and most, but not all, of the staff seemed to have no idea that they are actually working in a service industry.......
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Rydges Lakeside Canberra. I was disappointed to read that you felt the hotel was tired and the staff were disinterested as we do take pride in our usually high level of service.
Since your stay last year we have made a lot of changes to the bedrooms, for starters we have replaced all beds with the new DREAM bed, this is a latex mattress bed with new sheeting and doonas. We have also replaced the working area with a large glass desk, ergonomic work chair and adequate lighting. Just these changes alone have lchanged the look of the bedrooms. Our Revitalisation is not yet complete, however I would like to speak further with you to discuss the changes and invite you to the hotel to see these changes yourself.
I look forward to hearing from you.
02 6247 6244
We booked this hotel on the basis of the reputation of the name, but would have got a better deal staying in a new motel out of the CBD a bit. The room was very tired and scruffy. We did not have a lake view despite the Lakeside name. There was no food available in the hotel apart from a seafood buffet or pricy room service, and no restaurants within easy walking distance at night. Staff were efficient and business-like, without being bery interested.
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Rydges Lakeside Canberra.
Since your stay in July 2006 we have made some exciting changes to the accommodation rooms and offerings in our BG Skyline Restaurant. I would love to hear from you so I can explain them all!
I look forward to hearing from you.
02 6247 6244
Left with bad taste in my mouth
We had a very nice room at the Rydges as part of a tour in early August. Upon checking in I asked about the rates for use of the internet. The desk person was totally clueless and said I should look on the TV in our room for information.
So, I did, and got a very confusing set of rates -- one paragraph said that it was $0.50/minute or 27.50 for the day. Another said it was $0.50/minute up to a max of $27.50. Yet a third option said we could buy three hours for $9.95. This is what I thought I signed up for. We logged in for two hours. Upon checkout, we were presented with a bill for over $50.00 AUD, and told that the option we signed up for was not available and that we had to pay the $27.50 AUD per hour rate (implied in the $0.50 /min rate quote.). I had kept a PDF copy of the acceptance screen that I clicked showing that I'd signed up for the $9.95 block of time, which I showed to the desk person. They didn't care. They then proceeded to tell me that this rate was "reasonable" and typical for all of Australia. They tried to get me to believe that internet access was more expensive out in the small towns and in the big cities. Well, they lied to the wrong traveler.
I spent three weeks in Australia, and the rates for internet ranged from FREE in Melbourne at a pretty nice hotel, free at a small country hotel in Narrabri, and no more than $5.00 per hour at some smaller country hotels in the north part of NSW. Even in Sydney our internet access was capped at $9.95 for a two-hour segment. The charges from the Rydges hotel were the most outragous I've seen, and that even counts some pricey hotels in NYC and other big cities. And, for the desk people to stand there and baldly lie to me, and try to blame us for misunderstanding their own (as they admitted) confusing offering language in the room, was the last straw.
This may be a nice hotel in some parts, but the "make a buck" attitude and "soak the business traveler" idea on internet access totally ruined my view of the place. I couldn't recommend it to anyone...
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Rydges Lakeside Canberra. I hope you have a great time travelling around this vast country, it sounds like you were able to make it to a lot of different towns and cities!
I would be happy to speak with you directly in regards to the prices and services the external internet company provides provides for the broadband internet service.
The next time you are travelling to Australia please don't hesitate to contact me about accommodation in Canberra.
+61 2 6247 6244
Don't forget, we are talking about Canberra
The thing to expect when in Canberra is that the vast majority of hotels are average, and they are solidly booked throughout the year during the week. You have to understand that demand far outweighs supply with all the beauracrats flying in for the week all the time. This means that you either pay for 5 star (and at 5 star rates) or you pay less - and you certainly get less.
Rydges Lakeside is one of the only centrally located hotels that have balconies - this helps if you are a smoker. Most hotels do NOT have smoking rooms. Yes, it is very average, but this is my 4th time here now and I come back because everything works i.e. the aircon works great -especially on sub-zero nights, the tv, the internet, the pressure of hot water, rose head fixture. That is the main thing for me. I despise going to 5 star hotels and getting in and at least one thing is broken. I don't have time to switch rooms all the time, its a darn hassle. Also the price is right, most other hotels are 40-50 dollars more expensive for same quality.
The rooms are average to say the least. You will have to bite your tongue, and maybe hold your breath! Most rooms haven't been refurbished it looks like for nearly 15-20 years. The bathroom is old as well, but you get a seperate bath that is long enough to lie in - not have your knees up against your head! I am 5ft 11in, 100kg, and it is relatively ok for me.
The hotel is set against the lake - hence its name - and is relative quiet. Taxi drivers may get shirty if you want a rid into town - which I need as I don't like walking in a suit with my bag which is mostly jam packed and heavy. Last thing you need is to rock up sweating on a freezing morning.
Room service menu is ok, you get what you pay for. The staff are friendly and the food quality is good for what you pay for.
So, if you are a first time visitor to Canberra hotels, don't be surprised. If you want quality you will have to pay for it - as well as the costly flights which are monopolised by Qantas.
Overall, it is ok. Nothing special and remember it is old, like a lot of other canberra hotels. It is better choice for smokers thats for sure.
Thank you for your comments regarding your previous stay at Rydges Lakeside Canberra. It does sound like you have to do a lot of travelling for work and I am glad you choose to stay with us. It is true that Canberra can book out during the week, especially during Parliament Sitting, my advice is to book as early as possible to avoid disappointment.
We do have a copy of the 2007 Parliament Sitting dates on our website if you would like a copy (in the News and Whats On section). We have made significant changes to the accommodation rooms since your last stay and I urge you to come and see these exciting changes for yourself. Next time you are in Canberra, please don't hesitate to contact me to discuss your comments further.
Disappointment would actually be less effective expression to use.
I was in Canberra last week for my Research thesis; I booked Rydges as I had a very good impression of them. My parents had stayed at Rydges in New Zealand some time back and they had a brilliant review.
I stayed there for one night and to my amusement, I saw dirty toilet, smelly too and a cockroach on the wall. On exiting the parking, a huge truck had blocked my way and I had to get them to move, actually got late for a meeting by 15 mins.
Additionally on confronting the front desk, all they could offer is a little "SORRY".
All I know is not just me; anyone from my family isn't booking with Rydges anymore. They have really let me down. Where are the days gone when customers were treated like customers? At least they need to be careful about Hygiene.
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Rydges Lakeside Canberra in 2006. Since your stay we have made some exciting new changes to the bedrooms and as always, cleanliness is extremely important to all areas of the hotel. I would urge you to come and see the changes for yourself to restore your's and your family faith in Rydges Hotels and Resorts.
02 6247 6244
The rooms let it down
I stayed at the Lakeside with a conference group over a weekend. Having travelled from the other side of the continent, I was tired and pushed for time when I arrived, since the group was having a "welcome" seafood buffet that night and I had to shower, change etc.
The foyer was reasonably impressive -- a little dated, but clean, in good repair, and all brass and polished timber etc. Reception staff were pleasant and efficient, I was checked in in under 5 minutes, iven my "key" and off to my room.
First "oops". The key worked, but I couldn't open the door -- someone, somehow, had put inside security chain on and left the room!!
Down to Reception -- and a 20-minute wait while they got someone to look at the problem. Finally, gave me a key to a new room. I almost cried when I walked into my room. It was old and tired -- and reeked appallingly of cigarette smoke. It smelled as though there had been a cigarette convention held there not 20 minutes earlier. Walls were knocked and marked, there were two three-quarter beds, the bathroom was -- thankfully -- clean, but lacking in any niceties at all. I spent 10 minutes and about $20 worth of spray aftershave trying to mask the cigarette smell. I fin ally found the air-con controls and cranked it up to full. It worked, but just. The decor is just plain *old*! It needs a complete make-over.
By contrast, in the shower the water was hot and the pressure good. A big plus for me.
The meal was so-so after all that, but the staff were great (and this was generally true the entire visit). Nothing seemed to be too much trouble.
The bar is way too small, but the prices weren't too outrageous. The dining room/restaurant is showing its age in decor, but the food was certainly adequate to the task! Breakfast was especially good as far as I'm concerned -- a buffet with bacon, scrambled eggs, breakfast sausages, grilled tomatoes topped with cheese, baked beans, mushrooms, toast of all types, fruit, juices, muesli, cereals, cold meats and cheeses -- and I'm sure I've forgotten some. With a breakfast like that under your belt, you can generally skip lunch if you're watching the dollars.
I was disappointed in the hotel overall. The rooms definitely are past their use-by date. And unless you have a lake side room and subsequent view, there's nothing to see the other way!
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay in April 2006. I am very excited to announce that we have made some exciting upgrades to all the bedrooms. For starters we have the DREAM bed, a latex mattress bed that has been designed specifically for Rydges Hotels and Resorts, there are many other changes that have happened and are happening throughout 2007.
Thank you also for your comments regarding the staff and the food and beverage outlets, it is always important to receive constructive feedback and always nice to hear about the positive feedback too!
If you are travelling to Canberra from the West again, please don't hesitate to contact me.
02 6247 6244
My partner and I booked a standard room at the Rydges Lakeside Canberra via the internet @ $120. I later phoned the Rydges direct asking for a lake-side room and was told this would cost me an extra $30 for the upgrade. We arrived at the hotel at 1600 and was told our room wasn't ready, even though it should have been ready for us at 1400! Eventually we got our room on the twelth floor: very average, and very hot. Granted the weather in Canberra was in the high 30's but the airconditioning was not coping at all. It was unfortunate when we were told at reception that someone had thrown a drinking glass in the hotel pool and it was closed for the weekend....
We went to our New Year's Eve festivities and returned to the hotel by about 0130 am. The lift lobby was crowded as only 1 of 3 lifts were operational. A hotel employee led groups of guests through the hotel kitchen to a service elevator to access respective floor. I was having visions of Faulty Towers... On eventually reaching our room it was as hot and uncomfortable as before. Appearantly a power cut reduced the hotel airconditioning capacity to 50 percent.... Given the poor performance of the airconditioning earlier I knew we were in trouble! On booking out the next day we were offered a complimentary breakfast and no cost for the room upgrade (if that was an upgrade the other rooms must be appalling!!!) as compensation for the lack of airconditioning. Other guests who hadn't booked and payed on the internet were offered discounts to their bill.
The hotel reception tried their best to overcome problems that weren't in their control and should be commended for their efforts. Unfortunately the hotel is run-down and in dire need of renovation and upgrade. We will look elsewhere on our next visit to Canberra.
Thank you for your comments regardnig your stay over New Years 2006. I remember that New Years well because it was so hot on New Years Eve as well as New Years Day!
Since then we have made significant upgrades to the bedrooms in all rooms. I urge you to come and see these upgrades fro yourself.
To find great packages for Rydges Lakeside and the best rates available, continue to make your bookings on our website.
02 6247 6244
If i Was looking for a good nights sleep i wouldent stay at this rydges. This place should not be rated four and a half stars-it should be two!!
Swimming pool was disgusting,when we opened up the sofabed we found sombody else's leftover food-YUCK!,Also the bathroom had MOULD in it,another on the old bad list would be the beds that were lumpy. What a Stupid place to waste two-hundred bucks!
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your last stay at Rydges Lakeside Canberra. Since your stay we have introduced the 'DREAM Bed', this bed was designed especially for Rydges Hotels and Resorts and is one of the best nights sleeps you will have. I was disappointed to read that you felt you didn't have the good nights sleep that you were looking for when you were here previously, I can only suggest you come back now and test the DREAM beds out yourself.
Good value for money
Just spent 2 nights at this hotel and found it to be good value for money. I paid AU$125 a night (not including breakfast which was only AU$15) through Qantas Ready Rooms. The room faced east towards the city centre, it was large and airy, and the bathroom was clean. Although some bathroom fittings looked a bit worn (eg taps), the room had been recently painted. Hotel is a 5 minute walk to Civic and less to the lake forshore. Although its not the Hyatt (where I stayed in Feb '05 at AU$210 a night) I thought it represented good value for money. Its not a destination in itself like the Hyatt is, but I would return for value-for-money clean and comfortable accommodation.
Thanks for your comments regarding your stay at Rydges Lakeside Canberra. The hotel does represent 'good value for money'. Not only for the location, also for the Revitalisation that is currently underway at the hotel. We are making some exciting changes to the accommodation rooms, giving you one of the 'best nights sleep'! I urge you to check this out for yourself, you won't be disappointed.
Go here only if you have a cheap internet rate
I stayed at the Lakeside in October 2004. I got a cheap deal on one of the 16 suites ($208 bed and buffet breakfast for occupants). The suites have a queen bed in the bedroom and a full bathroom (smallish bath) and a twin sofabed in the living room which has a shower and WC bathroom of its own. The Lakeside is near the lake surrounded on the other sides by busy roads, car parks and green areas. It is not a place women would want to walk around at night on their own or in twos or threes. The nearest centre is Civic which has department stores and some cafes but is not a pleasant place (and the huge bus interchange looks dodgy and deserted at night). The hotel is dingy, shabby and run down - doesnt show the dirt because it looks dirty beigey tones. There were chips and scratches on the woodwork and plaster in the hall on my floor. My suite was on a nonsmoking floor (that I didn't want and wasn't warned about on the 3rd floor, overlooking a concrete roodtop that had weeds growing in the cracks. There was no attempt to screen this dismal outlook with planters or whatever. I felt that I had to lock the balcony doors because there was easy access from this roof area. I had booked for 2 because my sister might have needed a room but was told by reception (wrongly) that the rate didnt cover breakfast and when I showed her the confirmation, she wrote "1" beside the item without even asking if someone else would be checking in. Avoid this place and go to the Hyatt or else get recommendations for a hotel in the Manuka/Kingston area a nice residential area with good shops, cafes and restaurants.
If you would like to discuss this further please don't hesitate to contact me.
02 6247 6244
TripAdvisor Reviews QT Canberra
Travel Blogs from Canberra
... s brush strokes, my foot passed an invisible line. A high-pitched alarm pierced through the gallery and a serious-looking security guard appeared from nowhere. Although the alarm must have been screeching for no more than 20 seconds, it felt like a lifetime. Red-faced, I made a hasty exit and headed to Parliament House. This is where the Australian political magic happens. I rocked up wearing flip flops and a vest top, ...
... ended by taking the bus back to the hotel. On Saturday and Sunday they use a different route. So we got off the bus in the wrong place. However, thanks to Gladys, i put her into "walk mode" and in no time we had extricated ourselves from some God forsaken subdivision and arrived back unscathed and ready for a glass of wine to celebrate our navigational success.
Tomorrow we head for the Blue Mountains, west of Sydney, a 350 k drive.
... normal;">The immigration queue at Sydney was long and slow, and our transit time, short...and so we missed our Canberra connection. Thankfully it was a short wait for the next flight and we were in Canberra by 9.30AM, about an hour later than scheduled. Brendan was waiting for us, and it was a quick drive home, past the lake and beautiful cherry blossoms, to their lovely new place in Kingston.
A comment by a War Memorial staff member was, ‘Of all the
900 students we have had through the War Memorial today, Genesis has been the
quietest and most respectful’. I can’t help but think that this is a
significant factor to Genesis being asked to take centre stage in this
ceremony. What a day to be involved with such a great school.
The evening activities were all centred ...
Well, we thought that yesterday was a cold day….until we
awoke this morning!
After breakfast, we grabbed all of our winter woollies and
set off for the Australian Mint. There,
we were treated to a guided tour of the facility. We learnt about the history of Australian
currency from its very beginnings to the present day.
Perhaps the highlight of our tour was watching the robots ...