Travel Blogs from Bangkok
... by the Vatican and Taj Mahal for spectacular religious buildings and is on par with the a and the Blue Mosque, which is a real testament to the beauty of the palace. Having had just a couple of hours sleep we decided to return to the hostel, but naturally, being Bangkok, this involved two Tuk-Tuk's, a lot of walking and Matts evident frustrations. Jet lag is a curious beast and when left untamed turns 30 minute naps into 6 hour sleeps as we ...
... today was wake up at 8:30AM (5 hours of sleep isn't
to shabby after 30 hours of no sleep!) and got dressed quickly in our
little hostel room, as we knew we wanted to make sure and cram in as
much as we could into our first day. Our plan was to go get some breakfast at a thai bakery/cafe, but on our way there, we were stopped
by a Thai woman who looked at us smiling and laughing as we were walking
on the ...
... wild monkeys on the way, when we got there we got given a bamboo stick and had to hike up quite high but luckily it wasn't too hot in the rainforest even though it was very humid, we had lots of breaks and took out time and our guide bamboo talked to us about different stuff, she showed us elephant poo and bear claw marks on the trees, when we got to the top we went down into some smelly caves, they where massive but very ...
... our selfs a nice hut on the rocks with a great view. To get to the hut you have to walk to the end of the beach and walk up onto a large boulder, that you have to traverse across then shimmy under an equally large over hanging rock. Then you have to clime down into a small cave and out the other side. Then you follow a pathway that takes you around the coast a little way till you get to our hut perched on a large boulder that the waves crash against. We had finally found a place in the ...
... a prissy girl, but she is so adventurous and brave and she is always hanging out with a large new group of friends. Anyways, Eliza and her new group of 7 guy friends were on the boat tour with us. There was also a group of three from Brazil who talked to me a lot in Portuguese. I enjoyed seeing that I could understand them. I love the Brazilian accent. There were a lot of “Brazileros” in Koh Phi Phi.
That night we went out and ran back ...
How has this hotel rated in the past?
Travelers also recommend:
- More recommendations
Historical Traveler Reviews President Park Bangkok
Nice Hotel for a Group of People
Just got back from a 5 day stay in Bangkok with a bunch of friends. Since we were planning last minute, the only place we got a room at was the President Park Hotel (everything in Bangkok was sold out on 4/27 for some reason). Ended up staying in a 2 bedroom suite in the hotel.
The suite was huge. It had approximately a ~350-400 sq foot living room, a 200 sq ft bedroom and another smaller bedroom ~ 125 sq ft. It was set up more like a service apartment, with a full size fridge, microwave, stove etc. which was okay for us since we stocked the fridge with drinks etc. The decor was okay, but the rooms were very clean, the air-conditioning worked perfectly and the hotel staff was always very friendly.
The concierge staff at the hotel were especially good. They consistently went out of their way to get us taxi's explain to the driver where we needed to go and ensured that the drivers took us there on the metered rate rather than the touristy rip off rate. Breakfast was included with the stay and the room itself was pretty reasonable - about ~$180/night, but it slept four comfortably.
From a location perspective this hotel is not ideally located on Sukhamvit but it isn't that far away either. We walked back from Soi 4 once and it took about 25 - 30 minutes. Traffic in Bangkok has gone from bad to worse so the only complaint I really had is that even in a cab, it used to take about 10-15 minutes to Soi 4 which is hardly a couple of miles away.
So, it's not located like the J W Marriott or the Landmark are but then not much in Bangkok is. It's definitely better than most of the other hotels on main Sukhamvit which are okay from the outside but are very run down and sketchy from the inside. Would I stay here again - yes, if I couldn't get a room at the Landmark or the Marriott.
Thank you for your wonderful comments. You are right to say that we are not ideally located on Sukhumvit but it isn't that far away either. We do provide a complimentary shuttle service on our very own "TUK TUK" to the Bangkok Transit system (or BTS as it is called in Bangkok). Traffic is certainly bad.. but then again, its like this in the whole of Bangkok.
Once again thank you and we look forward to your return visit and to give you the experiences you have come to expect from us.
More than a hotel
We don't stay in hotels anymore when we are in Bangkok which is at least 4 or 5 times a year. Serviced apartments are the way to go and we will definitely be going back to the The President Park . They have a wide range of suites available for the same price as most hotel rooms.
We stayed in the Orchid suite which is a one bedroom suite. The sitting room was enormous and so was the bedroom. The bathroom was spacious and the shower was exceptionally good. Although we didn't use the kitchen for more than making tea/ coffee, you could cook if you wanted to but then again why would you want to do that in a place like Bangkok. We even had a small study with a desk and broadband internet is available.
Other facilities in the room included 2 TVs , a DVD player. ironing board and there was plenty of cupboard space. Daily cleaning service is included. The reception staff and management are efficient and friendly.
Breakfast was excellent with a wide range of western food, asian food, plenty of fruit ,egg station etc.
As a guest you have access to the 3 swimming pools, a great fitness centre, jacuzzi and steam room. There is also a very nice Spa.
The hotel is located in Sukhumvit Rd, Soi 24. The nearest Skytrain station is a 10 minute walk away and there are plenty of taxis around. The area boasts the famous Emporium an upmarket mall with a cinema complex and a fantastic food court. The area is popular with Japanese tourists and Japanese expats many of whom live at the President Park.
We stayed there 10 days and I would definitely recommend this place
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are really happy to have given you a wonderful experience We are glad you liked our suite and in-room services, our buffet breakfast, fitness center, pools and spa. President park is indeed close to shopping centers, supermarkets, restaurants and bars. An ideal lifestyle property.
We do look forward to your next visit.
Great property with few exceptions
The tropical landscaped pool area and adjoining Capital Fitness Center are top-notch and free for your use. High-speed Internet access costs a little extra and a modem must be brought to your room and hooked up. The rooms are showing some age, and often a little bit of mold, but they are large, mostly clean and reasonably priced. The food on the property is excellent and reasonably priced, and restaurants, grocery store, motorbike taxis and Starbucks are within steps of the front door. Convenient location. I've had two long stays there and when I return to BKK, I will stay at the President Park.
Thank you for the wonderful comments. It is comments such as yours that has enabled us to improve our product and services. We are happy that you have had a positive experience with us and would like to add that we have since renovated 2 more floors. We have also regrouted most of the rooms and have a comprehensive mold treatment schedule.
We look forward to you next visit and to accord to you a complete and wonderful experience with us again here in Bangkok,
The rooms are showing some age, and often a little bit of mold, but they are large, mostly clean and reasonably priced.
Stayed a Month - Okay with some problems
Stayed at this property on business for a month. The location is pretty nice on Sukhmunvit Soi 24. It is not close the BTS / SKYTRAIN but the hotel provides a free shuttle every 20 minutes to the Emporium Mall and BTS Station. There are also plenty of taxi's and motobikes just in front of the hotel.
The neighborhood is convenient and has a supermarket, video store, starbucks, au ban pan, ice-cream shop, numerous restaurants, bakeries, travel agency and a dental clinic all on the same block. If you are looking for a long term stay - that is all very convenient..
The standard studio room itself was nice enough but a little shabby (stains on the area rug). It has a small kitchen, microwave, stove, fridge and dishes. It wasn't complete though as we had ask for a hair dryer, ask for a pots and pans, ask for a toaster - things which we thought should have been there when we checked in for a month long stay.
It has a very nice swimming pool and an a nice, complete health club with sauna, jacuzzi, free weights, rock climbing wall and daily schedule of yoga and other classes. That is included in the stay.
Some things that should have be included for long stay aren't included/. In-room internet access is not included and is fairly expensive at just under $70 for a month. The internet service was down for at least an hours every day - with mutliple calls to the front desk everyday informing them of the problem. They acted surprised that this was a problem each time I called. Breakfast is not included in the long term stay either as it is in other apartments in Bangkok.
Encountered various problems with the front desk from the beginning. Upon checking in for a month they demanded full payment up front, in cash plus another deposit. They want another 5% to pay using a Visa/Mastercard. Nobody told me on confirmation about paying up front in cash or service charge.
Overall an safe place for long stay - but I would never book it for less than a month.
Thank you for your wonderful comments. Indeed, the President Park is ideal for long stay guests with its full services and facilities and complimenting support services, restaurants, shops and markets.
We note your comments on long stay utensils, crockery and flatware and have since incorporated these in all our long stay tenants instead of waiting for a request.
Our internet services have been upgraded and the connections and speed improved. We now provide the option to purchase a long stay package with internet and breakfast at very reasonable costs.
We regret that you were not informed about the security deposit and credit card policy in advance.
Thanks to your comments, we were able to improve our services and to offer you the services you rightfully deserve.
We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit.
Huge rooms, very good value,would stay again
We stayed here in December, booked a deluxe room for only a little extra price, definitely worth it - the room was huge with a fully equipped kitchen & breakfast bar, the bed excellent, the bathroom enormous -bath & separate powerful shower room. Room service was superb and the cleaning staff were lovely, always polite & smiling. The room (more a suite than a room it was so big) was well airconditioned and very peaceful - no noise from outside at all. We had no problems with security - we made use of the safe in the room and didn't feel our belongings were at any risk, security is unobtrusive but alert tho I'm glad to report my Thai girlfriend was not quizzed going in or out (this can happen in other hotels which assume Western guy with Thai woman equals sex tourist). Check in & out were efficient. It is a bit of a walk to the Skytrain but only 2 minutes by taxi or motorbike taxi for about 40 bht(motorbike taxi is fast & fun, although perhaps not for everybody!) - overall, we'd stay again & can reccommend it.
I'm going back again!
I'm surprised to read all the negative reviews about this property. I stayed there for 3 nights and was very happy with the hotel. It was a quiet location with nice intimate surroundings. The suite I stayed was big and amenities are very adequate. The staff are polite and provide personal service. The only shortcoming was there are not much facilities in the hotel. I loved the place so much that I'm going back again when I visit Bangkok in March.
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are very pleased that you had a great experience with us here at President Park. Your comment on not much facilities surprised me. We have a wonderful fitness club (Capitol Club) with 3 swimming pools, a spa, squash courts, tennis courts, golf practice range, basketball court, hair salon, Italian restaurant, poolside cafe, Japanese restaurant and an International/Thai restaurant.
We look forward to your next visit to take you on a tour of our facilities and we know you will be extremely pleased.
Just spent 2 nights here and would have to say it is the worst hotel I have stayed in ever ! Awful construction site next door and run down,dirty rooms.Staff were not very nie either
We regret that you had a horrible experience with us here in Bangkok. We regret that during your visit, there was a construction for the BMW showroom going on next to our property. We are unable to control. However, we apologize that our rooms did not meet with your expectation as well. We have since renovated our rooms and have upgraded the services as well. The BMW showroom is now completed and you can be assured that for your next visit, you will be more than happy with the President Park now.
We would like to extend a warm welcome to you to give us a second chance to make a first impression and to give you the services and experiences you rightfully deserve.
Avoid this place ! My company booked this Apartment for a business trip and when we arrived were given a room overlooking a site with a new building being built.Very noisy and horrible to look at.Also had been told by some people when they were checking out that they had complained about the noise and were told they could pay extra per night charge and be moved to the quiter side of the Apartments.Not a good place to stay
Thank you for your comments. Sorry that it took so long to reply to you. We truly regret and apologise that you had an awful experience here. It is comments such as yours that has enabled us to improve ourselves and to give you the service and recognition you rightfully deserve.
The construction of the BMW showroom has been completed and since then, we have also renovated 4 floors.
We would like to extend a warm welcome to you to experience our new rooms and services. We ask that you give us another chance to change your impression of President Park.
The worst hotel
Two nights into a 5 night stay my wife had her earings a camara and some other items stolen whilst we were sleeping.Hotel Manager accused us of losing them and blaming the hotel.Apparently this hotel has a lot of problems with theft.Stay somewhere else!! a really awful experience and will never ever return to this hotel.
We sincerely apologize for the poor experience you had at President Park. We, however, would like to make it clear that we do not have "alot of problems with theft" as you have mentioned. We have done a through investigation but found nothing amiss and truly regret that you feel this way about the property.
President Park Bangkok
Stayed 3 nights here recently and hotel has a huge whole in the ground like a sewer next door that is very very noisy. Avoid this one. We complained to staff but they didnt care at all. Horrible place
Thank you very much for your comments. We regret that you had a poor experience with us. We are not able to control the constructions going on. We regret too that our staff did not attend to your complaint appropriately. It may be that they did not understand and/or they were unable to respond appropriately.
The construction has since been completed and we have also renovated 4 of our floors. We would like to take the opportunity to welcome you again to President Park and to experience the services and facilities you rightfully deserve.