Pontoon Bridge Hotel
How has this hotel rated in the past?
Photos of Pontoon Bridge Hotel
TripAdvisor Reviews Pontoon Bridge Hotel Foxford
Travel Blogs from Foxford
... past Drumcliff, where poet W.B Yeats is buried.
Drove out to Streedagh Beach, where 3 ships of the Spanish Armada were wrecked in 1588.
On into Sligo, and walked around the town, dodging rain.
Camped at The Beach Bar at Aughris Head, a really old fashioned thatched pub at a very wind-blown beach. Not a palm tree or deck chair in sight, but great Guinness stew for ...
I have been staying with a university friend of mine who is working in Ireland. We have travelled around the county of Mayo seeing abbeys that have Mass said in them since 1216, and ruins of old monasteries and churches. You leave with a sense how constant the Church has been through the centuries. We had afternoon tea at Ashford Castle including scones and clotted cream! On Saturday, we went to Knock where 15 people from the ages of 5 ...
update on 10/16 - went to dinner on the quay (pronounced "key" for those of you in the Bronx. - Had some oysters and scallops right from the Bay.
Went to Matt Maloy's Bar - the flutist from the Chieftains owns it or that is the rumor - met some folks from Belfast.
Went to the bar next store - the Portush - nice Irish music -
update 10/17 - Marian made us soup for lunch - went to an Italinan restaurant for dinner in town - food was great - La Belle Vita ...
... look out, birds in flight towards a pole with a pile of them crumpled at the base of the pole. The other interesting roadside sculpture was a 4 metre high fiddle half buried in the embankment of the road. The warmth of the car and patient status allowed Pol to engage in recuperative rest, so we bypassed Our Lady of Knock and drove to Castlebar and checked into the Harlequin Hotel. After a visit to the hairdresser and a walk around this quaint town, we had a drink and early curry and ...
... up in the center of the path! Lilith did not disappoint on this adventure, and we saw some places that can only be stumbled upon.
After about 90 minutes over hill and dale, we finally got to Loop Head. We were not disappointed! The present lighthouse was built in 1854 but there had been a light at that location since the 1700s. It is still in use today. It didn't get electricity until 1971 and was gas and oil before ...