Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
No availability found through our partners. Please contact the business directly or check some of our recommended alternatives.
Travel Blogs from Sydney
After our world travels, one question that many people ask us is, what is our favourite country? And in every instance, we reply 'Australia mate'. That may seem biased, but honestly after travelling around the world and then returning home to Australia, to us, this great southern land is truly the best country in the world. And the same goes for …
... t even swirl it kinda just pressure washes all over hahah ! I changed my clothes, brushed my teeth for the first time in days and it felt good! After my adventure to bathroom i grabbed a seat near arrivals and hit up the wifi and updated my fb status ( of course haha). after 40 minutes later I was greeted by Wendy, who ask me if I had come in from Canada. I knew it was Wendy right away from her scarf and i was so relieved to see her i said ...
... festival is on in Sydney. For the most part it is all art installations involving lights and sound. It is pretty cool. We watched the show on the Opera House, took some photos and video before heading for home. We were both exhausted from a long day of walking and being outside. It is clear that we are in need of a vacation from our vacation. We are still pretty sore from surfing, add to that our back and feet are staring to feel our ...
... a massive difference to the city, again not unlike central park in NYC. We then headed on through the Botanic gardens and rested, before settling down in a good spot for Sydney's annual Vivid light festival. We watched the sunset and took a few pictures. After not too long, the lights started on the boats and things got going, but the main attraction seemed to be the Opera house, for which we were in a terrible spot. So we ambled down to the ...
... The flight was good and we had tail winds which got us to Sydney earlier. The flight only took about an hour and 5 minutes.
From the airport we caught a train to the Central Business District and located our hotel within a short walking distance. The hotel was very accommodating in arranging to have our room ready on our early arrival.
Our first stop after ...
How has this hotel rated in the past?
More great choices in Sydney
Search TripAdvisor for more deals in Sydney
Travelers also recommend:
Historical Traveler Reviews Oaks Hyde Park Plaza Sydney
Good location - apartment disappointing
Not told at booking re refurbishing - room ok but hallway in bad state - rooms on same floor still being worked on - electrical cords lying over walkways etc.
1 TV not working at all - 2nd TV stations full of "porn" - advised office at least 6 times over 3 days (weekend) nothing done - Was offered one night upgrade - did move to another floor but it was not an upgrade. Did receive a complimentary night for our trouble. Rooms not cleaned really well - in all for country travellers from all over state it was rather disappointing. Would not recommend hotel until some vast improvement made in cleaning area and some better response from management re problems experienced. Some staff members extremely helpful and very apologetic for the "porn" on the TV that was working.
On arrival at this hotel we were given a top floor room with balcony & told it was one of the best in the hotel. The hotel is in an excellent location overlooking Hyde Park & is in easy reach of all parts of the city.
We stayed here for 5 nights while on holiday in Sydney. I booked this online and also paid for a pick-up from the airport, which cost AUS$50 when arranged through the hotel. Upon arrival we found that we could have gotten a shuttle bus service to the hotel for only AUS$10 per person. I would recommend getting the shuttle bus service!
We visited this hotel 10/05. If this place was ever a 4 star hotel, it sure isn't now. My theory is that no one has done any significant upkeep since the Sydney Olympics. The lobby and hotel were full of moths. The desk staff was easily the least friendly and helpful person we met during our entire trip in Australia. The hotel does not have a concierge or staff to help with luggage. Rather than having a regular luggage cart like most hotels, they just had one of those carts you pay $3 to use at the airport. The carpet in our room had stains on it, the grout in the bathroom was grimy/moldy, and the bed was worn down/uncomfortable. Maybe when it was new, the decor was cool and contemporary, but now it just seems kind of grim, minimal and ungracious. The hotel claimed it had internet access but it actually did not. The pool area is in need of repairs, with peeling paint, dirty tile and loose decking material. The hot tub was very grimy, sort of greasy around the tiles and with beer bottle caps on the bottom. Views from the pool area are quite nice and a number of people came up just to look around while we were there. I'd say a quick trip to the pool area is probably the best way to experience this hotel. The phone in our room didn't work well and the desk staff was supremely unhelpful in response to my requests to decode how to use it, given the lack of any written materials which may have shed light on the subject.
Our visit to Australia should have commenced with three nights stay in this building in a two bedroomed suite, non-smoking. In the Travelbag brochure the accommodation was described as, 'mid class', a standard set in the brochure as ' Good accommodation and facilities, for those wanting a little luxury without breaking the bank'. The reality was, that the room was a dirty dump.
We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment in the Hyde Park Plaza for 4 nights. It was disappointing for several reasons. The condition of the apartment rooms did not match photos shown at the website, the furniture was older, used and worn out. The beds were lumpy and uncomfortable. The heating of the apartment was loud and ineffective. There was a spooky room next door with the door busted out and nailed shut, it looked like there had been a break-in. The pool on the rooftop was closed and uninviting - don't believe the photos of that, either. We stayed due to the prepaid status but wanted to warn others away - stay at the Marriott next door instead. This hotel is 2.5 stars at best, not 4 stars.
The night before we flew to Australia we received a refund of £100 from our travel agents stating that this hotel had been taken over and the new owners did not feel the hotel warrented its star rating - when we arrived we were given a large room on the 2nd floor which was clean and was cleaned daily whilst we were there (7 nights) the breakfast was adequate and the hotel was in a great position for the train station and the local restaurants of Darlinghurst - refurbishments had just started - all in all we found this hotel met our requirements for a city centre hotel and we enjoyed our stay
YUCK YUCK YUCK, running, screaming away
Filthy rooms that'd disgust a homeless person. In perplexing contrast to the sleek, modern lobby & sharp-looking receptionists.
We paid nearly USD$200 for a 1bedroom w/kitchenette due to our 2 small kids in tow. What a waste. Not only was the room super tiny but repulsively dirty... carpet, kitchen, bathroom, sheets/bedspread, CREEPY. Utensels obviously had never been sanitized. TV received only 3 local stations. Shower water would alternate between scalding & freezing whenever another guest would flush a toilet.
We tried to flee, but hotel pre-charged our stay due to our 'cheap' rate! Go next door to the Marriott.
Cleaned only once a month
We stayed in the Hyde Park Plaza for 3 nights, we were allocated a room which we were told overlooked the "eastern suburbs", this proved to be an extremely unattractive roof car park and the rear of the hotel next door. The room was extremely dirty, bath not clean and the rungs of chairs literally covered in dust. We complained and were told the room would be thoroughly cleaned but after this had been completed we did not notice the difference. We were told that rooms are thoroughly cleaned once a month, not between guests! The whole place looked tired, carpets worn and grubby and stickyfingermarks on buttons in lift were there for the entire 3 days, we did not see a cleaner the whole time. Do yourself a favour and avoid this one.
Avoid if you can
We booked this hotel, and paid fully in advance, as rooms were very scarce in Sydney in late November, 2003. The hotel was billed as a four-star property, but in our view it did not come close. For example: tired fixtures, dirty, worn carpets, stained bedspreads and blankets, under-equipped kitchen, noisy plumbing (will wake you up!), two extremely slow elevators, minimalist gym facility with a very small unattractive pool. A three-star rating would be generous for this hotel. Location was okay, staff were pleasant, but this did not make up for our disappointment. Upon asking if we could cut short our six-day booking, the management said they would NOT refund any of our money. We would avoid in future, at any cost!