Hotel Motte Picquet

Address: 30 av de la Motte Picquet, Paris, Île-de-France, 75007, France | 3 star hotel
 
Searching for availability...
*Prices above are provided by partners for one room, double occupancy and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
 

How has this hotel rated in the past?

  What's this?
Discover trends in hotel experiences based on real traveler reviews and ratings. Mouse over circles to see what some travelers had to say.

Location

This 3 star hotel, located in the Palais-Bourbon area of Paris, is near Les Invalides, Rue Cler, Ecole Militaire, and Marie-Anne Cantin.
Map this hotel

Amenities

Photos of Hotel Motte Picquet

    View all photos
         

      TravelPod Member ReviewsHotel Motte Picquet Paris

      Reviewed by guidos-blog

      Very nice and cosy

      Reviewed
      by (10 reviews) , Australia Flag of Australia

      Excellent staff

      This review is the subjective opinion of a TravelPod member and not of TravelPod.com.

      Historical Traveler Reviews Hotel Motte Picquet Paris

      Traveler Beware!!

      from

      BEWARE OF THIS HOTEL!! We travel to Paris twice each year, but weren't able to stay in our regular hotel. We thought this was a 3-star hotel and decided to give it a try, but found that it was much, much lacking; ESPECIALLY FOR THE $200/night we were being charged. We then found that they were fraudulantly advertizing their hotel as a 3-star, when in fact the French government agency has only given it a 2-star rating. After spending two minutes there, we weren't much surprized why. Months in advance, we negotiated for the largest room they had as we would be on the road three weeks with plenty of luggage. But when we arrived, there was not even enough room to place our luggage on the floor, let alone any room to hang it up! The bed (only a double) was sandwiched between two walls with absolutely no finger room in between. I wish that I had taken photos. Then, when we found out that they had also lied about their rating, we moved out. They charged us a two day penalty for leaving early. I am disputing it now with American Express on the basis that they lied about the room and their rating. I'm sure we will be reimbursed. The proprietor wouldn't even listen to our concerns. She just cut us off and wouldn't even speak to her employee, who seemed to understand our concerns. We offered to comprimise and pay one night penalty instead of two because of the misunderstanding, but she wouldn't even discuss it. We were shocked at her actions, her deceptive manner, rudeness and the ourtight fraud committed. Nevertheless, we were always nice, reserved and polite, as we hate the way some Americians act. ALSO BEWARE OF THE LATOUR MAUGOURG. This same woman purchased it last year. It will be ready from renovations this June and we understand that the rooms are being "down-sized" so that more rents can be collected. Sounds like it will be just another crappy hotel like La Motte Piquet. Really folks, I'd stay away from this woman and any and all of her hotels. I have decided not to by anonomous to add credibility to my review of this terrible hotel. I will admit that the hotel is probably better than the proprietor and that I am a little jaded as a result of the way I was treated.

      Doug and Vivian Cline

      First of all, the staff and I would like to thank you for your point of view.

      You can be sure I am really sorry about the feeling you had during your short stay to the hôtel de la motte picquet.

      When you made your reservation previously, you were supposed to stay to the Hôtel de latour maubourg. The renovation took more time and we proposed you the hôtel de la motte picquet . It is true the rooms are not big at all and the one you had espacially. On the other hand, nobody prevented me about your complaint . The two nights charged had been refund to you .

      I could understand you would not recommend any hotels that i am owning but maybe if you want to give us an other chance we would be very pleased to propose you very good deal to the hotel de latour maubourg where the deluxe rooms are big ( 25m2) and the superior one also (20m2)

      Would you received all my apologies again.

      Regards

      Sarah LAUFERON

      Charming little place

      from

      We had a great time at this hotel. The staff were friendly and the rooms were nice and well decorated. The bed was very comfy. The location was awesome. We could walk to the Eiffel Tower every night and watch the sunset and see it light up. It was also very convenient to the Metro and the Rue Cler which was handy for breakfast. We never had breakfast at the hotel as it seemed a few Euros cheaper to get it down the street and then at least you could watch the people go by. There were lots of decent restaurants and cafes nearby too. The room was small and the bathroom tiny and it was a bit noisy but I was expecting that for Paris. It was our first trip to Paris but we've stayed in other big cities before so it seemed comparable.

      We will be back

      from

      It is funny how some have had such terrible stays hear. We had a wonderful stay. Yes the rooms are small, but we came from San Francisco so we are used to small, come on people it is Paris and very densely populated! We had a Superoir double, since I knew the bathroom would be small. We got a good price, we reserved well in advance. 138. for our room. Yes at first Breakfast seemed high, But almost every time we went out for food, if I wanted coffe or espresso it was 4 or 5 Euros and only once was it really good. We thought Great coffe we don't have to go find plus as much as we would like to eat in the morning was not a bad deal.

      Most of the staff is friendly, and were very helpful. some are not the best at social graces. In fact the only one that really gave us any grumpiness was the poor guy who had to let us in at 12:30 and 1:30 two nights in a row.

      When we mentioned that our air conditioner did not seem to be working, and the fridge was rather warm, everything was fine by the time we arrived back that evening, it was on and we had no problems after that.

      Our room faced Rue Cler and yes it could be noisy, but only when the trucks we idling for the lights, solution? Close the window. Since we live in a large city, right oon the cable-car line we sleep with ear plugs, so no problems with niose. In fact we have more problems with neighbors at home in our apartment building than noise in Pairs.

      Our main feeling on going to a foreign country was, we are guests, we should act like them. Things are not going to be the same as they are in our own home. BE polite and even if they are not back who cares, they will not ruin our trip. The whole time we were in Paris (10 days) we had a total of 2 rude people and neither of them worked at the hotel. We will go back! This time we had room 106 blue toile, we saw into room 101 as it was being cleaned, it has the green bed, next time we will request that room.

      To ALL the staff at Motte Picquet,

      Thank you very much for the Champange and strawberrys in our room the first night and for making our honey-moon so wonderful. We will be back in two years, and hopefully most of the same people will be there to greet us again.

      Sophia & Derek

      Not a good place to stay

      from

      "Hotel de Charme" they say. May be but there is no charm at all in the rooms because they are so small and noisy. The hotel is located along the Motte Picquet Avenue and the traffic is crazy. We have had a "superior room", price is 140 euros without breakfast (not exprienced), (10 euros p.p.). Bathroom was also small and not well equipped. And last but not least, staff (except one guy) is not friendly ...

      Good job i didn't pay full attention to previous reviews...

      from

      as i've just returned from this charming little hotel. Reading those reviews after i'd booked (cause i'd just discovered tripadvisor website)-i thought i was entering into a right hell hole. not the case-yes it is small and WAS rather over priced-but i did book at the last minute. It did contain all the amenities i required-and above all it was clean and well appointed. Ok its not the hilton or a le meridian -but it is brilliantly located, clean and was perfectly suitable for my 3 day stay. its a case of 'suck it and see' oneself!

      The biggest mistake of my vacation

      from

      My wife and I spent four nights at the Motte Picquet. The location was great...near the metro...restaurants, etc. but the room was horrible! We had an unairconditioned room on the street side so had to keep the windows open at night...still hotter than h____. But the noise!!!! Trucks, motorcycles, garbage trucks...it was deafening! The "bathroom" of our room was maybe three feet by seven feet with an accordian type door separating it from the bedroom. With the "door"closed, there was not enough room to sit on the commode with your knees straight in front of you. You had to sit "side saddle". When combing your hair, you would hit your elbows on the walls because it was so cramped. The staff was helpful and friendly but I wouldn't recommend this place to my worst enemy. On the way back home, we stayed in Paris one last night at a different hotel...the Hotel Muguet about two blocks away and it was much, much better and absolutely quiet. I saw the pictures posted on the Motte Picquet web site and read some decent reviews of the hotel on tripadvisor but all I can say is --- you can do much better than this!!

      Don't agree with other reviews...had a great time!

      from

      ...but then I have been traveling in Europe for some time and stay in Paris a lot.

      The rooms are quite comparable to what can be found for the same amount of money and up to 20% more expensive. Get used to it, people - - unless you are wanting to spend $250/night (or more), Parisian hotel rooms are small by American standards. If you want to upgrade size and expense, then try the Chambellan-Morgane - - it's a fair deal, increase in size and price are about comparable.

      However, the Motte-Picquet was quite satisfactory...

      The breakfast was superb (yes, the breakfast room is small but I haven't seen many that aren't even at a 50% price increase) and the service was quite attentive.

      Maybe I'm not objective - - I love the 7th - - and the Motte is in the heart of it. Easy access to the Eiffel, the Metro and plenty of nice local patisseries, boulangeries, chocolatieres plus neighborhood markets.

      Other places to stay in the 7th - - comparable value - - are the d'Alma, Deby Eiffel and Le Bourdonnais if you can't get into the Motte.

      What a wonderful home away from home!

      from

      La Motte Picquet is a wonderful spot. Close to the metro, a couple blocks from Champ de Mars and la Tour Eiffel, the find is also located steps from Rue Cler, the perfect 'roll back in time French market street' as an added bonus. The lodging is wonderful and the extras including beautiful linens, decorative touches, and nice staffing make it a great home away from home. The 7th Arr. is full of great hotels--in fact there are probably twenty-five or thirty options within a five block range of this find. If you are challenged by street noise, request a room on the courtyard. If you're like us, and like to wake up with the city in the early hubub of Rue Cler and rue Motte Picquet, take a chance and enjoy the room you draw!

      Anything but a doll house

      from

      My husband and I have just returned from a 4 day stay in Paris. We like many others fell in love with the motte picquet website. Buyer Please Beware!!! Dont get taken in like us.

      The rooms were sooooo small that my husband and I could not be on the same side of the room at the same time. The bathroom might as well have been next to the bed, and our down comforter had a huge horrible red stain on it. The staff was rude and not very receptive to our needs. The breakfast was expensive for what you got and the breakfast room so tiny we were touching elbows with the couple next to us.

      Most of the rooms face the main street which makes it very nosiy in the evening and since the hotel does not have airconditioning you have to keep your windows open at night to keep it cool. Its like sleeping on the highway. Go elsewhere..for the money they charge you can find a better place...

      Disappointed for price

      from

      I just came back from a trip to Paris, spent 3 nights at La Motte Piquet, fell in love with the website. I was especially looking forward to sleeping with a down comforter. Unfortunately not what I expected. The featured lovely rooms are $165euro, I paid $140euro. A total waste of money, granted the bathroom was new, however there was not a door, only an accordion slider and drape, if you closed the accordion and sat on the toilet your knees would push the accordion slider out into the room. Was lucky enough to get a cancellation at the Champ de Mars, wow, now there is value for your dollar. $76euro for two, lovely rooms and a nice size bathroom with a tub and a door. Many other hotels at $90euro that are more value for your dollar than the overpriced $140euro at La Motte Piquet.

      TripAdvisor Reviews Hotel Motte Picquet Paris

      4.50 of 5 stars Outstanding
       

      Travel Blogs from Paris

      Paris

      A travel blog entry by guidos-blog on Dec 16, 2014

      6 photos

      Well it was a pretty full on day today. After a bit of a late start we had a late breakfast after walking to the Eiffel Tower. After that we walked up to the Arc Triumph and it is pretty impressive to say the least. We then started off down the Champs Élysées and it had every big name shop that you could think of, but we will get to the …

      The CIty of Lights

      A travel blog entry by jklezok on Oct 09, 2014

      53 photos

      ... The Louvre was opened to the public in 1793 under Louis XVI so that the public could see the collection of the royal paintings. After the fall of the Second Empire in 1870 the Louvre became a public building. Many upgrades were done throughout the following decades, with more and more halls opening to the public. Okay enough history! Many of the sculptures are very life like and I am amazed at how the artist could take a hunk of marble and turn it into something so ...

      Cannes to Paris - ooh la la!

      A travel blog entry by kfridd on Jul 21, 2014

      5 photos

      ... mansions with huge swimming pools by the coast. There is big money to be found along this coastline! Halfway through France in the middle it was green paddocks, flat, and pouring with rain. Pity. We passed the time reading, listening to music, sleeping, eating/drinking, and then having an awesome game of charades on the iPad. Good ...

      Paris - Oui Oui (wee wee)

      A travel blog entry by farrugia2europe on Jun 06, 2014

      17 photos

      ... over crowding) and that we could still get to the 2nd floor. So we did. Quite enjoyable panoramic views of paris city! It was plenty high for kayla being 115m off the ground!

      We wanted something French for dinner and stumbled upon this old style French bistro called chartier! High ceilings, old school decor, home style French food and quick service. Had a great meal here - we shared a meat platter (salami, prosciutto and pickle) and a French style Camembert cheese ...

      Versailles Palace and a Train to Paris

      A travel blog entry by jmuir82 on May 13, 2014

      33 photos

      ... central Paris, other than the Eiffel Tower, and you can go up to the roof observation deck on the 59th floor. From here you have great panoramic views of how Paris is laid out and the Eiffel Tower. From here we decided to get in the Riverboat Tour tonight. We timed this perfectly. It was sunset as the boat left the dock for the 1.5hr tour down the Seine. We saw the Paris landmarks lit up by floodlights after the sun set. We were at the part in the tour when ...