Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront

Address: 137 Kings Road, Brighton, East Sussex, England, BN1 2JF, United Kingdom | 3 star hotel
 
Searching for availability...
*Prices above are provided by partners for one room, double occupancy and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
 

How has this hotel rated in the past?

  What's this?
Discover trends in hotel experiences based on real traveler reviews and ratings. Mouse over circles to see what some travelers had to say.

Location

This 3 star hotel, located on 137 Kings Road, Brighton, is near Old Market Arts Centre, The "Doughnut, Body & Soul Health & Beauty, and Artists' Quarter.
Map this hotel

Description

   

Historical Traveler Reviews Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront

What a Dump!!!!

from

I stay away on average 2 days a week in hotels. I had the misfortune to stay at this hotel. The room and decor of the hotel is dated and filthy. I understand the hotel is going through a refurb process starting in July, however there is no excuse for dirty shower curtains, dirty grout and stained carpets. Also the stale smell in the room was terrible --I complained to Holiday Inn about this --and got a reply from the Hotel manager to state that the reduced Internet Rate of £80 a night reflected this state ---do yourself a favour stay at the Hilton or Travel Inns for way better value and more cleanliness

Stay its fine low cost but in some need of repair

from

I stayed at the hotel for a short break with friends.

I paid £58 per night for a double room, £10 for breakfast and £15 parking. This still represented a lower cost than nearly all the hotels in Brighton.

The hotel has been recently taken over and the rooms are in need of repair. The public areas are not they are very well appointed.

Although in some need of repair, the hotel is immaculately clean and the staff very helpful. Examples of the need for repair in my room were a scratched sink, crinkled wall paper and cut blind. All very minor things.

The service is good and if your anyone apart from the fussiest that spend more time checking the décor rather than enjoying yourself the hotel is great.

Don't stay here until it is refurbished!

from

I booked the Holiday Inn for 2 nights for my partner and I to spend a long weekend a chance to chill and relax. I booked a Superior King Size Room at £148 pn

On arrival, we were taken to the room on the first floor (then we realised what they meant when they apologised for the mess in the hotel). The lock on the adjoining door was broken and went straight through into the room that was in the midst of a refurbish complete with wires hanging out and dustsheets and the door in that room was unlocked. Fearing for security and glad that we had no small children that could have inadvertently strayed we asked to move rooms.

In fairness the staff were helpful and moved us to a less superior room on the fourth floor. The room had the windowsil hanging off, mould in the bathroom and the carpets were filthy.

The hotel was full so with little chance of moving resigned ourselves to the fact that we had to put up with it.

On leaving (and I don't think we were the only guests to complain this weekend) we did managed to secure some compensation for our inconvenience and downgrade. Although and I quote "you obviously have very high standards madam as we have only had 2 or 3 complaints about that room in the last year".... perhaps that is three complaints too many!

Having said all that the hotel staff were very helpful in resolving this... but I personally wouldn't stay here again until they have refurbed it.

Don't Bother!

from

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Brighton for 1 night in December 2005 and found the staff unfriendly and downright rude. Be warned, there are lots of extras to pay on top of your initial bill. Car parking is £10 extra and the cost of breakfast which is not on display, is £14.99. This may be acceptable if the breakfast hadn't been cold and lank almost as if it had been cooked the night before. I made polited comments on this not being acceptable but the response was 'I'll pass on your comments'.

VIP Treatment

from

I am an Intercontinental Priority Club member, and stayed at the hotel with my wife to celebrate our anniversary. We booked their 'Winter Sale' deal at £35per person dinner, bed & breakfast. The receptionist gave us an upgrade to a sea-view room and we had a complimentary hamper delivered to our room by the Duty Manager. We had a fantastic time and were made to feel like VIPs. The staff were very friendly and the food was great. We look forward to returning next year.

A Bright Future

from

I am a regular user of the Holiday Inn in Brighton due to business, and was also a regular user of the hotel when it was part of the Hilton chain (at least 10 times per month).

Over the last couple of months I have really started to see the difference the Holiday Inn brand is having on this hotel. After years of neglect under Hilton, it is now getting the TLC that it deserves. Service has improved, food quality is great and they are now in the process of refurbishing all of their rooms. Its great to see a one of Brighton's major hotels actually invest some serious money (over 3.5 million I believe). I look forward to seeing the finished product. Lets hope that other hotels in Brighton take note and follow suit.

A good time was had by all.

from

Six of us have just returned from a 3 day stay over the New Year holiday. Our rooms were more than adequate and very clean, with tea and coffee making facilities and loads of hot water for showers or baths.

Staff were outstandingly helpful and professional,suggesting and booking restaurants for us. Breakfasts were wonderful.

Re-furbishments are planned and we look forward to our return visit when we expect to be able to upgrade our review to EXCELLENT.

Good Hotel to stay in

from

Great location for going to the shops and nightlife. Hotel is a bit run down but is being re-furbished very soon. Public areas have be re-decorated which makes the reception/lounge area look very good. We were up-graded to a suite which was lovely, never stayed in such a big bedroom!!

The Receptionist needs a personality transplant but apart from that we had a very enjoyable stay.

Awful hotel - do not stay!

from

I stay in Holiday Inns all over the world.

Holiday Inn, Brighton, has got to rate as the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

There was mould growing around the bath in the room. The paint was all cracked and peeling off the ceiling in the bathroom.

The walls are paper thin. You can hear someone in the next door room flush the toilet!

The hotel is very noisy generally.

The double glazing does not shut out the noise of police and ambulances driving along the road outside with their emergency sirens blazing all night.

Not bad at all

from

Spent three nights in the hotel as part of a conference.

Overall the hotel is quite nice. The room I had was on the second floor and overlooked a street at the side so the view wasnt all that great but then I hadnt paid a premium for it so didnt mind at all.

The room was a clean and tidy and at a good temperature when I arrived. It had all the usual amenities (tv, clock radio, trouser press, coffee facilities) which again were all in good order.

The bed was very comfortable and I had three good nights sleep aided by the fact that (whilst I was staying at least) the hotel was quiet as was the street outside.

The room itself was a little tired looking but the good news is that Holiday Inn have only recently bought the hotel and are planning to renovate in early 2006 so I would imagine that things will greatly improve on top of the solid base they already have.

The breakfast room was very pleasant with a good standard of buffet breakfast and a nice view of the sea.

Hotel parking is limited and was full (cost is £12 a day) but there is an NCP carpark at £11.60 a day a minutes walk away so no problems there.

Also one street down there is a run of restaurants catering to most tastes so plenty of opportunity to eat out near the hotel if you dont want to go into Brighton centre.

All in all a very pleasant stay and would definitely consider coming back.

TripAdvisor Reviews Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront

3.00 of 5 stars Good
 

Travel Blogs from Brighton

A Day at Brighton Beach

A travel blog entry by ian.case on Jan 10, 2015

4 photos

... rest of the family went to the Toy and Train Museum under the railway line at Brighton Station. We all meet up again to walk down the street markets that Ian discovered on the way back from the car. Tristan finally bought some boots, There was a really good curios shop called Snoopers which was packed with most things that you could think of - a cross between an op shop, antique, and collectors haven.
By the time were made ...

Oh I do like to be beside the seaside...

A travel blog entry by jenneysontour on Apr 11, 2014

17 photos

Started off with a yummy bacon and egg buttie at our local Cab Shelter - I lived here for 10+ years without even registering these things - I learned from a special book about these funny green boxes that are sometimes in the middle if the road near taxi ranks. They are 'shelters' for cabbies - where they can park up and get a quick cheap feed and a hot drink for less than £5.

Non cabby folk can buy from the ...

Packing for a family of 4 for a four month trip!

A travel blog entry by roaming_edwards on Jan 20, 2014

2 photos

... shorts 2x my dresses 2x easy access feeding strappy tops (for popping over a bikini for more discreet feeds) 4x normal tops 1x extra bra 1x bikini 1x swim suit 1x nighty and night shorts 7x knickers (I'll be wearing leggings, loose long sleeved top, sandals and light rain jacket on the plane) 4x spens tshirts 2x vest type tops 3x shorts (board shorts that double for swimming) 1x extra swim shorts 5x boxers 1x hat (Spen will be wearing jeans- that he'll dump in Bangkok- a loose ...

Spain to Montreal - 2 nights sleeping in airports

A travel blog entry by archerboy on Jun 06, 2010

5 photos

... had no accommodation booked I made the decision to sleep in Montreal airport and make the journey into the center of downtown the next morning. It turned out to be an amazing place to sleep and I got a quality 7 hours of solid, uninterrupted sleep. I found an upstairs waiting room with lots of joined chairs without arm rests. So I slept there until 6am when the sun was up before heading into Montreal feeling nice and ...

Saturday 6 September

A travel blog entry by manningnz on Oct 12, 2008

... almost as if we had never been away! Sadly after lunch we decided to head off as we had another friend, Mark to see before heading back to Reigate. Mark Rogers is another old friend of Steve's who was married to Julie but isn't any more. He lives in Sevenoaks with his partner Karen. We went and visited them for about and hour ...