Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront

137 Kings Road, Brighton, East Sussex, England, BN1 2JF, United Kingdom | 3 star hotel
Searching for availability...
*Prices above are provided by partners for one room, double occupancy and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
 

Travel Blogs from Brighton

Not-so bright Brighton

A travel blog entry by naomithinksit

2

... bought 2 pairs of shorts and a swim suit. The swim suit is awesome because it has in built shorts, so comfy!

We lunched in a tiny restaurant that winds its way up three floors in poky little corners, with almost no room to move. It was a buffet with all sorts of foods, and most of the time I wasn't even sure what I was eating, for example one of the dishes looked like chicken but tasted like fruit, but ...

Fun with the Whanau

A travel blog entry by naomithinksit

1

... warren. Endless white tunnels and left turns. Finally made it out and home to my uncle's place.

Rested up for most of the morning until it was time for the kids to come home from school, and after some episodes of Arthur (Holly's favourite) then it was time for a visit by my grandparents and a family friend. The best part was getting to dole out early christmas presents! Turns out ...

Brighton

A travel blog entry by slbrown17

10

Friday morning we had set our alarm for 8, but the Italian girls decided to wake up at 7 and start packing everything which woke up everyone. Obviously the day didn't start the way we planned, but we did get everything packed early. At breakfast we met Matt, an Australian, who was traveling all over since May. I was shocked because he planned on spending 10 days in Bangkok by himself.

Our train left at 10:06 so we planned on leaving to ...

A week end and a bit in Brighton on sea

A travel blog entry by beoms

23

... Tom and Gwen had to leave early so the four of us decided to go for a walk along toward the east. We found a crazy golf on the way and decided to have a go. Andrew won and couldn't stop backing about it. Later on Karen and Mark left, so Andrew and I were alone together again. We dedicated the rest of the day to our respective computer/book.

Monday was a beautiful sunny day. Brighton is actually a nice town, with many different neighborhood. The South Laines ...

So long, farewell...

A travel blog entry by samlisa

10

... drivers are hilarious (or really grumpy if it's a late* night cab) & love driving to Orange Wings hotel. (* late being around 10.45pm)
5. Cyclists look at you strangely when you work the less popular parts of the Danube way.

  • 6. All road users look at you strangely when you walk along the road to the hotel.
  • 7. The above comment is especially true when you are laden with luggage.
  • 8. I discovered I like soda water! Who would have thought after all these ...

    How has this hotel rated in the past?

      What's this?
    Discover trends in hotel experiences based on real traveler reviews and ratings. Mouse over circles to see what some travelers had to say.

    Location

    This 3 star hotel, located on 137 Kings Road, Brighton, is near Old Market Arts Centre, The "Doughnut, Body & Soul Health & Beauty, and Artists' Quarter.
    Map this hotel

    Amenities

      More great choices in Brighton

      Search TripAdvisor for more deals in Brighton

         

      Historical Traveler Reviews Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront

      What a Dump!!!!

      from

      I stay away on average 2 days a week in hotels. I had the misfortune to stay at this hotel. The room and decor of the hotel is dated and filthy. I understand the hotel is going through a refurb process starting in July, however there is no excuse for dirty shower curtains, dirty grout and stained carpets. Also the stale smell in the room was terrible --I complained to Holiday Inn about this --and got a reply from the Hotel manager to state that the reduced Internet Rate of £80 a night reflected this state ---do yourself a favour stay at the Hilton or Travel Inns for way better value and more cleanliness

      Stay its fine low cost but in some need of repair

      from

      I stayed at the hotel for a short break with friends.

      I paid £58 per night for a double room, £10 for breakfast and £15 parking. This still represented a lower cost than nearly all the hotels in Brighton.

      The hotel has been recently taken over and the rooms are in need of repair. The public areas are not they are very well appointed.

      Although in some need of repair, the hotel is immaculately clean and the staff very helpful. Examples of the need for repair in my room were a scratched sink, crinkled wall paper and cut blind. All very minor things.

      The service is good and if your anyone apart from the fussiest that spend more time checking the décor rather than enjoying yourself the hotel is great.

      Don't stay here until it is refurbished!

      from

      I booked the Holiday Inn for 2 nights for my partner and I to spend a long weekend a chance to chill and relax. I booked a Superior King Size Room at £148 pn

      On arrival, we were taken to the room on the first floor (then we realised what they meant when they apologised for the mess in the hotel). The lock on the adjoining door was broken and went straight through into the room that was in the midst of a refurbish complete with wires hanging out and dustsheets and the door in that room was unlocked. Fearing for security and glad that we had no small children that could have inadvertently strayed we asked to move rooms.

      In fairness the staff were helpful and moved us to a less superior room on the fourth floor. The room had the windowsil hanging off, mould in the bathroom and the carpets were filthy.

      The hotel was full so with little chance of moving resigned ourselves to the fact that we had to put up with it.

      On leaving (and I don't think we were the only guests to complain this weekend) we did managed to secure some compensation for our inconvenience and downgrade. Although and I quote "you obviously have very high standards madam as we have only had 2 or 3 complaints about that room in the last year".... perhaps that is three complaints too many!

      Having said all that the hotel staff were very helpful in resolving this... but I personally wouldn't stay here again until they have refurbed it.

      Don't Bother!

      from

      I stayed at the Holiday Inn Brighton for 1 night in December 2005 and found the staff unfriendly and downright rude. Be warned, there are lots of extras to pay on top of your initial bill. Car parking is £10 extra and the cost of breakfast which is not on display, is £14.99. This may be acceptable if the breakfast hadn't been cold and lank almost as if it had been cooked the night before. I made polited comments on this not being acceptable but the response was 'I'll pass on your comments'.

      VIP Treatment

      from

      I am an Intercontinental Priority Club member, and stayed at the hotel with my wife to celebrate our anniversary. We booked their 'Winter Sale' deal at £35per person dinner, bed & breakfast. The receptionist gave us an upgrade to a sea-view room and we had a complimentary hamper delivered to our room by the Duty Manager. We had a fantastic time and were made to feel like VIPs. The staff were very friendly and the food was great. We look forward to returning next year.

      A Bright Future

      from

      I am a regular user of the Holiday Inn in Brighton due to business, and was also a regular user of the hotel when it was part of the Hilton chain (at least 10 times per month).

      Over the last couple of months I have really started to see the difference the Holiday Inn brand is having on this hotel. After years of neglect under Hilton, it is now getting the TLC that it deserves. Service has improved, food quality is great and they are now in the process of refurbishing all of their rooms. Its great to see a one of Brighton's major hotels actually invest some serious money (over 3.5 million I believe). I look forward to seeing the finished product. Lets hope that other hotels in Brighton take note and follow suit.

      A good time was had by all.

      from

      Six of us have just returned from a 3 day stay over the New Year holiday. Our rooms were more than adequate and very clean, with tea and coffee making facilities and loads of hot water for showers or baths.

      Staff were outstandingly helpful and professional,suggesting and booking restaurants for us. Breakfasts were wonderful.

      Re-furbishments are planned and we look forward to our return visit when we expect to be able to upgrade our review to EXCELLENT.

      Good Hotel to stay in

      from

      Great location for going to the shops and nightlife. Hotel is a bit run down but is being re-furbished very soon. Public areas have be re-decorated which makes the reception/lounge area look very good. We were up-graded to a suite which was lovely, never stayed in such a big bedroom!!

      The Receptionist needs a personality transplant but apart from that we had a very enjoyable stay.

      Awful hotel - do not stay!

      from

      I stay in Holiday Inns all over the world.

      Holiday Inn, Brighton, has got to rate as the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

      There was mould growing around the bath in the room. The paint was all cracked and peeling off the ceiling in the bathroom.

      The walls are paper thin. You can hear someone in the next door room flush the toilet!

      The hotel is very noisy generally.

      The double glazing does not shut out the noise of police and ambulances driving along the road outside with their emergency sirens blazing all night.

      Not bad at all

      from

      Spent three nights in the hotel as part of a conference.

      Overall the hotel is quite nice. The room I had was on the second floor and overlooked a street at the side so the view wasnt all that great but then I hadnt paid a premium for it so didnt mind at all.

      The room was a clean and tidy and at a good temperature when I arrived. It had all the usual amenities (tv, clock radio, trouser press, coffee facilities) which again were all in good order.

      The bed was very comfortable and I had three good nights sleep aided by the fact that (whilst I was staying at least) the hotel was quiet as was the street outside.

      The room itself was a little tired looking but the good news is that Holiday Inn have only recently bought the hotel and are planning to renovate in early 2006 so I would imagine that things will greatly improve on top of the solid base they already have.

      The breakfast room was very pleasant with a good standard of buffet breakfast and a nice view of the sea.

      Hotel parking is limited and was full (cost is £12 a day) but there is an NCP carpark at £11.60 a day a minutes walk away so no problems there.

      Also one street down there is a run of restaurants catering to most tastes so plenty of opportunity to eat out near the hotel if you dont want to go into Brighton centre.

      All in all a very pleasant stay and would definitely consider coming back.

      TripAdvisor Reviews Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront

      3.00 of 5 stars Good