Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront

137 Kings Road, Brighton, East Sussex, England, BN1 2JF, United Kingdom | 3 star hotel
Searching for availability...
*Prices above are provided by partners for one room, double occupancy and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
 

How has this hotel rated in the past?

  What's this?
Discover trends in hotel experiences based on real traveler reviews and ratings. Mouse over circles to see what some travelers had to say.

Location

This 3 star hotel, located on 137 Kings Road, Brighton, is near Old Market Arts Centre, The "Doughnut, Body & Soul Health & Beauty, and Artists' Quarter.
Map this hotel

Amenities

       

    Historical Traveler Reviews Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront

    What a Dump!!!!

    from

    I stay away on average 2 days a week in hotels. I had the misfortune to stay at this hotel. The room and decor of the hotel is dated and filthy. I understand the hotel is going through a refurb process starting in July, however there is no excuse for dirty shower curtains, dirty grout and stained carpets. Also the stale smell in the room was terrible --I complained to Holiday Inn about this --and got a reply from the Hotel manager to state that the reduced Internet Rate of £80 a night reflected this state ---do yourself a favour stay at the Hilton or Travel Inns for way better value and more cleanliness

    Stay its fine low cost but in some need of repair

    from

    I stayed at the hotel for a short break with friends.

    I paid £58 per night for a double room, £10 for breakfast and £15 parking. This still represented a lower cost than nearly all the hotels in Brighton.

    The hotel has been recently taken over and the rooms are in need of repair. The public areas are not they are very well appointed.

    Although in some need of repair, the hotel is immaculately clean and the staff very helpful. Examples of the need for repair in my room were a scratched sink, crinkled wall paper and cut blind. All very minor things.

    The service is good and if your anyone apart from the fussiest that spend more time checking the décor rather than enjoying yourself the hotel is great.

    Don't stay here until it is refurbished!

    from

    I booked the Holiday Inn for 2 nights for my partner and I to spend a long weekend a chance to chill and relax. I booked a Superior King Size Room at £148 pn

    On arrival, we were taken to the room on the first floor (then we realised what they meant when they apologised for the mess in the hotel). The lock on the adjoining door was broken and went straight through into the room that was in the midst of a refurbish complete with wires hanging out and dustsheets and the door in that room was unlocked. Fearing for security and glad that we had no small children that could have inadvertently strayed we asked to move rooms.

    In fairness the staff were helpful and moved us to a less superior room on the fourth floor. The room had the windowsil hanging off, mould in the bathroom and the carpets were filthy.

    The hotel was full so with little chance of moving resigned ourselves to the fact that we had to put up with it.

    On leaving (and I don't think we were the only guests to complain this weekend) we did managed to secure some compensation for our inconvenience and downgrade. Although and I quote "you obviously have very high standards madam as we have only had 2 or 3 complaints about that room in the last year".... perhaps that is three complaints too many!

    Having said all that the hotel staff were very helpful in resolving this... but I personally wouldn't stay here again until they have refurbed it.

    Don't Bother!

    from

    I stayed at the Holiday Inn Brighton for 1 night in December 2005 and found the staff unfriendly and downright rude. Be warned, there are lots of extras to pay on top of your initial bill. Car parking is £10 extra and the cost of breakfast which is not on display, is £14.99. This may be acceptable if the breakfast hadn't been cold and lank almost as if it had been cooked the night before. I made polited comments on this not being acceptable but the response was 'I'll pass on your comments'.

    VIP Treatment

    from

    I am an Intercontinental Priority Club member, and stayed at the hotel with my wife to celebrate our anniversary. We booked their 'Winter Sale' deal at £35per person dinner, bed & breakfast. The receptionist gave us an upgrade to a sea-view room and we had a complimentary hamper delivered to our room by the Duty Manager. We had a fantastic time and were made to feel like VIPs. The staff were very friendly and the food was great. We look forward to returning next year.

    A Bright Future

    from

    I am a regular user of the Holiday Inn in Brighton due to business, and was also a regular user of the hotel when it was part of the Hilton chain (at least 10 times per month).

    Over the last couple of months I have really started to see the difference the Holiday Inn brand is having on this hotel. After years of neglect under Hilton, it is now getting the TLC that it deserves. Service has improved, food quality is great and they are now in the process of refurbishing all of their rooms. Its great to see a one of Brighton's major hotels actually invest some serious money (over 3.5 million I believe). I look forward to seeing the finished product. Lets hope that other hotels in Brighton take note and follow suit.

    A good time was had by all.

    from

    Six of us have just returned from a 3 day stay over the New Year holiday. Our rooms were more than adequate and very clean, with tea and coffee making facilities and loads of hot water for showers or baths.

    Staff were outstandingly helpful and professional,suggesting and booking restaurants for us. Breakfasts were wonderful.

    Re-furbishments are planned and we look forward to our return visit when we expect to be able to upgrade our review to EXCELLENT.

    Good Hotel to stay in

    from

    Great location for going to the shops and nightlife. Hotel is a bit run down but is being re-furbished very soon. Public areas have be re-decorated which makes the reception/lounge area look very good. We were up-graded to a suite which was lovely, never stayed in such a big bedroom!!

    The Receptionist needs a personality transplant but apart from that we had a very enjoyable stay.

    Awful hotel - do not stay!

    from

    I stay in Holiday Inns all over the world.

    Holiday Inn, Brighton, has got to rate as the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

    There was mould growing around the bath in the room. The paint was all cracked and peeling off the ceiling in the bathroom.

    The walls are paper thin. You can hear someone in the next door room flush the toilet!

    The hotel is very noisy generally.

    The double glazing does not shut out the noise of police and ambulances driving along the road outside with their emergency sirens blazing all night.

    Not bad at all

    from

    Spent three nights in the hotel as part of a conference.

    Overall the hotel is quite nice. The room I had was on the second floor and overlooked a street at the side so the view wasnt all that great but then I hadnt paid a premium for it so didnt mind at all.

    The room was a clean and tidy and at a good temperature when I arrived. It had all the usual amenities (tv, clock radio, trouser press, coffee facilities) which again were all in good order.

    The bed was very comfortable and I had three good nights sleep aided by the fact that (whilst I was staying at least) the hotel was quiet as was the street outside.

    The room itself was a little tired looking but the good news is that Holiday Inn have only recently bought the hotel and are planning to renovate in early 2006 so I would imagine that things will greatly improve on top of the solid base they already have.

    The breakfast room was very pleasant with a good standard of buffet breakfast and a nice view of the sea.

    Hotel parking is limited and was full (cost is £12 a day) but there is an NCP carpark at £11.60 a day a minutes walk away so no problems there.

    Also one street down there is a run of restaurants catering to most tastes so plenty of opportunity to eat out near the hotel if you dont want to go into Brighton centre.

    All in all a very pleasant stay and would definitely consider coming back.

    TripAdvisor Reviews Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront

    3.00 of 5 stars Good
     

    Travel Blogs from Brighton

    Mini Golf + Captain America

    A travel blog entry by lea.lenk on Aug 08, 2014

    The first week in England ends...
    In Activity we were going to Mini Golf, it was very funny, because it was Pirates Mini Golf ;) But I must say: German Mini Golf is better, it´s more interesting and difficult...
    At the lessons we were watching "Captain America", now we have to write a review of 300 words for the movie....
    ...

    Leafy Surrey and Seaside

    A travel blog entry by afromont on Jun 28, 2014

    25 photos

    ... off white cliffs of the Sussex coast and drifting off to the sound of laughter and seagulls. The kids ate ice creams and candy floss and all was happy with the world! Late afternoon we picked up Moira and went to visit her lovely horses and walk around the farm, to get a great view of the surrounding rolling hills and countryside. Item two on the wildlife list conveniently made an appearance and was ticked off - a red fox appeared not far in front of us and ...

    Brighton Day Out

    A travel blog entry by larissajcroom on May 25, 2014

    23 photos

    A beautiful sunny autumn day in England deserves a beach side day trip!

    A group of 6 expat Aussies; Abby, Amanda, Brad, Josh, Kate and I made our way on the coach to the sea for the day. Meandering the lane ways and markets, sitting on the pebble beaches and for the crazy others, jumping in the 10degree ocean for a swim!

    The day wouldn't be complete without a trip to the funfair on the pier and an off licence session in the park! What a perfect Sunday!
    ...

    Demise Of An Icon

    A travel blog entry by travelnshit on Feb 05, 2014

    27 photos

    ... for fire sticks and juggling attach slacklines to the posts that used to support the structure and show off their balance. So far I've not attempted either of these. I was stuck behind a beach bar for Paddle Round The Pier last year, and it's impossible to look cool whilst slacklining when you have the coordination of a badger on ketamine.

    It's used as a landmark to kayak to and as a place to ...

    Oh what a night

    A travel blog entry by samlisa on Sep 12, 2009

    23 photos

    ... Mike and Tim compared face painting, and Mike conceded to being second best on the day as he only had his face painted. One of Sue Smith's group arrived shortly after the Handleys with his body painted with a Sue Smith shirt - very impressive. We found Jo in the crowd and got our tickets, and a box of FA pens to hand out. Not the most exciting thing to try and give out to the crowds, but we shortly saw that a whole pile of them had been put on the floor for people to ...