Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront

Address: 137 Kings Road, Brighton, East Sussex, England, BN1 2JF, United Kingdom | 3 star hotel
 
Searching for availability...
*Prices above are provided by partners for one room, double occupancy and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
 

How has this hotel rated in the past?

  What's this?
Discover trends in hotel experiences based on real traveler reviews and ratings. Mouse over circles to see what some travelers had to say.

Location

This 3 star hotel, located on 137 Kings Road, Brighton, is near Old Market Arts Centre, The "Doughnut, Body & Soul Health & Beauty, and Artists' Quarter.
Map this hotel

Amenities

       

    Historical Traveler Reviews Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront

    What a Dump!!!!

    from

    I stay away on average 2 days a week in hotels. I had the misfortune to stay at this hotel. The room and decor of the hotel is dated and filthy. I understand the hotel is going through a refurb process starting in July, however there is no excuse for dirty shower curtains, dirty grout and stained carpets. Also the stale smell in the room was terrible --I complained to Holiday Inn about this --and got a reply from the Hotel manager to state that the reduced Internet Rate of £80 a night reflected this state ---do yourself a favour stay at the Hilton or Travel Inns for way better value and more cleanliness

    Stay its fine low cost but in some need of repair

    from

    I stayed at the hotel for a short break with friends.

    I paid £58 per night for a double room, £10 for breakfast and £15 parking. This still represented a lower cost than nearly all the hotels in Brighton.

    The hotel has been recently taken over and the rooms are in need of repair. The public areas are not they are very well appointed.

    Although in some need of repair, the hotel is immaculately clean and the staff very helpful. Examples of the need for repair in my room were a scratched sink, crinkled wall paper and cut blind. All very minor things.

    The service is good and if your anyone apart from the fussiest that spend more time checking the décor rather than enjoying yourself the hotel is great.

    Don't stay here until it is refurbished!

    from

    I booked the Holiday Inn for 2 nights for my partner and I to spend a long weekend a chance to chill and relax. I booked a Superior King Size Room at £148 pn

    On arrival, we were taken to the room on the first floor (then we realised what they meant when they apologised for the mess in the hotel). The lock on the adjoining door was broken and went straight through into the room that was in the midst of a refurbish complete with wires hanging out and dustsheets and the door in that room was unlocked. Fearing for security and glad that we had no small children that could have inadvertently strayed we asked to move rooms.

    In fairness the staff were helpful and moved us to a less superior room on the fourth floor. The room had the windowsil hanging off, mould in the bathroom and the carpets were filthy.

    The hotel was full so with little chance of moving resigned ourselves to the fact that we had to put up with it.

    On leaving (and I don't think we were the only guests to complain this weekend) we did managed to secure some compensation for our inconvenience and downgrade. Although and I quote "you obviously have very high standards madam as we have only had 2 or 3 complaints about that room in the last year".... perhaps that is three complaints too many!

    Having said all that the hotel staff were very helpful in resolving this... but I personally wouldn't stay here again until they have refurbed it.

    Don't Bother!

    from

    I stayed at the Holiday Inn Brighton for 1 night in December 2005 and found the staff unfriendly and downright rude. Be warned, there are lots of extras to pay on top of your initial bill. Car parking is £10 extra and the cost of breakfast which is not on display, is £14.99. This may be acceptable if the breakfast hadn't been cold and lank almost as if it had been cooked the night before. I made polited comments on this not being acceptable but the response was 'I'll pass on your comments'.

    VIP Treatment

    from

    I am an Intercontinental Priority Club member, and stayed at the hotel with my wife to celebrate our anniversary. We booked their 'Winter Sale' deal at £35per person dinner, bed & breakfast. The receptionist gave us an upgrade to a sea-view room and we had a complimentary hamper delivered to our room by the Duty Manager. We had a fantastic time and were made to feel like VIPs. The staff were very friendly and the food was great. We look forward to returning next year.

    A Bright Future

    from

    I am a regular user of the Holiday Inn in Brighton due to business, and was also a regular user of the hotel when it was part of the Hilton chain (at least 10 times per month).

    Over the last couple of months I have really started to see the difference the Holiday Inn brand is having on this hotel. After years of neglect under Hilton, it is now getting the TLC that it deserves. Service has improved, food quality is great and they are now in the process of refurbishing all of their rooms. Its great to see a one of Brighton's major hotels actually invest some serious money (over 3.5 million I believe). I look forward to seeing the finished product. Lets hope that other hotels in Brighton take note and follow suit.

    A good time was had by all.

    from

    Six of us have just returned from a 3 day stay over the New Year holiday. Our rooms were more than adequate and very clean, with tea and coffee making facilities and loads of hot water for showers or baths.

    Staff were outstandingly helpful and professional,suggesting and booking restaurants for us. Breakfasts were wonderful.

    Re-furbishments are planned and we look forward to our return visit when we expect to be able to upgrade our review to EXCELLENT.

    Good Hotel to stay in

    from

    Great location for going to the shops and nightlife. Hotel is a bit run down but is being re-furbished very soon. Public areas have be re-decorated which makes the reception/lounge area look very good. We were up-graded to a suite which was lovely, never stayed in such a big bedroom!!

    The Receptionist needs a personality transplant but apart from that we had a very enjoyable stay.

    Awful hotel - do not stay!

    from

    I stay in Holiday Inns all over the world.

    Holiday Inn, Brighton, has got to rate as the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

    There was mould growing around the bath in the room. The paint was all cracked and peeling off the ceiling in the bathroom.

    The walls are paper thin. You can hear someone in the next door room flush the toilet!

    The hotel is very noisy generally.

    The double glazing does not shut out the noise of police and ambulances driving along the road outside with their emergency sirens blazing all night.

    Not bad at all

    from

    Spent three nights in the hotel as part of a conference.

    Overall the hotel is quite nice. The room I had was on the second floor and overlooked a street at the side so the view wasnt all that great but then I hadnt paid a premium for it so didnt mind at all.

    The room was a clean and tidy and at a good temperature when I arrived. It had all the usual amenities (tv, clock radio, trouser press, coffee facilities) which again were all in good order.

    The bed was very comfortable and I had three good nights sleep aided by the fact that (whilst I was staying at least) the hotel was quiet as was the street outside.

    The room itself was a little tired looking but the good news is that Holiday Inn have only recently bought the hotel and are planning to renovate in early 2006 so I would imagine that things will greatly improve on top of the solid base they already have.

    The breakfast room was very pleasant with a good standard of buffet breakfast and a nice view of the sea.

    Hotel parking is limited and was full (cost is £12 a day) but there is an NCP carpark at £11.60 a day a minutes walk away so no problems there.

    Also one street down there is a run of restaurants catering to most tastes so plenty of opportunity to eat out near the hotel if you dont want to go into Brighton centre.

    All in all a very pleasant stay and would definitely consider coming back.

    TripAdvisor Reviews Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront

    3.00 of 5 stars Good
     

    Travel Blogs from Brighton

    The Big Walk...To the Finish Line

    A travel blog entry by lynnkonieczko on May 24, 2015

    10 photos

    ... 8217;t even warrant a “toe wiggle” as we didn’t have the energy or inclination for that either! I felt very light headed and slightly nauseous for a couple of kms which wasn’t pleasant. It was probably a mixture of low blood sugar and tiredness and I also think I had let my water consumption drop a bit overnight so may have been a little dehydrated as well. I tried to chew on some jelly beans to get my sugar levels up but I had reached jelly ...

    The Ives Close Chapter Inaugural Burn

    A travel blog entry by sg1318 on Mar 09, 2014

    1 comment, 1 photo

    Steve "are we there yet" Coe, finally conceded that having a job as a motor bike courier, for
    9 months 30 years ago, was probably not really the best preparation for a 1400
    mile road trip in a foreign country, so hired a bike for the weekend.

    Thankfully he managed to pull away from the shop without stalling (he hadn't actually mentioned to the bloke in the shop that he'd not ridden a bike in 30 years) and ...

    26 hours to go!!!

    A travel blog entry by alexwhite on Jan 03, 2013

    1 photo

    This is happening!!! Haven't quite grasped the magnitude of the situation up to now. Am currently staring at my small-country-sized rucksack full of my life for the next 19 weeks! Everything. Clothes, books, soap and most importantly..shoes. Had a relaxed last day of packing, shopping and telly. Enjoyed my last night in Brighton town yesterday with all my amazing friends who I am going to miss so horribly!! Lazer quest ...

    Five countries in one day.

    A travel blog entry by imala1945 on May 16, 2011

    1 comment, 1 photo

    THE marathon.

    Left Cologne packed with Biffy's luggage at 10pm on Sunday 15th.
    Objective - to drive to Dunkerque to catch the 4am ferry to Dover, to drive to Horsham,Sussex to Estelle's flat and deliver Biffy. Then to the M3 (Fleet services between J4a and 5) to deliver the spare keys and spare part to the new owner of Nomadine, and then to Chester.

    Note: I am retired - and should not undertake such long trips in one stretch without sleep.
    Trip was ...

    A bit of everything in Brighton

    A travel blog entry by kstylz1984 on Jul 01, 2010

    1 comment

    ... jeans and a billowing floral blouse rampaging on about homosexuality in the medieval period, two young fellers about my age engaged in some in depth conversation, a family of 6 including two little ones and a various assortment of others. It was an interesting night, I had never been in the company of caravaneers and to tell you the truth had very little idea who or what they were..... We spoke a lot about culture and ...