Hilton Bristol Hotel

Address: Woodlands Lane, Bristol, England, BS32 4JF, United Kingdom | 4 star hotel
 
Searching for availability...
*Prices above are provided by partners for one room, double occupancy and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
 

How has this hotel rated in the past?

  What's this?
Discover trends in hotel experiences based on real traveler reviews and ratings. Mouse over circles to see what some travelers had to say.

Location

This 4 star hotel, located on Woodlands Lane, Bristol, is near Blaise Castle House Museum, Portishead Lake Grounds, The Kendleshire Golf Club, and Thornbury Golf Centre.
Map this hotel

Description

   

Historical Traveler Reviews Hilton Bristol Hotel

Dreadful Hotel

from

I recently stayed at the Bristol Hilton on a four day business trip. Dreadful motel like place situated in an industrial wasteland, with most of the car parking spaces taken up by users of the on site fitness suite. Drab and dingy corridors and tired fittings and decor.Minimum towels and one small piece of soap in bathroom. Having ordered a room service cooked breakfast on my first morning, this was delivered late and inedibly cold by a member of staff with minimal English. Room service charges and prices generally are way above average for even a quality four star hotel. This is not a quality four star hotel! Avoid at all costs!

Well...

from

I stayed at the Hilton, with expectations that it would be like all the others, but that was not the case.

The receptionists were not helpful or friendly at all, took them about 5 minutes to even realise we were at reception. The way the rooms are situated are all staring at each other and is again, more like a motel than a 4* hotel. Although the room was fantstic and clean. I think the Hilton is amde more for business men and women than people at the hotel staying at the weekends. Overall though, not impressed on check out, the only time the staff were happy was when we were leaving the hotel.

Quite a good hotel - doesn't deserve all its bad press!

from

I booked this hotel before reading the reviews on this website and when I did read the reviews I was so sorry I'd booked. But the rate I chose was prepayable, so I had to stick with the booking. I'm so glad I didn't have the option to change though, because I found the hotel to be absolutely fine. It wasn't the best 4* hotel I've ever stayed at, but it certainly wasn't the worst.

Before going, I emailed the manager to explain that I was taking a short holiday with an elderly relative and asked for some suggestions about how I could make the stay more enjoyable for her. The manager's response was prompt, efficient and friendly. She suggested I upgrade our rooms for a £20 per room fee and this entitled us to bigger rooms with complimentary wine, fruit, chocolates and bathrobes. The rates for the rooms was £95 each (with the upgrade), including breakfast. I felt that this was a reasonable rate for the standard of hotel and the standard of room.

Service wasn't brilliant, but not too bad. When we arrived, we had to wait over half an hour for our rooms to be ready, despite being told that we would only have to wait 5 minutes and the receptionist didn't bother to keep us informed of progress with the housekeeping of the room. This was really the only bad experience of the trip though. At all other times we found reception staff to be very friendly and helpful. At one time, a receptionist spent 15 minutes helping me with a query and sought help from 3 other members of staff.

The restaurant food was just about acceptable but nothing special.

All in all, I really don't think the hotel is as bad as some of the reviews on this site make it seem. The standard of rooms and decor is good and service, although patchy, is certainly good at times.

Oh and it's in a really convenient location if you're getting to Bristol by one of the main motorways - couldn't be easier to find!

Don't let this spoil the image of Hilton Hotels!

from

I agree with the other reviews that this is nothing more than a motel (at hotel prices), and I wish I had read the reviews here before I went to Bristol. I am surprised that Hilton Hotels would keep this one in its chain because it might ruin the Hilton reputation. I have stayed at Hiltons all over the world, and I am usually impressed by their consistent quality and service; I am in denial that this can even be a Hilton. In addition to being a very expensive motel: (1) our toilet didn't flush (even after someone "fixed" it); (2) there were NO washrags in the bathroom; (3) we supposedly had a "deluxe" room, but it was essentially a Motel 6 room; (4) the reception staff were not helpful/informative at all (we received a lot of shoulder shrugging); (5) the location is terrible--miles away from the city (why is "Bristol" in its name?); (6) there was only instant coffee for ONE person, despite advertising coffee makers in the rooms; and (7) there was no elevator to the second floor. I can go on... If you have already stayed here, and this was your first experience at a Hilton, you should realize that not all Hiltons are run like this.

Glorified motel

from

My family and I stayed here at Easter 2004 and again (because we had no other option) in Autumn 2004.

One member of our party has walking difficulties and angina. Even though we are Hilton HHonors Members with requests for groundfloor rooms, if there is no elevator, on our Hilton HHonors profiles, we were allocated bedrooms on the upper floor. There is no lift, not even a service lift!. Upon requesting rooms on the groundfloor the (indifferent) staff told us that the hotel was full and we could not be moved. We requested non-smoking rooms on both stays and on both occasions had 'smoking' bedrooms. The lounge/seating area is in the centre of the reception and the cloud of smoke from this area permeates all public areas.

If you do not book dinner at the earliest opportunity you will be turned away from the tiny, hotel, restaurant. The menu is uninspiring with very slow service due to insufficient numbers of staff.

Rooms are very depressing and basic. The walls in the public corridors are painted breeze block which reminds me of an iron curtain country public building.

I agree with most of the other reviewers. The staff are indifferent towards the customers. Facilities are those of a second rate motel.

The only good point is that the leisure facility staff are helpful and the pool luxuriously warm.

I would not stay there unless forced to.

Oh - and by the way - the hotel is difficult to find and miles from Bristol city centre.

ITS GOOD !!!!

from

I have just got back from this hotel and before going i read thereports in here and thought

oh goodness

if w had read the reports before booking we would not have gone

first impressions of the hotel were --wow the trip reports were right

we arived early (12 noon) went into reception to see if we could check in early to be met with

no smiles , no welcome in fact no greeting at all

one male member of staff chatting to a friend at the reception abiut his rugby playing and 3 female members of staff talking towards the rear of reception

after a short wait a female staff member came to the desk but with no smile or plesant greeting.

she was wearing a badge that told me she was a trainee but to be honest i did not get cheaper rates because she was not trained properly.

after getting very indiferent service from her i asked for a duty manager and that is when the pleasant stay began -the lady concernd--Rosamond ,i think , was everything management should be .Pleasant , helpful, knowledable and very good at her job.I was at this stage not a happy bunny but she took control of the situation and showed me a couple of rooms (i should add here i have a wheelchair bound daughter and some times the rooms can be a little bit tight for space) not only that she also showed me the disabled facilities in the leisure centre and help me book dinner.

the meal was something i was not looking forward to after the reports in this site --but once more i was very pleasantly surprised.

the service was attentive - i have a food alergy and was offered plenty of assistance and when i could find nothing suitable from the menu for my first course the chef prepared something specially --great service.

the meals were carvery style and while that my not be to everyones taste the food on there was of good quality good and hot and plentiful

during our meal my 1 year old became restless and the staff were very good trying to entertain him and even fetching him some food from the carvery.

Breakfast , again buffet style food good quality , plentiful and hot , service exceptional .

some very nice touches to the self service buffet a very pleasant chef cooked fried eggs freshly as they were requested and even freshly made waffles with a plentiful supply of maple syrup

also plenty of fresh fruit on the buffet

during our stay one night our room was not made up properly but once again a call to the duty manager and the problem was soved within 15 minutes

my overall impression of the hotel is

A GREAT PLACE TO STAY .

we had kids with us and they were great with the kids but we also saw a large proportion of the customers were buisiness people and they all looked to be being looked after well .

i would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel again .

Trying hard but not quite getting there.

from

Clearly a business hotel, it suffers from the fact that it seems to have more bedroom occupancy than the bar, lounge and restaurant can comfortably cope with. The seating area is surprisingly small. and on my stay in August 2004 there was a better selection of food on room service - just a restricted table d'hote menu in the main restaurant.

The staff were very helpful, and fixed a temporary problem with my bathroom plumbing quickly. But overall the hotel had something of a soulless, motel-type ambience.

Motel ambience, slow service

from

This isn't the worst hotel I've ever been to, but it's not great. We arrived around 9.30 to be told that the restaurant had shut but that the bar would do some food for us. But it had stopped doing hot food as well, so all we were left with were sandwiches. But it was the extraordinary wait that really depressed us. A cheese sandwich and a roast beef sandwich took three quarters of an hour to materialise. The lobby area is a bit down at heel, with various missing fixtures and fittings. The whole ambience is much closer to a motel than a hotel.

Rooms are perfectly pleasant. Breakfast was grim - like breakfast in a motorway service station.

Relaxed dining at the Bristol Hilton

from

The most relaxed dining experience ever at the Bristol Hilton. In fact so relaxed I managed to give up smoking due to the length of time I went without a cigarette. Us spaniards are laid back, but the staff at this restaurant are taking the paella! Wine turned up approx 30 mins after order, starters closely followed a mere 20 minutes later (cooked to perfection if you're used to camp-fire/survival-style cuisine) then after an hour and twenty minutes came the Asda 99p range stir-fried chinese delights. The ambience of Chandlers was reminiscent of the days I spent on survival in the Arctic Circle. There was a cold North wind blowing straight at us on our convieniently-right-next to the entrance-situated table. But most Importantly, our waiter should be awarded for his outstanding rapport with guests and diners alike. So visit the Bristol Hilton - not as cheap as Nicotinel but what the hell?

Abysmal service

from

A very comfortable hotel. That is to say, very comfortably the worst service I have ever experienced in a non third-world country. From the moment I checked-in, the staff carried the air of grudgingly fullfilling an obligation to make my stay reasonably pleasant. The rooms are clean and tidy, with most of the facilities you would expect, however the restaurant was sincerely lacking in any ambience, quality of service, and, most surprisingly, quality of food. I am only thankful that I stayed here alone, I would not want my wife to experience what is supposed to be considered a 'break'.

TripAdvisor Reviews Hilton Bristol Hotel

3.50 of 5 stars Very Good
 

Travel Blogs from Bristol

New Zealand 2015

A travel blog entry by miandmah on Jan 09, 2015

Holiday all booked,including coach to Heathrow. Just under 5 weeks to go! Time to plan preparations in detail. Priority,however,is to finalise Marcia's talk to St. Arvans W. I. next week on last years NZ trip. Need to reduce her photo list from the current ...

Not the Dr Who Experience

A travel blog entry by ian.case on Jan 06, 2015

5 photos

Given the "budget" hotel room we wondered what the "budget breakfast would be like. Only a basic "continental" but not too bad. More importantly for the kids in seems, the jam selection included "Nutella" packets.
We walked down to Cardiff Bay to go to the Dr Who Experience. On the way we passed the Millennium Dome and a special place for Tristan - the waterfall sculpture that contained the 'secret' doorway to the Torchwood (a scifi TV series). After ...

Pembroke Castle and Cardiff

A travel blog entry by ian.case on Jan 05, 2015

3 photos

Not a good start to the day, Ian was sick from food poisoning - possibly the beef and ale pie from last night.
It was only a short drive to Pembroke castle. The wind was blowing cold but the castle was well worth the entry fee. We climbed all the towers, walked all the walls, down to the cavern, looked in the dungeon, and up the spiral staircase to the top of the round keep. The castle was in ...

Rice and things, suspension bridge and cider!

A travel blog entry by biancadon2014 on Jul 25, 2014

9 photos

... galaxy chocolate before we left the uk. So he made a pit stop on the way specially. And we got to try it before we left. What seemed like a quick chat in the sunshine and we had to make our way to the airport. And drop off our car and its retarted GPS. Luckily we were able to talk our way out of a huge late return fee, and settled for half. We had already spent way to much money on this leg. Accommodation not included. We lined ourselves up and checked our bags in. Had another ...

Banksy Hunting in Bristol

A travel blog entry by campcleggett on Oct 01, 2013

9 photos

... winning paintings from over the years. Tomorrow we are going to Bath, a town But 10 minutes from here. It has an old bathhouse that was built by the Romans. They were built in in 60 - 70AD, about 2083 years ago. There is alos lots of lovely old buildings there. Well I hope you are all going well. Make sure you write back to me and let me know what you have been doing, I am missing you all alot and wondering what you're up to. Lots of love, Mum ...