Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus

Address: C/ Edgar Neville S/N, Marbella, Costa del Sol, Andalusia, 29660, Spain and Canary Islands | 5 star hotel
 
Searching for availability...
*Prices above are provided by partners for one room, double occupancy and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
 

How has this hotel rated in the past?

  What's this?
Discover trends in hotel experiences based on real traveler reviews and ratings. Mouse over circles to see what some travelers had to say.

Location

This 5 star hotel, located on C/ Edgar Neville S/N, Marbella, is near Puerto Banus Marina, Casco Antiguo (Old Quarter), Los Naranjos Golf Course, and Fly Blue Gran Catamaran.
Map this hotel

Amenities

Photos of Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus

 
    View all photos
         

      Historical Traveler Reviews Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus Marbella

      Do recommend

      from

      Just returned from a 5 night stay at the Guadalpin Banus. The hotel is nearly finished but found it to be excellent. The rooms had everything you wanted in them and if you didnt and you asked the maid, you got it. We travelled with our daughter and the only criticism that she had was that the pool was too deep for her and the kids pool was really quite pathetic and that the pool bar that advertised ice cream didnt actually have any and the nearest shop was some distance away. The view from our room was the greatest you could hope for, it looked onto the beach and sea,with the sun pouring in once we used the remote control to open the blind...

      From an adult point of view,there is nothing else around and you had a five minute walk to go to the petrol station to get a pint of milk.

      I would not say that the hotel is very central, but the courtesy bus would go to Puerto Banus every 30 mins and drop you just near the marina. On the plus side is that the sun beds at the pool were so so relaxing and the towels that you were given were big and fluffy (so no need to take your own!) I cannot understand how people have mentioned before that the staff are not that good. We found them to be more than helpful and they were always on hand to assist in any way possible. The prices for drinks at the pool bar were a bit steep..4E for a glass of fanta, but you were paying for the ambiance.

      Would definitely go back again.

      Has the potential to be great

      from

      Thoroughly enjoyed a two night break in a Junior Deluxe Suite. Very comfortable and with two terraces, one on the roof with a hot tub. Worth pushing the boat out for! Room was very well equipped and with good views of the pool & beach. Excellent breakfast and children well catered for, with a children's menu available for dinner. Found the restaurant staff very friendly, but elsewhere the staff were pretty indifferent. Porterage was inefficient and very slow. Recommend the Mistral Beach Club in front of the hotel for lunch ( not owned by the hotel), for delicious char grilled fish & steaks. The walk along the beach into Puerto Banus takes about 15 minutes ( but the hotel will tell you 5!). Construction still taking place at the hotel but unobtrusive.

      Five star facilities two star staff.

      from

      Wonderfull hotel- brand new though not quite finished. We had a suite with a jacuzzi. For facilities and space you cannot fault it but staff and customer communication is poor - most of the fault though is in the Spanish psyche. When we arrived they couldnt get the room ready in time. the water was also cut off from the hotel although we were not informed and only discovered when we tried to use the facilities in our suite -then it wasnt their fault but the water company so where stood as a guests goodness knows. Next morning we then had the saga of the jacuzzi. Phone call 1- its empty 2- its half full 3- pump noisy 4 pump quiet but off so cant use- just bleed the air! No apologies for ineptitude you just have to keep chasing until the task is complete.

      Overall design is not well thought out - hotel is u shaped around a pool so can be very noisy with kids using it - also problem of people reserving limited sun beds with towels - when the hotel is full there is not enough space or enough sunbeds - no one enforces the notice which states - do not reserve sunbeds with towels.

      I would go back but have to recognise and accept defficiencies-dont expect staff to be sympathetic if there is a problem but excellent faciities and space in suites though not in common areas, if you dont need the staff you will have a wonderfull time!

      Loved the Guadalpin !

      from

      Have just returned from a week at the Gvadalpin and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel was very nice , the highlight being the room. We booked a Junior Suite and it is a must. It had a sitting room come kitchen, bedroom, wardrobe area and bathroom and a fab veranda overlooking the pool. Flat screen t.v.'s and fab bulgari toiletries. Found the breakfast to be excellant. And didn't notice the work going on too much, I would say it is nearly finished.

      The only misleading information is that it is a 5 minute walk from Puerto Banus. It is at least a 15 minute walk along the main road which wouldn't be recommended but they run a shuttle bus in every half and hour, so it doesn't really matter.

      Overall we loved the hotel and would go back tomorrow morning , every bit the 5 * and by the looks of the other hotels one of the best in Puerto Banus.Also found the staff very helpful, we were approached each day of our visit enquiring if everything was okay !

      Good not great

      from

      Just got back from a 3 night stay. Overall, its good not yet 5* however. Its new, the rooms are nice, the bathrooms are good and there is nice Bulgari shower stuff. Had a standard room and that had a great, huge terrace but didnt get the sun. Nice at night to relax on but not great during the day.

      Disappointed with 2 single beds pushed together in my room - no idea if this is standard double but they claimed it was. Not that comfortable. Walls a little thin too - could clearly hear the family next door.

      Nice pool area, decent staff (not top class) but the poolside food was awful and very expensive. Breakfast was fairly good though though it was over EURO20

      Very nice even while construction was going on.

      from

      All the construction should be finished by now (10/2005) so I am sure the hotel and facilities are better than ever. We were there in May, 2005. One pet peeve, smoking is allowed in the breakfast area. Smoking is enough to make me run from anyplace. When I made a point of it and voiced my concern about the smoking, the hotel responded by assuring us that they try to accomodate their smoking guests (at the expense of the non-smokers). Service was a little slow, but we were not in any hurry and this may have been because most of the staff was new.

      The smoking issue aside, I would gladly stay at this hotel again.

      Excellant hotel avaerage service

      from

      me and my partner have just returned from our trip. The hotel is beautiful with excellant facilities. The rooms are beautiful with breath taking views of the sea and beach. The hotel is situated next to the beach However the service is slightly average and could be improved.

      Problems

      from

      My Friend and I returned from the Gvadalpin - Banus 21.09.05. We found the hotel facilities beautiful, the rooms fantastic and the cleanliness second to none. However the down fall was the staff. We found them extremely rude, unfriendly and very slow. This dissapointed us as we felt uncomfortable through out our stay. On departure our bill was incorrect and my credit card debited twice. It took a further 30 mins to rectify this problem. The staff were fighting amoungst them selves and it took at least 3 staff memembers to do one thing which again took 5/10 mins. They also speak no English (apart from reception) and look at you as if you have two heads when you ask for anyting. We tried to speak little Spanish but again this was not welcomed. Last but not least for five star accomadation they should have been more focused on their guests.

      Fantastic 5 Star luxury

      from

      We have just returned from the Guadalpin Banus, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! This is the second time that we have stayed at this hotel and cannot recommend it enough. The service is fantastic, the rooms are beautifully decorated and everything is catered for. Pure luxury!

      5 Star Luxury on Spain's Costa del Sol

      from

      This hotel took my breath away. The amenities are outstanding. The best features went into this hotel from the wall treatments to the beds to the sheets to the woods and materials used in each room. They have thought of everything. You are welcomed with slippers and a robe and delivered chocolates.

      Each room has a balcony that looks out to the sea. Each room also has a minibar, refridgerator, flat screen tv, internet hookup, safe, phone, etc.

      Beachfont property is just outside the hotel and you can have breakfast outside looking out on the beach. The pool is an infinity pool, meaning there are no edges, and there is a full service swim up bar. The staff will even greet you with fruit skewers while you sun bathe for free.

      The staff is indescribable. They will take care of your every need. 24 hours a day room service was awesome, even when we wanted gourmet pasta at 4am once getting home from the very close Puerto Banus nightlife. They will put together outings, call cabs, look up information for you in the city and what to do and book everything for you, even flights and trains for your next destination.

      Probably a five minute walk along the beach and you come across shops, restaurants, grocery, clubs, everything. This is a very upscale community and it shows.

      Everything is nice, elegant and expensive, but well worth it. The hotel is right on the beach and behind it is a towering mountain, it is magnificent. I enjoyed every minute in this hotel, I didn't want to leave.

      I would go nowhere else in Spain to stay in Puerto Banus again and at the Grand Hotel Guadalpin Banus. True 5 star quality!

      TripAdvisor Reviews Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus Marbella

      3.50 of 5 stars Very Good
       

      Travel Blogs from Marbella

      Stunningly beautiful

      A travel blog entry by clareandbuzz on Apr 12, 2015

      7 photos

      ... of the gorge unattainable from on high. Even after the long walk back up we were glad we did it. There was a 3 mile walk down that was to have the best view of the gorge and bridges, but considering it would also be 3 miles back up, we passed on that one.
      Our dinner tonight was at a small neighborhood fish place and we kept it light...especially because on the way home this afternoon we feasted on pastries from a delicious little pastry shop we happened to walk by.
      ...

      Vista after vista

      A travel blog entry by clareandbuzz on Apr 11, 2015

      1 comment

      ... Still less than Buzz's fanta. Total was very reasonable at 22€. I left a 2€ coin on the table. First the owner tried to give it back to me, then when he gave it to the waitress who was shocked, he said "estado unido". In other words...typical Americans! I guess tipping is another thing we haven't gotten the hang of, none or 5% is the norm. Maybe in the next month we'll learn.
      ...

      Marbella, Spain Costa Del sol

      A travel blog entry by wheretheydrive on Jul 31, 2014

      7 photos

      We stayed in Marbella for 6 nights, erin for 4. Internet access in our hotel was not the most reliable so therefore no travel posts. Marbella and Malaga are absolutely beautiful. The mountains surround the area and the beaches are beautiful. We did a full day trip to Gibralter which was really cool. Passing through UK customs to an island that is essentially British! Of course we had fish and chips for lunch. We took the cable car up and ...

      Marbella/Miami/India via Britain

      A travel blog entry by jlimina on Mar 30, 2013

      2 comments, 9 photos

      Tony discovered a wonderful restaurant that just opened in Marbella. Owned by an East Indian group, with wonderful British accents we were determined to go and have lunch. That was the mission for today! But first things first! We left our villa this morning to introduce Kate and Chris to the experience of coffee/chocolate and Churros. Heading out to a local café, we had a blast! I think the owner took a shining to Kate or maybe Chris, we were not sure. We watched ...

      Travel Day - Sevilla to Ronda

      A travel blog entry by louielou on Jul 14, 2012

      2 comments, 6 photos

      ... sauce and goats cheese on bread and some potatoes in garlic sauce. They were all good except for the potatoes, as they were cold - gross! Though they were meant to be like that... I walked around the town a little bit more before it got dark, then sat on the balcony watching the bridge as the lights came on. There was some sort of running race on as we could see a lot of people running across and hear people cheering but it wasn't too long before it was time to ...