Garni Hotel "Berc"

Address: Pod Strazo 13, Bled, 4260, Slovenia | Hotel
 
Searching for availability...
*Prices above are provided by partners for one room, double occupancy and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
 

Location

This hotel, located on Pod Strazo 13, Bled, is near Lake Bled, Vintgar Gorge (Soteska Vintgar), Bled Castle (Grad), and Bled Island.
Map this hotel

Amenities

Photos of Garni Hotel "Berc"

    View all photos
         

      TravelPod Member ReviewsGarni Hotel "Berc" Bled

      Reviewed by monikami

      Peace and tranquility

      Reviewed Apr 1, 2012
      by (1 review) London , United Kingdom Flag of United Kingdom

      Small private hotel, beautiful and clean room, very friendly staff. Highly recommended!

      This review is the subjective opinion of a TravelPod member and not of TravelPod.com.

      Historical Traveler Reviews Garni Hotel "Berc" Bled

      Hotel owner cancelled our reservation because he did not like us!

      from

      We made reservation to this hotel based on several good reviews. We received confirmation two weeks ahead by email. When we arrived finally to the hotel, we complained that we had tough time to find the hotel because of missing signs. The hotel owner responded with antisemitic comments ("people like you ....") and then told us that he will not give us the reserved room (basically cancelling on the spot our hotel reservation). So we had to look at 7 PM for another hotel room at this popular resort.

      Absolutely fabulous!!!!

      from

      We were agroup of 10 intrepid female trekkers from Northumberland looking for good walking and good food, we got it all in Sloveneia! This hotel was beautiful and the staff so friendly and helpful. Spotlessly clean, great continental breakfast and a "trusty" bar for making tea and coffee when ever you liked as well as alcoholic drinks. Although it rained for our first three days ( and i mean RAIN)!! it still didn't dampen our spirits in such lovely surroundings.

      Many thanks to all the staff there, we will definately be back in the future!

      Excellent have booked again!

      from

      Excellent small hotel in quiet location but close to lake and town centre. Staff were extremely helpful. Rooms very well appointed and spotless. Breakfast buffet was very good. We have booked again for February!

      Warm and welcoming - loved it

      from

      5 nights in this hotel were just excellent. The Hotel is set just above the lake, set back in quiet picturesque streets. It is about 3 minutes walk from the lakeshore, and its peaceful location means you can leave the hustle and bustle behind. The rooms are comfortable, well appointed, with TV, phone and lovely bathrooms with power shower. Each room has either a balcony or terrace, and the use of natural materials and traditional style is superb. The entire hotel was spotlessly clean.

      The Hotel is slightly unusual as far as hotels go, as it only offers breakfast in terms of meals. The breakfast is buffet style, and is attended to by the friendly family and their staff. It is the family run nature of this hotel that makes everything from reservation to checking out personal, warm and friendly. There is a bar, which is self-service, and there are plenty of places to eat in bled.

      For the rates, and the service that hotel claims to offer for these rates, I can only rate is as excellent. The hotel offers the use of bikes to go cycling, which is a must to visit Vintgar Gorge and for an early morning cycle around the lake. Bled is fantastic, and this Hotel certainly contributed to sense of complete satisfaction and relaxation on this break. Thanks to Luka and his staff!

      Lovely Hotel

      from

      A truely wonderful hotel to spend a few days. The surroundings were beautiful and superbly tranquil and quiet. This is a place to go if you are looking for a relaxing break and only 5 mins walk into the town. Rooms very clean, TV had many english channels and balcony was very private. Overall excellent value in this beautiful hotel - will definitely come back and hopefully stay for longer the next time.

      Great hotel

      from

      Wonderful Find

      An excellent hotel. Everything I had read before is true. Luka is SOOOO helpful. He lent us maps and generally made us feel like we were visiting his family. The rooms were great. I loved the honesty bar...... just remember to take some small bars of soap as these were not in the room and I had not remembered the showere gel. A very minor complaint but iverall my impression was 100 percent positive. I would definitly recommend this hotel.

      Great hotel!

      from

      I agree with all the positive things in the other reviews. This is a great place to stay - very clean, comfortable, spacious rooms, fabulous breakfast buffet, very helpful staff, convenient, quiet location, free internet access, bikes, honesty bar. Luca, the owner was very friendly and helpful and even drove us to the station on the day we left. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

      Loved the Garni Hotel Berc in Bled, Slovenija!

      from

      My husband and I visited Croatia and Slovenia (by car) in late May 2006. I had looked through Rick Steve's Eastern Europe travel guide that recommended several places but found most of them never even returned our emails. There was a "congress" (i.e. convention) in Lublijana, Slovenia and we weren't able to find a hotel. We drove up to Lake Bled and decided to stop in at the "Mayer" pension that Steve's had recommended in his book. (They never returned the 2 emails I'd sent but I thought maybe they had space.) They were full. A stone's throw from the Mayer pension was a very nice looking, new place "Garni Hotel Berc". To be honest I thought it would be very expensive. However, it was actually less!!! What a find! The proprietor was very welcoming, helpful, friendly -- spoke English fluently. And the entire little hotel was less than a year old. The rooms were wonderful, large private balcony with sitting area, large bathroom. It was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The breakfast room downstairs was great. Food excellent. Everything was spotlessly clean. And they have a free PC sitting out for guests to use. WE WILL DEFINITELY BE BACK and I would never hestitate to recommend to anyone!!!

      Excellent stay

      from

      I stayed at the Garni Hotel Berc at the beginning of May 2006. This is an excellent Hotel, great value for money and is ideally located for for visiting Bled and the surronding area. The Hotel is very clean and the rooms are very comfortable. All the staff, especially Luca were very friendly and helpful. Bled itself is a beautiful area and l hope to return in a few years.

      Friendly, character accommodation

      from

      We choose the Garni Hotel Berc because we didn't want to stay in a charcterless block. What it lacks in some of the amenties of the big hotels it more then makes up for in so many other ways.

      We had problems getting out to Slovenia when we were bumped off our flight by Adria airways. The hotel owner Luka stayed up till past midnight to met us and show us our room (I should point out he had a four week old baby). Not only this but he had prepared a tray of food and drink for us because he thought we'd be tired and hungry after our long day getting there.

      Nothing is too much trouble. If you want to know something or want help just ask and the family running the hotel will help.

      There is internet access and a small library of information on trips and the area. There are also some books which you can exchange with your own once you've read your holiday reads.

      The breakfast room is charming and also houses a honesty bar at one end. You simply write down what you have taken on a slip each evening and pay at the end of your holiday. You can also store your own bits and pieces in one of the fridges. It's a nice spot to sit at the end of the night and play cards or meet other guests.

      There is also a small lawned area directly outside the breakfast room where you can sit in the sun.

      Rooms are very spacious and clean. We drank tap water all holiday and suffered no ill effects at all (we would normally always drink only bottled water). Rooms have satellite tele and a balcony. Showers only but the shower is good. Comfortable chairs on the balcony. Plenty of cupboard storage and fair amount of clothes hangers (although if like me you are a serial over packer you may want to bring just a couple more). Rooms also have a safe and spare blanket.

      Breakfast followed the same format each morning. There are plenty of cold meats, cheese, bread (including a toaster to toast bread), fruit juice, eggs on request, spreads, fresh fruits and wonderful museli options.

      The best restaurant in Bled (Okarina - see my seperate review) is just down the hill (few mins walk) from the hotel.

      We had a very early morning flight on departure. Luka made us a breakfast box to take to the airport. He also came up to our room to personally wish us a safe journey the night before departure and check we had enjoyed our stay.

      If you want to use things like a swimming pool you can pay to use the pool at the Hotel Golf which is a very short walk away. It may be worth noting - for people with mobility issues, that this hotel may not be suitable for you mainly because to get to the lake you have to walk downhill (following the road) or down some steps from Hotel Golf.

      All in all if you are looking for something more traditional then this is the place I'd come back to time and time again.

      TripAdvisor Reviews Garni Hotel "Berc" Bled

      5.00 of 5 stars Outstanding
       

      Travel Blogs from Bled

      Lovely Lake Bled and Slovenia

      A travel blog entry by loopadellas on Sep 08, 2014

      5 photos

      ... I was amazed at the natural beauty of the surroundings and excited by the 6km path around the lark where there were many people walking, running and biking. Boats, paddle boarders, rowers and swans all shared the lake. We finished the day with a lovely meal of tai tai (rice with vegetables and chicken in a savoury sauce) and local libations. The lake looked lovelier by night if that is even possible. ...

      Boats, churches, chairlifts and Gorges

      A travel blog entry by biancadon2014 on Jul 03, 2014

      18 photos

      ... the huge hill down to the entry so we parked up and walked down, saving ourselves the ride up that hill. We paid our entry fee and started the walk along the path. It turns into a wooden path built on the side of the gorge for 2 km all the way to the waterfall. This place was so amazing and such a good temperature. We took a lot of pictures and a lot for other people! We should have started charging money for them! When we got to the waterfall we tried to ...

      Ljubljana

      A travel blog entry by sophevans on Oct 21, 2013

      10 photos

      ... and one of the best things about it is the lack of road traffic in the centre. Everywhere is pedestrian zones only. After demolishing an entire pizza (me), a massive bowl of pasta (Elle) and a huge veggie omelette (Canadian Lindsay) we thought it would be a good idea to walk off our meals by climbing up the hill to the castle. It was a very steep climb, but only took us about 10 minutes. We all took off a few layers at the top. The views were amazing, and we wandered ...

      A Little slice of Heaven

      A travel blog entry by 2aussiesinavan on Aug 25, 2013

      1 comment, 5 photos

      ... neat and ordered, the farms are tidy the crops laid out beautifully everything fresh and sparkling.














      We drove to Lake Bled which is a holidaying 'mecca', a crystal clear lake like those you find in NZ, backdrops of mountains with an island in the centre of the lake with a fairytale castle perched on the top of the rocks. Where ever you are in Bled ...

      Tourist narrowly miss bomb emergency!

      A travel blog entry by mrpearsonchris on Jun 15, 2013

      1 comment, 30 photos

      ... to take a rest day from the motorbikes we took a local bus 12euro return, from almost in front of our hotel. The local bus turned out to be a tourist coach (www.alpetour.si) that took us to a number of intermediate towns via senic rural countryside and smaller villages and town. A feature of the landscape is essentially rural with the growing of small areas, usually less then a hectare of corn,wheat,barley and meadow grass. All the farmers and their families ...