Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area
No availability found through our partners. Please contact the business directly or check some of our recommended alternatives.
How has this hotel rated in the past?
Travelers also recommend:
- More recommendations
Historical Traveler Reviews Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area Orlando
Close to Universal..
We stayed here for 3 nights May 15- May 18 2005. The rooms were adequate for 4 people. They were clean. Staff not all that helpful. The free breakfast was ok it included make your own waffles, bagles, muffins and a variey of pastries and cereals. We were disappointed with the free shuttle service to Universal. To catch the shuttle you had to walk across the street to another hotel. The bus was always full by the time it got there than you had to go to 2 more hotels before finally getting to Universal. So everyday you were standing on the bus packed with people. The pool was ok, the hot tub was luke warm at best and the pool area closed at 10PM. If I were to go to Universal again I would probably look for another hotel as there were many in this same area with compariable rates.
We stayed at this shotel for 2 nights and found it to perfectly fit our needs. It was VERY close to Universal Studios, and in a safe area. The room was spacious and clean, but the bedding had quite a few stains on the bedspread. The breakfast was good (they even had waffles that you could make). I didn't hear any noise through the walls, but I slept with the AC on.
The staff weren't especially helpful, though, and even gave incorrect information about local things.
If you want to stay somewhere close to Universal, this is an OK place. But, there were lots of other hotels rights next to it, just as close, if you'd want a different option.
Very nice hotel
We stayed at this hotel from February 19-22, 2005. We approached our stay at this hotel with some trepidation after reading a couple scathing reviews on TripAdvisor; however, we were very pleasantly surprised by our experience there. The people at the front desk were friendly and helpful. The hotel looks very nice outside and inside. We had absolutely no problem with our room. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. We appreciated having the microwave and small refrigerator. I also liked the location of the hotel off the main drag. We found it to be very quiet, even though there appeared to be lots of kids staying there. The breakfast provided each morning was good. I enjoyed the waffles. The only bad thing was that they had the worse orange juice I have ever tasted in my entire life. Thank goodness they also had apple juice. The only other real negative was that the heater on their heated pool was not functioning during our stay, so we did not get to go swimming. Personally, I would recommend this hotel to others, and I would have no qualms about staying here again myself.
I stayed at this inn Feb. 20 - 24, 2005... having been booked here by the Company's Travel Bureau because the hotels in which I usually stay were booked full. NEVER AGAIN! At checkin, I approached the two young ladies at the desk, who seemed quite "put out" that I should interrupt there "chit-chat." There were a number of problems during my stay, one of which I'll briefly describe. The morning after checkin, I left the room to get a cup of coffee. Upon returning, my key would not allow me to enter. With electronic locks, that is not too much of a surprise....however, when I went to the front desk, I once again met the clerk "with an attitude" who informed me that my credit card had been declined. I have had the same American Express card for thirty years and have never had a problem. Next, I had to go to the phone to call AE. As I'm sure you know, when calling a credit card company, one goes through a "zillion" prompts before being allowed to speak to a human. When I did finally reach a human voice, I was informed by AE that no hotel had attempted to "qualify" my credit card. Following that many minute experience, I returned to the front desk with that information. Next I was accused to using another AE card at checkin!....because the numbers on my card (which I presented, and she "swiped" at checkin) were not (?) the same as those which she had used to validate my stay. FINALLY, I discovered that she had attempted to validate my stay using the Credit Card supplied by the Travel Agent to obtain the reservation. After all of this "bru-ha"...there was no apology, no "I'm sorry for the confusion".....nothing. This place (...with paper thin walls, by the way) could stand some staff re-training and/or possible management change.
When we arrived at 6 PM, we were told the hotel was overbooked even though we had checked 3 times earlier to make sure there were no glitches and they had assured us all was OK as late as 1:30 PM for a 3 PM check-in. Front desk tried to put us in an alternate hotel, but as I was traveling with just my 7 yr-old daughter and had no idea where they were sending us, I refused. We were given the last available room, which smelled strongly of cat urine. (I was warned that the room was a "smoking room/had a bad odor" but front desk didn't correct me when I responded that cigarette smoke doesn't bother me.) Charming, but since we had to leave immediately for a dinner theater reserv. and weren't going to be back until after 11 PM, there wasn't much choice. Got our new room next morning. It was reasonably clean but no exhaust fan in bathroom, so mold was growing on the walls. Nice microwave and refrigerator. Stayed for 6 nights total. Our room overlooked the pool, so it was noisy until around 11. The pool was clean although the common hallways were just gross- stained carpeting everywhere. Ice machines didn't work on floors 2 and 3. Breakfast was decent- lots of choices within the "expanded continental breakfast" definition. Go early to get a seat.
Since I booked room through the Internet, front desk refused to give me a room charge print-out. I was told they weren't allowed and I had to get one through agency through which the room was booked. There are so many budget choices in the Orlando area- I just couldn't see returning here.
Nightmare on Turkey Lake Road
What can I say. This place is terrible. Avoid it like the plague ! Soon as we arrived, they tried to sell us a timeshare...then in got worse. The room was absolutely disgusting - musty, walls and lampshades stained. The bathtub wasn't fit for a dog. They advertise an expanded continental breakfast. I guess this refers to the white bread and cool-aid they try to pass off as orange juice. Many better hotels in Orlando for the same price. No reason to stay in this dump.
We (family of 6) stayed here 12 july 04 to 28 july 04.The staff were very pleasant and helpful.Rooms are a little compact but very clean.Great value for money (breakfast inc) and just across from Universal. 10/10
A great hotel to stay at if visiting Universal's parks. Very easy access to parks, less than a five minutes drive to the parking lots. Very clean rooms, and great breakfast choices. We stayed for four nights 6/6-6/10/04. We would stay here again.
Stayed here for 5 nights in January 2004. The hotel has large rooms and tends to be cheaper than the hotels on International Drive. The hotel was clean and the staff were pleasant. We had to switch rooms after the first night because our bathroom developed a nasty odour like sour milk. There was no problem in switching rooms and the new room was very clean and comfortable for the remainder of our stay. Have stayed here once before and will probably stay there again.
I have stayed at this hotel many times over the past few years and for the money is a very good deal. Very close to Universal and they offer a shuttle. Nice size rooms and a large pool.
TripAdvisor Reviews Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area Orlando
Travel Blogs from Orlando
... me feel really motion sick and I needed to keep my eyes closed to stop me from being sick. I was relieved to get out and get some fresh air, albeit hot air, Passing by then children's section, it looked fantastic for the little ones, but not really anything to hang about for. We moved on to the ET ride, this was like a ghost train but on bikes thru ET land was amusing. When we came out, the parade was about to start. So we found a spot to sit down and watch ...
... We sat behind one row of people just by the curb, so nobody was in front of us as they close the road off for the parade. Perfect! The wait was quite long, but when 9pm arrived the parade began.
They came up Main Street towards us and then round the loop which we were on. It looked fab! The photos I took don't really do it justice, but it was so cool! By now the castle was also lit up against the dark sky which only added to it's beauty! First on the parade ...
... camped in a cat reserve, and did my TEFL qualification while I waited for the rain to stop. When it did, I took a kayak out 10km, found my own Carribbean islands I named Bushy Tits and then had to be pulled back to shore when the current got too strong! Snorkelled with hundreds of sharks and stingrays and visited an incredible marine park seeing lots of wildlife and deecent coral before taking advantage of all you can drink on the way back and forgetting all of that and just ...
... bit on the jealous side I think. There was almost a problem when we discovered that Lambos are made for small people (like me :)), John being 6ft was not at his most comfortable once his helmet was on, but he wasn't going to let something like whacking his head off the roof stand in his way. 6 laps later he had a huge smile on his face and seemed thoroughly delighted with himself, a successful morning. I'm hoping he will write up something ...
... and had great spirit
Cons to Disneyworld trip:
- long flight, walking a lot and only Disney experience, did not get to go to universal, Space Kennedy Center etc.....Disney transportation(does not have a direct bus to Downtown Disney from the parks), therefore we only ended going one evening to T-rex...
- Some staff seemed tired and not interested in helping us out...
Would I go again.... Yes, if the price was right.....:)