Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area

Address: 5617 Major Boulevard, Orlando, Florida, 32819, United States | 3 star hotel
 
Searching for availability...
*Prices above are provided by partners for one room, double occupancy and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
 

How has this hotel rated in the past?

  What's this?
Discover trends in hotel experiences based on real traveler reviews and ratings. Mouse over circles to see what some travelers had to say.

Location

This 3 star hotel, located in the International Drive/Universal/SeaWorld area of Orlando, is near Prime Outlets International Orlando, Prime Outlets - Orlando, and Epcot Divequest.
Map this hotel
       

    Historical Traveler Reviews Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area Orlando

    Close to Universal..

    from

    We stayed here for 3 nights May 15- May 18 2005. The rooms were adequate for 4 people. They were clean. Staff not all that helpful. The free breakfast was ok it included make your own waffles, bagles, muffins and a variey of pastries and cereals. We were disappointed with the free shuttle service to Universal. To catch the shuttle you had to walk across the street to another hotel. The bus was always full by the time it got there than you had to go to 2 more hotels before finally getting to Universal. So everyday you were standing on the bus packed with people. The pool was ok, the hot tub was luke warm at best and the pool area closed at 10PM. If I were to go to Universal again I would probably look for another hotel as there were many in this same area with compariable rates.

    Not bad

    from

    We stayed at this shotel for 2 nights and found it to perfectly fit our needs. It was VERY close to Universal Studios, and in a safe area. The room was spacious and clean, but the bedding had quite a few stains on the bedspread. The breakfast was good (they even had waffles that you could make). I didn't hear any noise through the walls, but I slept with the AC on.

    The staff weren't especially helpful, though, and even gave incorrect information about local things.

    If you want to stay somewhere close to Universal, this is an OK place. But, there were lots of other hotels rights next to it, just as close, if you'd want a different option.

    Very nice hotel

    from

    We stayed at this hotel from February 19-22, 2005. We approached our stay at this hotel with some trepidation after reading a couple scathing reviews on TripAdvisor; however, we were very pleasantly surprised by our experience there. The people at the front desk were friendly and helpful. The hotel looks very nice outside and inside. We had absolutely no problem with our room. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. We appreciated having the microwave and small refrigerator. I also liked the location of the hotel off the main drag. We found it to be very quiet, even though there appeared to be lots of kids staying there. The breakfast provided each morning was good. I enjoyed the waffles. The only bad thing was that they had the worse orange juice I have ever tasted in my entire life. Thank goodness they also had apple juice. The only other real negative was that the heater on their heated pool was not functioning during our stay, so we did not get to go swimming. Personally, I would recommend this hotel to others, and I would have no qualms about staying here again myself.

    ....never again

    from

    I stayed at this inn Feb. 20 - 24, 2005... having been booked here by the Company's Travel Bureau because the hotels in which I usually stay were booked full. NEVER AGAIN! At checkin, I approached the two young ladies at the desk, who seemed quite "put out" that I should interrupt there "chit-chat." There were a number of problems during my stay, one of which I'll briefly describe. The morning after checkin, I left the room to get a cup of coffee. Upon returning, my key would not allow me to enter. With electronic locks, that is not too much of a surprise....however, when I went to the front desk, I once again met the clerk "with an attitude" who informed me that my credit card had been declined. I have had the same American Express card for thirty years and have never had a problem. Next, I had to go to the phone to call AE. As I'm sure you know, when calling a credit card company, one goes through a "zillion" prompts before being allowed to speak to a human. When I did finally reach a human voice, I was informed by AE that no hotel had attempted to "qualify" my credit card. Following that many minute experience, I returned to the front desk with that information. Next I was accused to using another AE card at checkin!....because the numbers on my card (which I presented, and she "swiped" at checkin) were not (?) the same as those which she had used to validate my stay. FINALLY, I discovered that she had attempted to validate my stay using the Credit Card supplied by the Travel Agent to obtain the reservation. After all of this "bru-ha"...there was no apology, no "I'm sorry for the confusion".....nothing. This place (...with paper thin walls, by the way) could stand some staff re-training and/or possible management change.

    Pretty Dreadful

    from

    When we arrived at 6 PM, we were told the hotel was overbooked even though we had checked 3 times earlier to make sure there were no glitches and they had assured us all was OK as late as 1:30 PM for a 3 PM check-in. Front desk tried to put us in an alternate hotel, but as I was traveling with just my 7 yr-old daughter and had no idea where they were sending us, I refused. We were given the last available room, which smelled strongly of cat urine. (I was warned that the room was a "smoking room/had a bad odor" but front desk didn't correct me when I responded that cigarette smoke doesn't bother me.) Charming, but since we had to leave immediately for a dinner theater reserv. and weren't going to be back until after 11 PM, there wasn't much choice. Got our new room next morning. It was reasonably clean but no exhaust fan in bathroom, so mold was growing on the walls. Nice microwave and refrigerator. Stayed for 6 nights total. Our room overlooked the pool, so it was noisy until around 11. The pool was clean although the common hallways were just gross- stained carpeting everywhere. Ice machines didn't work on floors 2 and 3. Breakfast was decent- lots of choices within the "expanded continental breakfast" definition. Go early to get a seat.

    Since I booked room through the Internet, front desk refused to give me a room charge print-out. I was told they weren't allowed and I had to get one through agency through which the room was booked. There are so many budget choices in the Orlando area- I just couldn't see returning here.

    Nightmare on Turkey Lake Road

    from

    What can I say. This place is terrible. Avoid it like the plague ! Soon as we arrived, they tried to sell us a timeshare...then in got worse. The room was absolutely disgusting - musty, walls and lampshades stained. The bathtub wasn't fit for a dog. They advertise an expanded continental breakfast. I guess this refers to the white bread and cool-aid they try to pass off as orange juice. Many better hotels in Orlando for the same price. No reason to stay in this dump.

    Great place

    from

    We (family of 6) stayed here 12 july 04 to 28 july 04.The staff were very pleasant and helpful.Rooms are a little compact but very clean.Great value for money (breakfast inc) and just across from Universal. 10/10

    Great Location

    from

    A great hotel to stay at if visiting Universal's parks. Very easy access to parks, less than a five minutes drive to the parking lots. Very clean rooms, and great breakfast choices. We stayed for four nights 6/6-6/10/04. We would stay here again.

    Nice stay.

    from

    Stayed here for 5 nights in January 2004. The hotel has large rooms and tends to be cheaper than the hotels on International Drive. The hotel was clean and the staff were pleasant. We had to switch rooms after the first night because our bathroom developed a nasty odour like sour milk. There was no problem in switching rooms and the new room was very clean and comfortable for the remainder of our stay. Have stayed here once before and will probably stay there again.

    Great Value

    from

    I have stayed at this hotel many times over the past few years and for the money is a very good deal. Very close to Universal and they offer a shuttle. Nice size rooms and a large pool.

    TripAdvisor Reviews Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area Orlando

    4.50 of 5 stars Outstanding
     

    Travel Blogs from Orlando

    All Disney-d out

    A travel blog entry by lahra on Jul 09, 2015

    17 photos

    ... you know full well you are being manipulated. So after 3 days of consuming only fried or sugary food with plastic cutlery, walking until our feet ache, standing in endless queues, drinking bad American coffee and sweating bucketloads, we have come to the end of our Disney-fest. In some ways we haven't ally touched the sides with so many attractions left un-experienced. But in every way it's been more than enough for Ben and ...

    ..and I would walk 500 more

    A travel blog entry by njbeaglemom on Jan 28, 2015

    1 comment, 40 photos

    We were in no hurry this morning to get out the door, since we knew we had done more than half of Epcot on Monday and were going to be there all day. We took our jackets. The high was only going to be 61 and we knew we'd need them at night. We wore them all day. We started on the right this time and went to The Seas. I love aquariums and we got there in time to see the divers feed the fish. It reminded me of Bora Bora when we went snorkeling and held bread in our fist and we ...

    Day 5 - Three theme parks in the same day!

    A travel blog entry by minaco on Jan 24, 2015

    1 comment

    ... the distance. We had a few snacks in the room for breakfast and then made our way off to the Animal Kingdom. Since we had change the return window for our fast pases, it also meant changing the order of them too. First up was Festival of the Lion King, which in my opinion is one of the best performances from any of the shows put on at any of the four parks. We also stopped for a jalapeño cheese stuffed pretzel for a snack to hold us over ...

    Disney World and more

    A travel blog entry by betschels on Dec 05, 2014

    1 comment, 27 photos

    ... watching with the kids as they have seen nothing like it! Rafa was somewhere with Grandma but she said he enjoyed them too. Definitely a night to remember! We decided to stay on as H, L, J, M and N went home. We continued on doing rides with Ben until midnight. There were pretty much no lines so we just hopped onto the rides. We did Buzz Light Year, carousel, tea cups, phillarmagic, peter pan and more. The kids loved it- it was a treat for them ...

    Tippety tip, tap tap Tippetty tap

    A travel blog entry by jimnunn on Aug 21, 2014

    3 photos

    ... had to do when coming out of the lift was not to take the pushchair with both hands and carefully and safely manoeuvre it around the people waiting to get in the lift, no the most important thing was to vaguely and blindly push the pushchair out of the lift whilst texting her horoscope to her friend in Alberqueque (or wherever).
    And this brings me to the main subject of my sermon this evening. What is it with everybody and their mobile phones these days? This ...