Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area

Address: 5617 Major Boulevard, Orlando, Florida, 32819, United States | 3 star hotel
 
Searching for availability...
*Prices above are provided by partners for one room, double occupancy and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
 

How has this hotel rated in the past?

  What's this?
Discover trends in hotel experiences based on real traveler reviews and ratings. Mouse over circles to see what some travelers had to say.

Location

This 3 star hotel, located in the International Drive/Universal/SeaWorld area of Orlando, is near Prime Outlets - Orlando, Prime Outlets International Orlando, and Epcot Divequest.
Map this hotel
       

    Historical Traveler Reviews Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area Orlando

    Close to Universal..

    from

    We stayed here for 3 nights May 15- May 18 2005. The rooms were adequate for 4 people. They were clean. Staff not all that helpful. The free breakfast was ok it included make your own waffles, bagles, muffins and a variey of pastries and cereals. We were disappointed with the free shuttle service to Universal. To catch the shuttle you had to walk across the street to another hotel. The bus was always full by the time it got there than you had to go to 2 more hotels before finally getting to Universal. So everyday you were standing on the bus packed with people. The pool was ok, the hot tub was luke warm at best and the pool area closed at 10PM. If I were to go to Universal again I would probably look for another hotel as there were many in this same area with compariable rates.

    Not bad

    from

    We stayed at this shotel for 2 nights and found it to perfectly fit our needs. It was VERY close to Universal Studios, and in a safe area. The room was spacious and clean, but the bedding had quite a few stains on the bedspread. The breakfast was good (they even had waffles that you could make). I didn't hear any noise through the walls, but I slept with the AC on.

    The staff weren't especially helpful, though, and even gave incorrect information about local things.

    If you want to stay somewhere close to Universal, this is an OK place. But, there were lots of other hotels rights next to it, just as close, if you'd want a different option.

    Very nice hotel

    from

    We stayed at this hotel from February 19-22, 2005. We approached our stay at this hotel with some trepidation after reading a couple scathing reviews on TripAdvisor; however, we were very pleasantly surprised by our experience there. The people at the front desk were friendly and helpful. The hotel looks very nice outside and inside. We had absolutely no problem with our room. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. We appreciated having the microwave and small refrigerator. I also liked the location of the hotel off the main drag. We found it to be very quiet, even though there appeared to be lots of kids staying there. The breakfast provided each morning was good. I enjoyed the waffles. The only bad thing was that they had the worse orange juice I have ever tasted in my entire life. Thank goodness they also had apple juice. The only other real negative was that the heater on their heated pool was not functioning during our stay, so we did not get to go swimming. Personally, I would recommend this hotel to others, and I would have no qualms about staying here again myself.

    ....never again

    from

    I stayed at this inn Feb. 20 - 24, 2005... having been booked here by the Company's Travel Bureau because the hotels in which I usually stay were booked full. NEVER AGAIN! At checkin, I approached the two young ladies at the desk, who seemed quite "put out" that I should interrupt there "chit-chat." There were a number of problems during my stay, one of which I'll briefly describe. The morning after checkin, I left the room to get a cup of coffee. Upon returning, my key would not allow me to enter. With electronic locks, that is not too much of a surprise....however, when I went to the front desk, I once again met the clerk "with an attitude" who informed me that my credit card had been declined. I have had the same American Express card for thirty years and have never had a problem. Next, I had to go to the phone to call AE. As I'm sure you know, when calling a credit card company, one goes through a "zillion" prompts before being allowed to speak to a human. When I did finally reach a human voice, I was informed by AE that no hotel had attempted to "qualify" my credit card. Following that many minute experience, I returned to the front desk with that information. Next I was accused to using another AE card at checkin!....because the numbers on my card (which I presented, and she "swiped" at checkin) were not (?) the same as those which she had used to validate my stay. FINALLY, I discovered that she had attempted to validate my stay using the Credit Card supplied by the Travel Agent to obtain the reservation. After all of this "bru-ha"...there was no apology, no "I'm sorry for the confusion".....nothing. This place (...with paper thin walls, by the way) could stand some staff re-training and/or possible management change.

    Pretty Dreadful

    from

    When we arrived at 6 PM, we were told the hotel was overbooked even though we had checked 3 times earlier to make sure there were no glitches and they had assured us all was OK as late as 1:30 PM for a 3 PM check-in. Front desk tried to put us in an alternate hotel, but as I was traveling with just my 7 yr-old daughter and had no idea where they were sending us, I refused. We were given the last available room, which smelled strongly of cat urine. (I was warned that the room was a "smoking room/had a bad odor" but front desk didn't correct me when I responded that cigarette smoke doesn't bother me.) Charming, but since we had to leave immediately for a dinner theater reserv. and weren't going to be back until after 11 PM, there wasn't much choice. Got our new room next morning. It was reasonably clean but no exhaust fan in bathroom, so mold was growing on the walls. Nice microwave and refrigerator. Stayed for 6 nights total. Our room overlooked the pool, so it was noisy until around 11. The pool was clean although the common hallways were just gross- stained carpeting everywhere. Ice machines didn't work on floors 2 and 3. Breakfast was decent- lots of choices within the "expanded continental breakfast" definition. Go early to get a seat.

    Since I booked room through the Internet, front desk refused to give me a room charge print-out. I was told they weren't allowed and I had to get one through agency through which the room was booked. There are so many budget choices in the Orlando area- I just couldn't see returning here.

    Nightmare on Turkey Lake Road

    from

    What can I say. This place is terrible. Avoid it like the plague ! Soon as we arrived, they tried to sell us a timeshare...then in got worse. The room was absolutely disgusting - musty, walls and lampshades stained. The bathtub wasn't fit for a dog. They advertise an expanded continental breakfast. I guess this refers to the white bread and cool-aid they try to pass off as orange juice. Many better hotels in Orlando for the same price. No reason to stay in this dump.

    Great place

    from

    We (family of 6) stayed here 12 july 04 to 28 july 04.The staff were very pleasant and helpful.Rooms are a little compact but very clean.Great value for money (breakfast inc) and just across from Universal. 10/10

    Great Location

    from

    A great hotel to stay at if visiting Universal's parks. Very easy access to parks, less than a five minutes drive to the parking lots. Very clean rooms, and great breakfast choices. We stayed for four nights 6/6-6/10/04. We would stay here again.

    Nice stay.

    from

    Stayed here for 5 nights in January 2004. The hotel has large rooms and tends to be cheaper than the hotels on International Drive. The hotel was clean and the staff were pleasant. We had to switch rooms after the first night because our bathroom developed a nasty odour like sour milk. There was no problem in switching rooms and the new room was very clean and comfortable for the remainder of our stay. Have stayed here once before and will probably stay there again.

    Great Value

    from

    I have stayed at this hotel many times over the past few years and for the money is a very good deal. Very close to Universal and they offer a shuttle. Nice size rooms and a large pool.

    TripAdvisor Reviews Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area Orlando

    4.50 of 5 stars Outstanding
     

    Travel Blogs from Orlando

    Orlando, Florida

    A travel blog entry by sarah.sam2015 on May 23, 2015

    5 comments, 11 photos

    ... You were sitting in compartments and shadows would walk through the corrider with the voices of Harry etc so it sounded like they were on the train!

    The rides were amazing! At Hogwarts when you're in line you walk all through the castle where there are talking paintings and you see Harry, Hermoine and Ron talking. You go through Dumbledores office too. The ride is a mix of a rollercoaster and simulator where you are in seats of four that ...

    Seaworld

    A travel blog entry by didier.moutia on Jan 13, 2015

    8 photos

    ... Empire of the Penguin exhibit. This is a new addition since our last visit. Rather then a ride it is an 'experience'. It is a really cool way to combine a ride, education and animal encounter. This experience takes you through a journey following an animated penguin. The ride finishes in a chamber where you can see a colony of penguins up close. There are 4 species of Penguin present. The chamber is cold ...

    Magic Kingdom!!!

    A travel blog entry by goodall5 on Oct 01, 2014

    37 photos

    ... We arrived there at 8:30am, which was prefect timing to watch the opening show of the park. As soon as the gates opened at 9am, it started to rain. And I mean the soaking, Florida rain. So thankful for our awesome ponchos that friends recommended. As most of the rides were temporarily closed due to the rain, we got to experience a few awesome shows: Monsters Inc Laugh Floor, Mickey's PhilarMagic ...

    Disney's Magic Kingdom

    A travel blog entry by phil_anna on Jul 26, 2014

    35 photos

    ... appeared Phil!!! Haha. We couldn't stop laughing. To be honest, his beard and hair were getting quite long so I can see the resemblance. Very enjoyable show!!

    After we were all laughed out, we went to use our last fast pass on 'Buzz Lightyears Space Ranger Spin'. It was a shooting game, but you were in a carriage on a track which you needed to spin round to face the targets. It was funny but difficult too. As Phil is one of the most competitive people I know, for ...

    Kennedy Space Center

    A travel blog entry by barblucas on Jul 23, 2014

    2 photos

    ... was an American flag that covered maybe a fifth of it, we were later told that that flag was the equivalent of a 22 storey building.....so that just dwarfed what used to be the tallest building in Christchurch, my old workplace: The PWC building! We also saw a 49 year old bald eagle nest and several alligators, one which was just lying by the side of the road! Cape Canaveral is on Merritt Island which is a nature reserve, so they justify scaring ...