Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area

5617 Major Boulevard, Orlando, Florida, 32819, United States | 3 star hotel
Searching for availability...
*Prices above are provided by partners for one room, double occupancy and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
 

How has this hotel rated in the past?

  What's this?
Discover trends in hotel experiences based on real traveler reviews and ratings. Mouse over circles to see what some travelers had to say.

Location

This 3 star hotel, located in the International Drive/Universal/SeaWorld area of Orlando, is near Prime Outlets - Orlando, Prime Outlets International Orlando, and Epcot Divequest.
Map this hotel
       

    Historical Traveler Reviews Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area Orlando

    Close to Universal..

    from

    We stayed here for 3 nights May 15- May 18 2005. The rooms were adequate for 4 people. They were clean. Staff not all that helpful. The free breakfast was ok it included make your own waffles, bagles, muffins and a variey of pastries and cereals. We were disappointed with the free shuttle service to Universal. To catch the shuttle you had to walk across the street to another hotel. The bus was always full by the time it got there than you had to go to 2 more hotels before finally getting to Universal. So everyday you were standing on the bus packed with people. The pool was ok, the hot tub was luke warm at best and the pool area closed at 10PM. If I were to go to Universal again I would probably look for another hotel as there were many in this same area with compariable rates.

    Not bad

    from

    We stayed at this shotel for 2 nights and found it to perfectly fit our needs. It was VERY close to Universal Studios, and in a safe area. The room was spacious and clean, but the bedding had quite a few stains on the bedspread. The breakfast was good (they even had waffles that you could make). I didn't hear any noise through the walls, but I slept with the AC on.

    The staff weren't especially helpful, though, and even gave incorrect information about local things.

    If you want to stay somewhere close to Universal, this is an OK place. But, there were lots of other hotels rights next to it, just as close, if you'd want a different option.

    Very nice hotel

    from

    We stayed at this hotel from February 19-22, 2005. We approached our stay at this hotel with some trepidation after reading a couple scathing reviews on TripAdvisor; however, we were very pleasantly surprised by our experience there. The people at the front desk were friendly and helpful. The hotel looks very nice outside and inside. We had absolutely no problem with our room. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. We appreciated having the microwave and small refrigerator. I also liked the location of the hotel off the main drag. We found it to be very quiet, even though there appeared to be lots of kids staying there. The breakfast provided each morning was good. I enjoyed the waffles. The only bad thing was that they had the worse orange juice I have ever tasted in my entire life. Thank goodness they also had apple juice. The only other real negative was that the heater on their heated pool was not functioning during our stay, so we did not get to go swimming. Personally, I would recommend this hotel to others, and I would have no qualms about staying here again myself.

    ....never again

    from

    I stayed at this inn Feb. 20 - 24, 2005... having been booked here by the Company's Travel Bureau because the hotels in which I usually stay were booked full. NEVER AGAIN! At checkin, I approached the two young ladies at the desk, who seemed quite "put out" that I should interrupt there "chit-chat." There were a number of problems during my stay, one of which I'll briefly describe. The morning after checkin, I left the room to get a cup of coffee. Upon returning, my key would not allow me to enter. With electronic locks, that is not too much of a surprise....however, when I went to the front desk, I once again met the clerk "with an attitude" who informed me that my credit card had been declined. I have had the same American Express card for thirty years and have never had a problem. Next, I had to go to the phone to call AE. As I'm sure you know, when calling a credit card company, one goes through a "zillion" prompts before being allowed to speak to a human. When I did finally reach a human voice, I was informed by AE that no hotel had attempted to "qualify" my credit card. Following that many minute experience, I returned to the front desk with that information. Next I was accused to using another AE card at checkin!....because the numbers on my card (which I presented, and she "swiped" at checkin) were not (?) the same as those which she had used to validate my stay. FINALLY, I discovered that she had attempted to validate my stay using the Credit Card supplied by the Travel Agent to obtain the reservation. After all of this "bru-ha"...there was no apology, no "I'm sorry for the confusion".....nothing. This place (...with paper thin walls, by the way) could stand some staff re-training and/or possible management change.

    Pretty Dreadful

    from

    When we arrived at 6 PM, we were told the hotel was overbooked even though we had checked 3 times earlier to make sure there were no glitches and they had assured us all was OK as late as 1:30 PM for a 3 PM check-in. Front desk tried to put us in an alternate hotel, but as I was traveling with just my 7 yr-old daughter and had no idea where they were sending us, I refused. We were given the last available room, which smelled strongly of cat urine. (I was warned that the room was a "smoking room/had a bad odor" but front desk didn't correct me when I responded that cigarette smoke doesn't bother me.) Charming, but since we had to leave immediately for a dinner theater reserv. and weren't going to be back until after 11 PM, there wasn't much choice. Got our new room next morning. It was reasonably clean but no exhaust fan in bathroom, so mold was growing on the walls. Nice microwave and refrigerator. Stayed for 6 nights total. Our room overlooked the pool, so it was noisy until around 11. The pool was clean although the common hallways were just gross- stained carpeting everywhere. Ice machines didn't work on floors 2 and 3. Breakfast was decent- lots of choices within the "expanded continental breakfast" definition. Go early to get a seat.

    Since I booked room through the Internet, front desk refused to give me a room charge print-out. I was told they weren't allowed and I had to get one through agency through which the room was booked. There are so many budget choices in the Orlando area- I just couldn't see returning here.

    Nightmare on Turkey Lake Road

    from

    What can I say. This place is terrible. Avoid it like the plague ! Soon as we arrived, they tried to sell us a timeshare...then in got worse. The room was absolutely disgusting - musty, walls and lampshades stained. The bathtub wasn't fit for a dog. They advertise an expanded continental breakfast. I guess this refers to the white bread and cool-aid they try to pass off as orange juice. Many better hotels in Orlando for the same price. No reason to stay in this dump.

    Great place

    from

    We (family of 6) stayed here 12 july 04 to 28 july 04.The staff were very pleasant and helpful.Rooms are a little compact but very clean.Great value for money (breakfast inc) and just across from Universal. 10/10

    Great Location

    from

    A great hotel to stay at if visiting Universal's parks. Very easy access to parks, less than a five minutes drive to the parking lots. Very clean rooms, and great breakfast choices. We stayed for four nights 6/6-6/10/04. We would stay here again.

    Nice stay.

    from

    Stayed here for 5 nights in January 2004. The hotel has large rooms and tends to be cheaper than the hotels on International Drive. The hotel was clean and the staff were pleasant. We had to switch rooms after the first night because our bathroom developed a nasty odour like sour milk. There was no problem in switching rooms and the new room was very clean and comfortable for the remainder of our stay. Have stayed here once before and will probably stay there again.

    Great Value

    from

    I have stayed at this hotel many times over the past few years and for the money is a very good deal. Very close to Universal and they offer a shuttle. Nice size rooms and a large pool.

    TripAdvisor Reviews Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area Orlando

    4.00 of 5 stars Excellent
     

    Travel Blogs from Orlando

    Back To Life, Back To Reality

    A travel blog entry by doove on May 23, 2014

    58 photos

    ... Hollywood sign' as a challenge, scrambling up rocks until I was directly behind it and about to climb up the letters until I got removed by the police, thankfully without a hefty fine! Returned to Roi's house with a I bet you'll never guess where I went today story, before he then enhanced it by taking me to a club night called Wild Boys with men in yellow thongs and a certain guy who tried chatting me up by using the line 'I would do anything to spunk in your face'. Cheers mate. ...

    Disney's Hollywood Studios

    A travel blog entry by jessnye on Mar 07, 2014

    11 photos

    Today we got up and had breakfast at our resort- Mickey waffles were on the menu of course. We then headed the last of the 4 Disney parks- Hollywood studios. We both loved this park- Ryan loved it for the roller coaster and I loved it as I met heaps of characters! We wandered through "Hollywood" and "sunset boulevard" and saw the center piece which is mickeys sorcery hat. Ryan then went on ...

    Long Weekend for the Kids = Disney World AGAIN!

    A travel blog entry by gthznathan on Oct 18, 2013

    388 photos

    ... priceless...with moments before crying could start from both girls, others in the raft lifted their spirits by cheering them and seconds later they had smiles on their faces and wanting to ride the rapids again. Unfortunately (mainly for Hayley and Zoe's clothes dried quicker) they were stuck trudging around the Animal Kingdom in wet shorts and underwear for the rest of the day! With Asia complete, we had to get over to the left side of ...

    Journey to the Center of EPCOT

    A travel blog entry by scarletlancer on Aug 02, 2013

    3 photos

    ... meal Annabel and I rode Soarin' and then we all headed back early to the hotel to enjoy the pool and lazy river before a very relaxed early night for the kids. This is one of the things you never really think about when going on holiday with little ones. When they go to bed by 7.30 you are left sitting in a darkened hotel room having to be quiet (so even watching the TV is out). Thank God for iPads and headphone splitters is what I ...

    ORLANDO: KENNEDY SPACE CENTRE, CAPE CANAVERAL

    A travel blog entry by jdboy on Apr 22, 2013

    26 photos

    ... Crawler transporter up close. The transporter travels across gravel which is on top of a huge concrete driveway which goes all the way from the Assembly area to the launch pad. The concrete is 16 inches thick due to the weight being carried. We stopped at the Apollo/Saturn V Centre and got off to view a full size Saturn V rocket that was to have been the Apollo 18 mission but it was cancelled. It was massive ! It's amazing that something so huge could even make it into space. ...