Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area

Address: 5617 Major Boulevard, Orlando, Florida, 32819, United States | 3 star hotel
Searching for availability...
*Prices above are provided by partners for one room, double occupancy and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
 

How has this hotel rated in the past?

  What's this?
Discover trends in hotel experiences based on real traveler reviews and ratings. Mouse over circles to see what some travelers had to say.

Location

This 3 star hotel, located in the International Drive/Universal/SeaWorld area of Orlando, is near Prime Outlets - Orlando, Prime Outlets International Orlando, and Epcot Divequest.
Map this hotel
       

    Historical Traveler Reviews Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area Orlando

    Close to Universal..

    from

    We stayed here for 3 nights May 15- May 18 2005. The rooms were adequate for 4 people. They were clean. Staff not all that helpful. The free breakfast was ok it included make your own waffles, bagles, muffins and a variey of pastries and cereals. We were disappointed with the free shuttle service to Universal. To catch the shuttle you had to walk across the street to another hotel. The bus was always full by the time it got there than you had to go to 2 more hotels before finally getting to Universal. So everyday you were standing on the bus packed with people. The pool was ok, the hot tub was luke warm at best and the pool area closed at 10PM. If I were to go to Universal again I would probably look for another hotel as there were many in this same area with compariable rates.

    Not bad

    from

    We stayed at this shotel for 2 nights and found it to perfectly fit our needs. It was VERY close to Universal Studios, and in a safe area. The room was spacious and clean, but the bedding had quite a few stains on the bedspread. The breakfast was good (they even had waffles that you could make). I didn't hear any noise through the walls, but I slept with the AC on.

    The staff weren't especially helpful, though, and even gave incorrect information about local things.

    If you want to stay somewhere close to Universal, this is an OK place. But, there were lots of other hotels rights next to it, just as close, if you'd want a different option.

    Very nice hotel

    from

    We stayed at this hotel from February 19-22, 2005. We approached our stay at this hotel with some trepidation after reading a couple scathing reviews on TripAdvisor; however, we were very pleasantly surprised by our experience there. The people at the front desk were friendly and helpful. The hotel looks very nice outside and inside. We had absolutely no problem with our room. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. We appreciated having the microwave and small refrigerator. I also liked the location of the hotel off the main drag. We found it to be very quiet, even though there appeared to be lots of kids staying there. The breakfast provided each morning was good. I enjoyed the waffles. The only bad thing was that they had the worse orange juice I have ever tasted in my entire life. Thank goodness they also had apple juice. The only other real negative was that the heater on their heated pool was not functioning during our stay, so we did not get to go swimming. Personally, I would recommend this hotel to others, and I would have no qualms about staying here again myself.

    ....never again

    from

    I stayed at this inn Feb. 20 - 24, 2005... having been booked here by the Company's Travel Bureau because the hotels in which I usually stay were booked full. NEVER AGAIN! At checkin, I approached the two young ladies at the desk, who seemed quite "put out" that I should interrupt there "chit-chat." There were a number of problems during my stay, one of which I'll briefly describe. The morning after checkin, I left the room to get a cup of coffee. Upon returning, my key would not allow me to enter. With electronic locks, that is not too much of a surprise....however, when I went to the front desk, I once again met the clerk "with an attitude" who informed me that my credit card had been declined. I have had the same American Express card for thirty years and have never had a problem. Next, I had to go to the phone to call AE. As I'm sure you know, when calling a credit card company, one goes through a "zillion" prompts before being allowed to speak to a human. When I did finally reach a human voice, I was informed by AE that no hotel had attempted to "qualify" my credit card. Following that many minute experience, I returned to the front desk with that information. Next I was accused to using another AE card at checkin!....because the numbers on my card (which I presented, and she "swiped" at checkin) were not (?) the same as those which she had used to validate my stay. FINALLY, I discovered that she had attempted to validate my stay using the Credit Card supplied by the Travel Agent to obtain the reservation. After all of this "bru-ha"...there was no apology, no "I'm sorry for the confusion".....nothing. This place (...with paper thin walls, by the way) could stand some staff re-training and/or possible management change.

    Pretty Dreadful

    from

    When we arrived at 6 PM, we were told the hotel was overbooked even though we had checked 3 times earlier to make sure there were no glitches and they had assured us all was OK as late as 1:30 PM for a 3 PM check-in. Front desk tried to put us in an alternate hotel, but as I was traveling with just my 7 yr-old daughter and had no idea where they were sending us, I refused. We were given the last available room, which smelled strongly of cat urine. (I was warned that the room was a "smoking room/had a bad odor" but front desk didn't correct me when I responded that cigarette smoke doesn't bother me.) Charming, but since we had to leave immediately for a dinner theater reserv. and weren't going to be back until after 11 PM, there wasn't much choice. Got our new room next morning. It was reasonably clean but no exhaust fan in bathroom, so mold was growing on the walls. Nice microwave and refrigerator. Stayed for 6 nights total. Our room overlooked the pool, so it was noisy until around 11. The pool was clean although the common hallways were just gross- stained carpeting everywhere. Ice machines didn't work on floors 2 and 3. Breakfast was decent- lots of choices within the "expanded continental breakfast" definition. Go early to get a seat.

    Since I booked room through the Internet, front desk refused to give me a room charge print-out. I was told they weren't allowed and I had to get one through agency through which the room was booked. There are so many budget choices in the Orlando area- I just couldn't see returning here.

    Nightmare on Turkey Lake Road

    from

    What can I say. This place is terrible. Avoid it like the plague ! Soon as we arrived, they tried to sell us a timeshare...then in got worse. The room was absolutely disgusting - musty, walls and lampshades stained. The bathtub wasn't fit for a dog. They advertise an expanded continental breakfast. I guess this refers to the white bread and cool-aid they try to pass off as orange juice. Many better hotels in Orlando for the same price. No reason to stay in this dump.

    Great place

    from

    We (family of 6) stayed here 12 july 04 to 28 july 04.The staff were very pleasant and helpful.Rooms are a little compact but very clean.Great value for money (breakfast inc) and just across from Universal. 10/10

    Great Location

    from

    A great hotel to stay at if visiting Universal's parks. Very easy access to parks, less than a five minutes drive to the parking lots. Very clean rooms, and great breakfast choices. We stayed for four nights 6/6-6/10/04. We would stay here again.

    Nice stay.

    from

    Stayed here for 5 nights in January 2004. The hotel has large rooms and tends to be cheaper than the hotels on International Drive. The hotel was clean and the staff were pleasant. We had to switch rooms after the first night because our bathroom developed a nasty odour like sour milk. There was no problem in switching rooms and the new room was very clean and comfortable for the remainder of our stay. Have stayed here once before and will probably stay there again.

    Great Value

    from

    I have stayed at this hotel many times over the past few years and for the money is a very good deal. Very close to Universal and they offer a shuttle. Nice size rooms and a large pool.

    TripAdvisor Reviews Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area Orlando

    4.00 of 5 stars Excellent
     

    Travel Blogs from Orlando

    A Disney / Universal Photo Essay

    A travel blog entry by rm-adventures on Oct 05, 2014

    108 photos

    ... time, Simpsons, Seuss, a few good Minions, The Hulk and our favourite - I Love Lucy.

    While I have decided I prefer Disneyland to Disney World, I prefer this Universal adventure to that which is located in Los Angeles. There, I said it.

    Here are the days, ...

    Orlando - the unhappiest city on earth

    A travel blog entry by reids on Sep 23, 2014

    35 photos

    ... queue for any of the rides.

    The new Harry Potter world is really well done and saw us on both days returning to redo the Gringotts ride. Our first roller coaster of the day however, the Dragon Challenge, lived up to its name with both Vaughan and I close to vomiting when we got off this ride. By the next ride I had regained my sea legs but unfortunately for Vaughan when they say don't go on the rides if you are suffering from motion sickness, you ...

    Discovery Cove

    A travel blog entry by ccderby on Aug 11, 2014

    3 photos

    ... us all hiding in the restaurant, not sure where the dolphins sheltered.
    Night-time we journeyed to Downtown Disney for shopping and food. Gary asked whether I was buying more socks in Little Mismatched, as the last ones I had are 3 years old!
    ...

    Back To Life, Back To Reality

    A travel blog entry by doove on May 23, 2014

    58 photos

    ... he drove me round Bogota, and stopped off at a few places I’d never visited before. On a Tuesday, things were pretty quiet but the highlight was getting up to the top of the City where could see some amazing viewpoints by night. It was cool to catch up and spend some time with Seb, even though a lot of that conversation was me trying to get my head around Bogota’s ridiculous driving system – of which certain cars with odd or even number plates are only allowed to ...

    Safari Time

    A travel blog entry by donnae on May 05, 2014

    7 photos

    ... bus is actually going to. So I trod over to the traffic controller lady to check. Told her our hotel & she says yes lane 26, sometimes they pull into 25, so keep an eye on that. At 9.45 I see a bus with Wyndham Bonnet Creek on it go to lane 36. So we bolt up there, the driver goes no I'm going to the other Wyndham Resort (which by the way is behind us here) can't take you. We watch him drive off with NO passengers. 10pm rolls around, no bus. 10.05 ...