Britannia Country House Hotel

Address: Palatine Road, Manchester, Greater Manchester, England, M20 2WG, United Kingdom | 3 star hotel
 
Searching for availability...
*Prices above are provided by partners for one room, double occupancy and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
 

How has this hotel rated in the past?

  What's this?
Discover trends in hotel experiences based on real traveler reviews and ratings. Mouse over circles to see what some travelers had to say.

Location

This 3 star hotel, located in the Didsbury area of Manchester, is near Fletcher Moss Park & Botanical Gardens, Manchester Airport Guided Tour, Wythenshawe Community Farm, and Chorlton Park.
Map this hotel

Amenities

       

    Historical Traveler Reviews Britannia Country House Hotel Manchester

    As bad as it gets....

    from

    This hotel is an object lesson in how to run a very bad hotel. I had the "pleasure" of staying for one night in Jan-04 and that was too long. Everything from the reception to the very small room was a disgrace but in particular Jennys restaurant stands out and received nil points for totally lacking any standards of service, cleanliness, comfort or atmosphere. STAY HERE AT YOUR PERIL!!!

    Do not stay here!!

    from

    This is without doubt the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The food is awful, the rooms are tiny and dirty, the staff are rude. We were told that both the wine and the Sky box were 'locked away' and that no one had a key which was why we didn't have a selection of wine and why they couldn't show the Man City match despite displaying 'Live Football' signs in the bar. The tv in the room didn't work, the pillows had no cases and the direct dial room phones they offered didn't work either. I regret booking this hotel and would discourage anyone else from ever doing so.

    Good room very bad service & staff

    from

    on arrival meeted by grumpy unhelpful staff, room good, service very slow.

    Not worth the money! Awful!

    from

    Stayed here prior to a longhaul flight to Mexico in June. Absolutely awful rooms. The reception was better having clearly had money spent on it but the rooms were so small we couldn't open our suitcase and close the door.

    Stuffy, grubby, badly maintained and with rude desk staff. We gave up requesting alternative rooms after three in succession were terrible.

    If you're flying out of Manchester stay at the Radisson, not much more expensive with their internet offers and well worth the money in terms of convenience and quality.

    No being driven to the airport at insane speeds in a minibus either!

    A Pleasent Stay - Id do it all again

    from

    I stayed at this hotel recently and after reading these report I felt reluctant to leave my car.......

    but we did.... The staff were nice and friendly both at reception & in the restraunt... the room was nice and it also had a Jacuzzi which was nice at the end of the night....... We left the car for 1 week and when we got back it was fine and I did notice that they have security guards and CCTV too.......

    I'd deffinatly go again........

    Dirty and shabby

    from

    Where to start?? Firstly the reception staffs werent very friendly and didn't give me a good first impression. I then took the lift to my room, which is really dated and stinks. I arrived in my room and I almost cried. I stayed in their executive room, which I hoped would be nice. The room was big but that's the only good thing about it... the bed covered was heavily stained, the sofa is worn out, full of holes, the curtains which were once white are now grey. I wanted to use the phone socket to connect my laptop to the internet.... first surprise was that the socket was hanging out of the wall.... as I looked closer I saw behind the bed side table an empty bottle of bier, some cigarette buds and a dirty tissue. I called reception to complain. 5 minute later someone came to take these things away and told me that the girl who cleaned my room that morning would be told off.... not really the service I expected. I then decided to take a relaxing bath... but when I entered the bathtub, I felt that it hadn't been cleaned properly in a long time! I guess I should also mention the cigarette smell and the dirt under the bed. Even their room service menu wasn't clean. I understand that some hotels need to be refurbished but they still need to be clean! DO NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL!

    Disgraceful Hotel

    from

    I was very dissatisfied with the hotel for a number of reasons.1.We were sold a family room . When we arrived we found ourselves in a room with a double bed and a temporary camp bed. In other hotels a family room means that there is at least one other bed in the room. I complained at the desk but no action was taken. In general the staff on in the hotel were not helpful or friendly. As an example we struggled off the courtesy coach with 2 small kids and our suitcases. No one even held the door open for us or offered to help. 2.The room (Room 379) was not at all clean. Under the bed was a used condom along with quit a lot of dust and dirt. I was appalled and either my wife or myself were able to sleep that night. The standard of cleanliness in the rest of the room was also not of a high standard. 3.When we arrived I sat on the bed in and immediately assumed that I had sat on a shoe or other hard object. In fact the bed is extremely lumpy and uncomfortable. 4.We arrived in the evening and went to the restaurant. The man at the restaurant reception desk was less than helpful and rather impertinent. When we asked him for a menu he rolled his eyes and said which one, then proceeded to explain with some negative attitude there are 2 menus one on the right, one on the left which one? We chose Jennys café and were surprised at the overwhelming smell of dampness in the vicinity and en-route to the restaurant.Overall we were shocked and disappointed by the standard at this hotel and feel we would have done better just to overnight in the airport and saved the money. We got no sleep at all and felt cheated after our stay.

    Better than I expected

    from

    Actually, I thought the hotel wasn't bad at all. I had an Executive room, which is much larger than a standard room with a Jaccuzi.The rooms do not have that corporate hotel blandness and the room was nice and cool.Good pillows.The room service food is not good so just don't order it.The swimming pool and jaccuzi are very light so that's good.The steam room and Sauna have seen better days but do the job.

    There's a superb jet shower that is cold only !!!Breakfasts are slightly above average, but the music in the restaurant makes for a good atmosphere - especially if you are there, as I was, on business by yourself.Book over the internet for reduced rates. I'll go again.

    The Worst hotel in UK or just Manchester?

    from

    Where do I start? The small damp room perhaps? Or the lack of shaving sockets ( but the girl on reception did suggest we could use the one in the Gym...). Or the Bad, Bad food (fruit salad in a prawn cocktail????).So, I wrote a letter to them asking if this was just a one off experience, and got a standard response ( beautifully worded to answer anysuch complaint as it did not reference any of my points), which answered nothing. I followed up, and still got nothing. I tryied the head office. If you write to the head office, all they do is forward the letter to the hotel manager, who doesn't respond!For 6 MONTHS Britannia head office promised a response from the hotel about the experience, and if a hotel boss doesn't listen to his managers, what chance does a guest have?Truely, truely awful....

    Notorious for car theft & break-ins

    from

    Our car was broken into in the car park of this hotel after we had left it there, in good faith, whilst going on holiday. We asked for compensation but was told that the car park wasn't 'secure' although we were lead to believe that. To make matters worse when we called the police to report the break-in we were told that the hotel is 'notorious' for car theft and break-ins, and that very little had been done by the hotel to make the parking more secure. We have written to the hotel to complain but were told they don't accept any responsibilty for the break-in and subsequent damage. My STRONG advice is don't leave your car here - take it to a secure parking place where they care!

    TripAdvisor Reviews Britannia Country House Hotel Manchester

    3.00 of 5 stars Good
     

    Travel Blogs from Manchester

    Travel day

    A travel blog entry by d.emily.smith on Jul 10, 2015

    1 comment, 2 photos

    ... to be allowed to visit the engine shed with lots of pits to fall down and trip hazards. And lots of engines in seriously large bits. Good job I have my iPad filled with heaps of books!! We have booked into a little cottage in the village of Tideswell in the Peak District. We plan on doing lots of day trips from this fairly central spot. On the agenda (I believe) are railways and trains ... There were already a few 'whoops' of delight from the drivers seat as we passed various ...

    Stratford to Manchester and everything in between

    A travel blog entry by tracy.blazer on Jul 10, 2015

    14 photos

    ... house which was the house his daughter lived in. Yet another beautiful Tudor style home. After walking along the River Avon and getting some ice-cream we headed up North. We stopped in Stoke On Trent for lunch and went to some incredible gardens called Trentham gardens. Amazing views and they were even hosting a college graduation what was great to see. We went through the maze which was a lot of ...

    "Call Me Up In Dreamland"

    A travel blog entry by jbushie on Jul 07, 2015

    3 comments, 10 photos

    Today seems to be a day of questions and decisions...

    Blue sky or grey? (Both.)
    Will it rain despite a forecast on my phone that says not? (It buckets down around 4pm.)
    Why is yesterday's £3.50 bus ticket £4.10 today? (No idea!)
    Lebara or Lyca for a SIM card for the iPad? (We find Lebara first.)
    Will it work in Greece as promised? (Who knows...)

    Ciabata or chicken pie for lunch? ...

    Manchester, a Park, Palace, and Pond

    A travel blog entry by xtopherc on Jun 27, 2015

    15 photos

    ... wilds could be best described as a small forest grove, followed by a few hectares of sheep pasture and stone walls, terminating at a large country palace/estate. Not exactly Canadian grizzlies and glaciers but a very pleasant mid-day scramble. Also, no black flies...
    So, we picnicked on the 'peak' of the hill basking in sunshine and the panoramic view of Manchester, Lyme Park, and the Cage (a fantastical hunting lodge/folly near the ...

    Manchester

    A travel blog entry by bstokesdenver on Jul 24, 2014

    5 photos

    ... of beer or wine. We found a nice restaurant next to the canal with an outdoor dining area for Allen’s birthday dinner.

    After breakfast on Thursday we head up to the People’s Museum. Again it is free! This museum is all about the labor movement from the first laws to protect the workers during the industrial revolution right through to the present and laws to protect Gays and Lesbians. It ...