No availability found through our partners. Please contact the business directly or check some of our recommended alternatives.
Travel Blogs from New York City
... many movies. The Lindt shop is visited again on the way to sample some more treats. Arrive at Maddison Square to find that a festival is going on with music and BBQ stalls. Despite all the extra food stalls the line up for Shake Shack is long. Ryan wonders if they really need wait in line. Cirsty doesn't comment. After lining up for an hour and 15 Ryan reaches the front ...
... and which program is suitable for you.
A different thing you ought to take into account is the available facility at the centre. It is highly advised that you get the time to go to the center in person and grasp factors yourself. Verify if the middle has all the required and able staff members to guide addicts. Also, verify if the surroundings ...
... party such as a front desk clerk or baggage porter what the right rate is for a trip to your destination. Also set up the rate with the driver before you get into the cab. This helps prevent you from getting ripped off.
You already know you can't take drinks with you through security at the airport. But you can definitely take a water bottle as long as it's empty. Save yourself the two dollars on water you're going to ...
... software, you can entry your weather station's readings from any pc in the entire world. This tends to make preparing return excursions house considerably more pleasant, and provides you with the info you want to make critical vacation choices.
System visible and audible alarms, store information in graphical format on your laptop, and share your results with other temperature lovers and buddies on the web. The unit is coated with a entire ...
Gram flooring is also recognized as Chickpea flour, garbanzo flour and bezan. This powder has to be preserved meticulously for a prolonged time period use. Just take a little bit of this powder and incorporate possibly milk or h2o to it and mix it properly right up until it forms a wonderful paste. Now utilize the paste on your afflicted locations.
You can also utilize it on your entire ...
How has this hostel rated in the past?
More great choices in New York City
Search TripAdvisor for more deals in New York City
Historical Traveler Reviews Fresh Hostel New York City
We were so happy to stay longer in New York, however our experience in Continental Hostel ruined our stay. We spent only ONE NIGHT there (on twin horribly noisy bunk-bed), however the next day we noticed that some personal items were missing from our bag (that included a piece of clothing)!!! All calls were dismissed and we felt we were treated in a very rude manner. Our advice to you- AVOID this place!!!
I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here. As for the beds, all you had to do is ask for a room change and we would have happily changed your room. About your clothing, as we do not perform room service our staff would have never entered your room and we are not responsible for missing items in your room as stated on the check-in card you signed when checking in.
This is a welfare hotel. it is not legally a hostel. we discovered this the hard way - by talking to the crazy person inthe next room who lived there. They take only cash which means the busines is ILLEGAL. the rooms are tiny and dark and dirty. do NOT stay here.
By no means is this a welfare hotel. It is a hostel and we run it and advertise it in this way. As for the cash only payments we do this because due to the amount of young travellers we have and our experience with them we do not like to have credit card disputes.
ive stayed at hostels before and by far this has to be the best one ive stayed at yet. i only payed $60 a night. i was just expecting a place to sleep. those other travelors are stupid to complain!! for $60 the place was excellent. i got free room service, towels when ever i wanted it and the service there had to be just as good as a 4 star hotel. other hostels i stayed at like the malibu and cheseal star were -- compaired to the continental. plus they had an awesome lounge. thank you guys for every thing and ill be back!!!
I lovedddd it
well it was my first time in nyc and after reading the reviews i was like very worried to come here. when i arrived i was like, is this the place? it was totally wicked!! the lobby was so cool it had a funky twist to it. i arrived at 9a.m. from a long flight from england and the staff were very nice to give me a room at that time. not just that but they were very helpful with giving me subway maps and showing me how to get the hottest shops in the city. just be aware that the hostel only takes cash for the payment. not to worry they have an atm which makes it very convienient. the rooms were a little small but very clean. the bathrooms were cleaned everyday. the coolest thing abt the hostel was the lounge. it was awesome!!! there they had a internet cafe, pool table, ping pong, and a foosball table. they had a big backyard to hang out and relax. i got to meet alot of cool people. (and not to mention alot of hotties too...lol) i couldnt believe that i was getting all of this for such a low price. i highly recomend this hostel for anyone who is looking to have a great time.
Had a GREAT time....
i am really confused....i stayed at this hostel for 4 nights and i had the best time of my life... lets start with my experience:
1: i checked in with no problems...the front desk staff was great they even gave me free maps and coupon books for free.
2:the room: i had booked a private single and i got what i booked. its wasnt the biggest room but hey look at the price.
3: bathrooms: BRAND NEW!! and were cleaned every day from morning until night.. if the bathroom was occupied there is another 5 on the floor to choose from.
4: the lounge/gameroom in basement.. all i can say is WOW! its huge... i met so many people from different countries there...there were parties everynight amongst guests.. one night the manager even treated everybody to FREE pizza..thats right FREE! there is a pool table, ping-pong, foosball and 8 internet computers. tv rooms and sofas to hang out in.. and a very cool outside garden.
5: the people/guests.. hey im a guy and the amount of beautiful ladies there is sick... i even got lucky twice :)
in conclusion all i have to say about the other reviews are "THEY ARE CRAZY" this is a hostel not the Hilton and for what it is its fantastic.
would i go again?? HELL YES!!!
The continental hellhole
Me and my friend have just returned from spending 3 nights in this hellhole. We were originally booked into another hotel only to be told that it had apparently been shut down, so we were sent here. Having got out keys from reception we went up to our room to be greeted by a bunk bed and a chest of drawers, we had originally booked a double room. We complained to the reception staff who basically said tough luck like it or lump it. We watched amazed as people who had booked and paid were being told there was no room for them. We had the same towel for the entire time we stayed there. Our room was next to a guy who lived there, he kept us awake by rambling to himself. The hostel stunk of an indescribable stench, but the icing on the cake was when we booked out, having paid 10 dollars for lockers we werent able to get our luggage out as the machine had broke, my friend complained to reception her reply " what do you want me to do", eventually they broke in and got them for us, what a hellhole.
Sarcastic and rude
I'm not too sure what to say about Continental Hostel except the staff are possibly the rudest and most sarcastic people ever! The staff at the front desk weren't very helpful when I needed them and I saw them turn down a reservation that was made for a person only because the person who booked was a New York State residence, but her friend was not which was who the room was for. Apparently, they weren't aware of this policy because it was not mentioned on the website they had booked it through. Now that I am looking through the website, it wasn't at all. I think they told the guy at the front desk to view the website, but he refused to. If I were the two friends, I would have sued the website and possibly the Hostel. As for tidiness of the Hostel, I thought the conditions were poor. There were ants along the window, the music in the lobby is far too loud, and the bathrooms, which are shared, were always a mess. Every time I went in there the floor was soaked, which I have fallen from before. The beds were okay, they weren't the comfiest and they made a lot of noise because they were the cheap metal kind. I would not recommend this hostel; it is not worth the stress.
NOt a very pleasant experience
Stayed 1 night at the 7th floor of this unwelcoming hostel. Our experience included: A middle-age man running around naked, a wake-up comitte at 7 o clock consisting of another mature man playing on casseroles and singing about how he hated everyone and the most discusting hostel kitchen in history. We didn't see any other backpackers on this floor where immigrants seemed to have found a permanent living with nicely decorated rooms and TV's playing old movies at a terrible volume.
If we had enough money we would have left the hostel at this point but instead we moved to an adjacent building to a new room. This room was bigger and cleaner and had a TV (no AC). Most rooms in this building were occupied by other travellers and noise was no longer a problem. However, the door lacked a proper lock and could easily be opened with a normal credit card. After our complaints, this was fixed the same day and the last 3 nights were ok. The toilets were very clean and the beds were good. However, they did not change the one towel they gave my girlfriend and I for 4 days.
My advice, if you choose to stay here, ask for a room in the building without the reception and dont think, as we did, that you can save money by cooking yourself as you loose your appetite the moment you enter the kitchen
Unless you're a backpacker then go elsewhere
I, like the previous reviewer ordered a double room, I also was given a room with twin bunk beds. Due to being fully booked I also wasn't offered anything in return.
The room was very small, the only other furniture in the room was a clothes drawer.
Due to the humidity in NY during my visit the I had to keep the window fitted air conditioning unit on, which was very noisy so not easy to sleep through. The downstairs recreational room spilled out into the back yard of the hostel under my window meaning more noise and 2nd hand smoke being sucked in through the ac unit!
My sheets weren't changed once during my visit and I had to use the same towel I was given on day 1.
The shared bathroom was cleaned daily and was the best thing about the hostel. The kitchen wasn't something I was using, however I wouldn't have wanted to - run down, dirty with just gas hobs and sink. I wouldn't want to eat any food prepared there.
Recreational room has about 12 fast internet connection stations, pool table and table football. All will cost you to use, eg $2 for 20mins internet. There is a TV room for use which is free. There are also lockers to use, costing $5 per 24 hours.
The hostel is two blocks from the metro at 96th street which has express trains downtown, meaning you can be in Times Square on 42nd steet within 10 mins of leaving the hotel.
If you've got the budget then get a hotel, if you're travelling/back-packing and watching your money and can put up with the small noisy rooms then the position of the hostel isn't too bad. Definitely not somewhere to bring your other half on a romantic trip.
Really not as expected
I was very upset after booking a double room, getting a room with twin beds.
And what the owner (sort of) said: You are better to be happy with the room what you got. We are overbooked. You are better than in a dorm room. Maybe next time you will get what you paid for.... it is not what I expect from the owner of the hostel.
Kitchen is awful, there is just a gas owen. No microwave or forks, knifes, plates etc.
I do not think so travelers bring pot etc. with them in the backpack.
+ for everything to use in the basement (biliard, table tennis), you have to pay.
Bathroom is ok, the room stands from a bed and a table. That is all.
They must done the renovation from an extremely low money. I have never seen so awful wall/wood paints than here.
I will never stay here again.