Welcome to the TravelPod forums
This is the place where TravelPod bloggers exchange travel tips with each other. Have a question? Ask one of our Local Experts by clicking "new topic" in any category.

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Starter-kit for China, Are you going to China soon? Need some help? Here you go
evamaria85
post Jul 9 2008, 01:58 PM
Post #1

Drifter

Group: Members
Member No.: 1099

Starter-kit for China

Hmm…China…the Kingdom in the Middle…the People's Republic of China (not to be confused with The Republic of China = Taiwan) or as they call it themselves ZhongHua RenMıin Gong he Guo or in daily talkZhongGuo. China has always been my second home country, if such a thing exists. So far I've spend five years there, the first years at the age of two and lately as a university student, as I am now studying Chinese.
There is no single advice to give on China. The country, the culture and the People is simply to diverse to boil down to a single worthy sentence, encompassing all that China is. For the same reason this starter-kit will only scratch the surface of what China is, but if you have further questions feel free to ask or post a note in the forum, where all sorts of views and good advice live their lives.

Getting there: How do you get to China? You can use just about any mean of transportation known to man, except, a tandem bicycle, as two people are not allowed to ride on one bike in China, technically speaking. The most obvious way of getting to China is probably flying, where you'll most likely end up in either Shanghai, Beijing or Hong Kong, a ticket from Europe is around $1000, but better deals can of course be found. It should be noted, that flying in and out of Hong Kong is usually more expensive than the other airport, but then, the airport on Lantau Island in Hong Kong IS really nice, it even has its own light rail coming from town.