Welcome to the TravelPod forums
This is the place where TravelPod bloggers exchange travel tips with each other. Have a question? Ask one of our Local Experts by clicking "new topic" in any category.

Closed TopicStart new topic
> Short Time In Hong Kong
noahj
post Nov 11 2007, 04:57 PM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 105525
Nominate me as a Local Expert

I am new to Travel Pod, I have heard that this is a good site to get information about travel. This is why I am posting this question.

My wife and I are going to Phuket, Thailand in January and we have a 8 hour layover in Hong Kong. We are trying to figure out if this will give us enough time to get out of the airport and see the city a little. Does anyone know about the Hong Kong airport and how long it takes to get through customs there and if we would have time to see some of the city? Also, with such a short time what places would you recommend seeing?

Any information would be helpful,

Noah
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
wakingdream
post Nov 12 2007, 09:34 AM
Post #2

Rolling Stone

Group: Local Expert
Member No.: 13336

Hi Noah,

You can take the express train from the airport Hong Kong Island or Kowloon( directly outside the Arrivals Hall) The express train will get you to Exchange Square/ Central Station downtown HK island in about 25 minutes, give or take. You can head to The Peak for a fantastic view but you might not have time for the tram so may want to consider a taxi ride. You could take the Star Ferry to Kowloon ( a short trip).

Day tours from the airport are readily acquired as well and might take a load off your mind regarding getting back on time. They're about HK $10-30 for 4, 6 and 8 hour trips and will pick you up at the airport and get you back. Can be useful if you're unfamiliar with the area and public transit. Tours cover temples, Aberdeen floating resto, old towns etc.

HK Airport Express
HK Walks
A Few Hours in Hong Kong