Welcome to the TravelPod forums
This is the place where TravelPod bloggers exchange travel tips with each other. Have a question? Ask one of our Local Experts by clicking "new topic" in any category.

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Florida Insider Tips from a Local Expert, Everything you want to (and don't want) know about Florida
mmbcross
post Jun 15 2007, 09:34 AM
Post #1

Tripper

Group: Local Expert
Member No.: 2195

sorcerer.png Martin Says:

I am a 25-year resident in Miami. I have worked in tourism here and in Latin America for over 35 years. I am presently taking a course to become a certified tour guide. South Florida is a fabulous place to be. Though it's awfully tempting, don't waste it by just lying on the beach.

There is plenty of public transportation where you need it, but it runs on a timetable, so to organize yourself access the local bus transit sites. Miami Beach and the city of Miami, Ft. Lauderdale beach and Las Olas Blvd. are covered top to bottom. There is regular Greyhound service from Miami to Key West. There are also regular buses and trains to Orlando. Air fares to Orlando or Tampa run around US$ 120.00 return.

If you are coming, by all means contact me. Let me know your interests and I'll try to give you some tips on how to get the most out of your holiday.

Here are some local events you might like to set up your visit around:

Miami
Art Deco Weekend Festival, January, Miami Beach
Started by the Miami Design Preservation League and going strong for more than a quarter century, the Art Deco Weekend heralding Miamiís Art Deco era (roughly from 1925 to 1945), brims with events including tours, lectures, films, music, a parade, and more.

South Beach Wine & Food Festival, February, Miami Beach
A world-class wine, spirits and food tasting unfolds along with sparking dinners, a beachside barbecue, a champagne brunch, and more.

Calle Ocho, March, Little Havana