Welcome to the TravelPod forums
This is the place where TravelPod bloggers exchange travel tips with each other. Have a question? Ask one of our Local Experts by clicking "new topic" in any category.

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Thailand / US news?
Paul
post May 22 2007, 12:41 AM
Post #1

Navigator

Group: Members
Member No.: 98
Nominate me as a Local Expert

One of the great things that the current interim military government of Thailand has done has been to give cheap access to HIV drugs for AIDS sufferers that cannot afford the usual massive costs. They have done this legally by overriding patents due to a National need. International law allows this. (By the way if my terms are not 100% correct, excuse me, I am no lawyer, but I can clearly see what is going on).

This has been a brave move though, as the massive pharmaceutical companies have put incredible pressure on Thailand to not do this. These companies make huge profits each year and employ scientists to continually tweak their drugs contents so as they can continuously have never ending patents. Patents mean they can charge as much as they want for their drugs as only they are allowed to produce them.

Interesting to note that a democratically elected government with politicians that need to suck up to big business probably would never have done this, although it is clearly the right thing to do. ie. helping the people.

The Pharma companies have now been lobbying their mates in the current USA govt. and all sorts of threats and downgrading of Thailand's ratings have come about.

I am wondering - do these news stories get into the USA media? What are they saying in USA about all this? If anything? Are the reports one sided? Do they cover Thailand's perspectives?