Welcome to the TravelPod forums
This is the place where TravelPod bloggers exchange travel tips with each other. Have a question? Ask one of our Local Experts by clicking "new topic" in any category.

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Budget China 6 weeks
phalanx
post Dec 25 2008, 08:16 AM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 265264
Nominate me as a Local Expert

Hi!

On February the 23. I'm going to visit China for roughly 6 weeks (5 weeks and 4 days) and I was wondering if you had any pointers on budget etc.

I think it's quite important to say that as I'm a student at a non-degree granting college here in Norway, which means that most of the expenditure is paid through the fee we pay to go to the school. (accomodation, transportation, breakfast, lunch, 1/2 of all the dinners, entry fees to the sights are paid in full)

And in addition, as we are going with our school, which has a policy for no alchohol, apart from one or two alchoholic beverages to accompany dinner, there will be almost no money spent on drinking and going out clubbing.

So apart from the 20-25 dinners we have to cover for ourselves it's almost all money to use on gifts and just stuff.

"Planned" expenses: As we are going to Shanghai for a couple of days I will probably buy one or two tailored suits, but one problem occurs right here; How to get it back home in good shape? I'm going to travel with my backpack, so the only option is seemingly to ship it home either through boat or air freight, or? And how much will it cost to ship it to Norway? (an approximate prize for both freight through boat and air and shipping time would be most appreciated.

Secondly as I've recently "discovered" the fun of rock climbing, I was thinking of "investing" in some quality rock climbing shoes, a set of quickdraws, chalk bag and some other equipment, and I was wondering if you guys know what the prizes are for outdoors equipment and where is the best place to purchase it.