Welcome to the TravelPod forums
This is the place where TravelPod bloggers exchange travel tips with each other. Have a question? Ask one of our Local Experts by clicking "new topic" in any category.

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> A Problem with some, A "letter to the editor" I wrote re: bad camper van people
nztravelguide
post Nov 12 2008, 02:14 AM
Post #1

Pathfinder

Group: Local Expert
Member No.: 72601

re: article Making Waves In cool campervans - Business section -
Tuesday, April 10 - This article was about Escape Vans
plus I have attached a photo I took the other day that prompted me to write another about the dis-respect of everyone.............and I am not a prude but............

My answer:

Dear Editor:

How these campervans are destroying clean green New Zealand

I am a travel writer living and working 24/7-365 days a year from a seven metre self-contained bus traveling New Zealand. I am constantly in contact with Holiday Park owners, Council staff and am in visual contact on a daily basis with the many vans on the road. I take note of what they are doing and where they go just by virtue of being there myself as a part of the whole.
I am very familiar with the Escape vans and am quite impressed with the way they have marketed their concept. A very large problem has eminated from their style of rentals and all others of like style.
The business article on Escape vans stated: “European tourists realise an onboard toilet and shower are not necessary in New Zealand”.
Then it goes on to infer by Mr. McGregor that these people who rent the vans use our camp grounds. Rarely true! They generally park overnight where it is free.
Perhaps if he actually went on the road he would see the amount of his vans parked off the road in areas they do not have to pay for and shouldn’t be parked overnight.