Welcome to the TravelPod forums
This is the place where TravelPod bloggers exchange travel tips with each other. Have a question? Ask one of our Local Experts by clicking "new topic" in any category.

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> iqaluit on a whim
queserasera
post Aug 21 2010, 08:35 PM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 1252631
Nominate me as a Local Expert

hello there!

i'm new to this travelblog (and blogs in general)
i am searching out info on an iqaluit adventure.
if i go (on a whim) i'm wondering how to find an alternative place to stay.
the hotel listings i found are crazy expensive--do you have any suggestions for finding a homestay situation?
and for things to do while there??

is it an easy destination for last minute travel or better when more thought out?

cheers,
queserasera
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
aopaq
post Aug 21 2010, 09:47 PM
Post #2

Tripper

Group: Local Expert
Member No.: 893

Hi and welcome to Travelpod! yes.gif

For sure, travel to Iqaluit is expensive and in particular hotel costs. There are some bed and breakfast residences but those also tend to be a bit pricey especially for budget travellers. Your best bet is to try Couchsurfing and I happen to know someone who hosts people. Not sure if you are familiar with Couchsurfing but if so and you are interested, I can pass on the name of the woman I know who not only grew up in Nunavut (even though she is non-Inuit) but who I am sure will help you have a great experience.

Whether you plan or go on a whim really shouldn't matter unless some major event is causing all the flights to be booked up. What is more important is the type of weather conditions you want to have to deal with. Be aware that in the spring, blizzards can cause flight delays and cancellations but you must be prepared for such events at any time.