Welcome to the TravelPod forums
This is the place where TravelPod bloggers exchange travel tips with each other. Have a question? Ask one of our Local Experts by clicking "new topic" in any category.

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Havant to Swindon, Cheap Train Tickets
doddzy
post Sep 4 2009, 03:03 PM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 321851
Nominate me as a Local Expert

Hey,

I'm fairly new to this so sorry for any mistakes.

I was just looking at the National Express Train Tickets as I need a cheap ticket from Havant to Swindon. I am aware of the reductions you can get for booking in advance. However, I can't seem to get round the cheapest ticket being 40. Does this amount seem about right? The road distance is 90 miles and it takes around 1:45 hours by car, 2:30-3:00 hours on the train (apparently). I really don't fancy paying 40 as it is only around 30 at the very most for petrol and it is a lot quicker to use a car.

Could anyone please confirm for me that the cheapest ticket from Havant to Swindon by train is 40?

Thanks,
Nathan smile.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sianeth
post Sep 4 2009, 03:16 PM
Post #2

Jet Setter

Group: Local Expert
Member No.: 60100

Hey Nathan,

I guess it depends when you want to go and times of trains etc. I just had a look and if you're flexible enough to book trains with set times then you can buy two singles for about 16 each way, so ~32 return - however they only seem to offer these fares on trains at certain times, so its worth having a good search.

If you're 16-25 you can get a young persons railcard which would take a third off the price of this fare and any future fares. Otherwise I think you're right, 40 is probably the lowest fare, which is a complete rip off! If you do have access to a car then I'd suggest you drive... probably less than 30 in petrol aswell I'd think...
User is offlinePM
+Quote Post
doddzy
post Sep 4 2009, 03:21 PM
Post #3