910 Beach Avenue Apartment Hotel
No availability found through our partners. Please contact the business directly or check some of our recommended alternatives.
How has this condo rated in the past?
Travelers also recommend:
Historical Traveler Reviews 910 Beach Avenue Apartment Hotel Vancouver
We will be back!
I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the room at the Meridian at 910 Beach. This is an apartment style hotel. Our room was a studio that included a living area, patio, queen bed, full kitchen, washer and dryer and a storage room. For only $120 USD, it was a great value. Awesome downtown location, a walk of one block gets you to the sea. We had a view of the ocean from our patio. The furniture / room was in good shape. Smaller towels, no feather duvet, but that cannot be expected for this price. Will definately stay again.
Cross (out) The Meridian if you can...
The Meridian apartment hotel @ 910 Beach IS quite a beautiful building. The location is great. Within walking distance of downtown & shopping. But, for $120/night, I should hope that every hotel would offer as such. Things to watch out for include: on the first day of your arrival, the staff appear friendly enough, but by the fifth, they don't bother with the "traditional greeting". We stayed on the 2nd floor & on the 2nd morning, woke up to find little black ants crawling all over the kitchen counter. Fortunately, the situation was remedied by the next morning. HOWEVER, when the hotel explanation card states; "..house-keeping duties will be performed betwen 8am-4pm..." don't believe it. We were there 5 nights, & 2 of the 5 nights, we had to make our own beds & call down for fresh towels. We were out of our room by 11:45am (late) on 2 occasions, & house-keeping was not done. Even though the "Clean please" sign was on the door, & the 2nd time, I even went so far as to remind the on-duty staff that we were late to leave the room. please have it attended to. Ignored.
For the money, stay somewhere where the staff know how to treat you like you are on vacation!! Don't stop at the Meridian!
Great hotel for traveling with infant
The hotel was great. Room was very clean and well kept. The space was small, but well planned and very efficient. simple kichent offers everything you need for a simple meal. Staffs were friendly. We stayed at the Premier Junior Suite which offered a partial view of the marina. The reason we chose it is because the Premier Junior Suite did not allow pets (our baby has allergy).
If you ever traveled with an infant (ours is ten months old), you know they would get cranky toward bedtime (8pm) which made it impossible for us to dine out. Since the hotel has a full kichent and locates right across from the Granville Island where vendors sells fresh made ravioli, pre-made souce, bread, wine and mouth watering bake goods; our problem was solved. We were able to fix up a dinner within minutes and actually enjoy it while our baby is playing in the crib (it's new to him and kept him busy)
The enclosed patio is great. Once the sliding door is closed, it's completely sound proof. After our son was down for the night, we sat in the patio to chat and enjoyed our wine without waking up the baby.
I almost forgot to mention the washer and dryer. They were small, but perfect for daily load of baby cloths and undies. It just made everything so much easier and you didn't need to pack so much changing clothes for every one.
We will definetely stay at this hotel again next time we visit.
A great stay at the Meridian
Having read the the review from the Seattle customer I almost cancelled my reservation but I am glad that I didn't. I did contact the people at the meridian and asked for some assurances that we would not encounter the same problems that some reviewers on trip advisor had experienced, which they happily provided. Indeed during my weeks stay at this hotel the staff were excellent, always courteous and helpful. The main plus point is its location which is excellent, near great restaurants / bars, the beach, the Granville island ferry and only a 15 minute walk from Robson street and the best shopping in Vancouver. In terms of restaurants Fiddlehead joes is excellent and a 5 minute walk. Do take the time to take a ten minute cab ($10) and go to Gastown, the Capri and the Waterside Cafe are both excellent combining good food and service with great value for money. In terms of good dining experiences to include food quality, service and value for money Vancouver has gone to the top of my favourite cities to visit. Couple of other points in the meridian's favour include the free coffee and pastries at breakfast time which is an unusual extra for these type of apartment-hotels. That said the sign which read " if you take more than one pastry you will be charged extra" was both unnecessary and a bit mean-spirited. The little gym is also good although it only has 3 pieces of equipment, however the meridian is a small hotel and i never saw anyone else in there. The rooms and furniture are perfectly acceptable and good value, but not "luxurious" None of the rooms have air-conditioning although they were good enough to provide a v large fan for our living room area. This has a knock on effect to the only issue we had during our stay, which was during a hot spell in July. Due to the heat at night time we had to leave the windows open and the traffic noise was intrusive. What is it about the Vancouver Police/Fire/Medical services which requires them to put on sirens when travelling from A to B in the middle of the night when there is no other traffic on the road?? The lack of air-conditioning is the main reason I have not given the hotel a 5 star rating. Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Meridian it is good value accomodation and perfect for families who want self catering while on vacation, we would recommend it to others and when we return to Vancouver (which we will) we will use the Meridian again.
A real gem
I've just completed my third stay at the Meridian in around approximately a year, my employer uses it quite extensively. The place is a real gem. Clean and well maintained rooms, nicely appointed kitchens and a fantastic location.
Of course as a long stay apartment hotel it doesn't have any dining facilities or room service, I believe there is a breakfast buffet but I have not availed myself of it as I rarely eat in the mornings.
The staff are outstanding and I don't say that lightly. Friendly and knowledgeable about the area, and its in a great area you can get anywhere in the city or across to Granville Island in minutes.
Staying in the Meridian is the nicest part of these business trips. If I make a non-business trip to Vancouver at any point the Meridian would be my first choice of hotel and you cant rate a place higher than that.
Every year in Vancouver
This is the third time we have stayed at the Meridian, and we have always enjoyed it. Indeed, we enjoyed it so much the first time we stayed here, that last time we rented rooms for our adult children and their families as well. Why do we like it? The location is special. It is very near the bay, False Creek, and the ferry to Granville Island. Next to the hotel on the water there are a number of restaurants where you can eat outside next to the water. My favorite is Fiddleheads. You can easily walk downtown. I walked down to the Art Museum and back without any difficulty, it is about seven blocks, and I am 69. The hotel itself has pleasant rooms, many with some view of False Creek, and the kitchen facilities, a stove, in each room are adequate for preparing meals, with refrigerators and laundry facilities in each room I have rented. Now what I like best is that you are self-sufficient in each room, including internet. Someone who wants a large hotel staff fussing over them all the time, will not be as happy as I am. I love being adequately supplied and left alone in a perfect location on the bike and walking trail to the beaches, the ferry almost at my door, and easy access to downtown.
For me, the Meridian is perfect. I plan to be here every year.
There's something shady about this place
I am appalled at the way we were treated this past weekend. Advice to people booking online-- even if you confirm your reservation over the phone with Meridian, dont be surprised if you show up and they tell you that they no longer have the room available! What is more amusing is that they down-grade your room and expect you to pay anyway, no discounts, due to their mistake. The shady part is that they offered to hold the new room for me while i looked around at other hotels for a better deal and told me i could cancel the room if i found something better since they made a mistake, but when i returned, I was told that because i did not cancel 2 days in advance, they were required to charge my credit card the full amount?!?! they would not give me back my credit card information, and told me they would charge my credit card for the amount on the room.
Please be informed that they apparently have no manager, CEO, or CFO who cares if Meridian is reported to the Better Business Bureau for fraud and extortion of money. The people at the front desk have no way of contacting the manager, and they also do not know who the manager and owner of the hotel is. I highly recommend that you stay elsewhere unless you'd like to argue with them for 90 minutes about them lying to your face and demanding that all your information be destroyed and deleted from their computer system. The person at the counter did not offer anything close to customer service, was rude and unkind, cocky and a down-right jerk. They did not deserve my business nor do they deserve yours until they can properly run a quality business.
The location is near the water, so if you are looking to do anything on granville ave, then it is too far to walk.
As your reservation was booked on-line via Orbitz or one of their affiliates, we are in no way able to cancel or modify any reservation that was made through a third party booking agent.
Once your reservation was booked, you or other members in your party had phoned the hotel on numerous occasions requesting an upgraded room type for a larger suite. On each occasion, (3 by our records) it was explained that all larger suites had been booked already, and that we could not accommodate your request. However, we would be able to add your name to a waitlist should a larger suite type become available. Each time you had called you spoke to a manager, myself being one of them.
Your original reservation was for a Junior Suite, which is what we had available upon your arrival. Your room type was never downgraded. It was at this time you demanded a larger room type, which we could not supply, however, you were offered an identical suite next door to the original suite type you had booked (2 junior suites side by side), and the total amount of the two suites combined would have totaled no more than the cost of the larger suite which you insisted you had booked.
You are correct in that we did say we would hold the rooms for you while you tried to find alternate accommodation in the city for a larger suite, and we did offer to assist you with this. You refused, so we honored your wishes.
The hotel has a 2 day cancellation policy, which we had waived for you due to the manner in you were behaving. We also tried to let you know, that although we would not charge you for your stay, that the 2 day cancellation policy was part of the booking you made on line, and that you should contact your booking agent to make sure the reservation was cancelled.
Your contact information and credit card number that we had on file were supplied by the booking company, and we are unable to access their systems to remove your information, again, this was explained to you.
In reference to your comments that we do not have a CEO or manager, that is entirely incorrect. On each occasion you called, you had spoken to a manager each time. You spoke to myself, Christopher Kean, Front Office Manager, as well as Ethel Wan-Sharp, Sales Manager, and also spoke to Daniel Belanger Weekend and Evening Manager. All three of us have worked in the Hospitality business for very many years, in a vast number of independant and chain properties.
There is not one single owner of the hotel, as this building is rather unique in that each suite is independently owned, and there is a 'council' that governs the overall operations with myself and Ethel who oversee the hotel issues.
As this is a secure building, the '90 minute process' you speak of was captured completely on digital closed circuit monitoring, and began at 16:55 on May 21st, 2005 and you are clearly seen to be leaving the property again at 17:10, which is only 15 minutes. At this point, it is very clear that you have been treated fairly and with all courtesy, and as you and your party of 4 leave, although clearly disappointed, you are smiling. Upon your return at 18:18 with a party of 11 women, (7 more people than you had originally booked the room for), it was determind that you had actually planned to have a party here. You are denied access to the building as we have an absolute no party policy which is explained to you. You and your party leave the front doors again at 18:27, very irate and verbose.
I would like to add that at this point, one of the building owners was present in the lobby waiting for a taxi, and after the display by your party, it was that owner who contacted myself at home to relay the situation and the manner in which you and your party demanded your situation be resolved.
The desk agent at the time did in fact contact myself at home after the owner had spoken to me, where I did come to the hotel and review the matter and the video recordings. There was nothing the desk agent or I could or would have done differently. I am sorry that you feel that you were treated unfairly, but I am sure after recollecting the events as they happened, you must be aware that we did in fact offer you all assistance we possibly could, at which point you had refused all offered options.
This is a quality property that does not tolerate inappropriate actions from any person on any level. We treat all people with respect and dignity, and expect the same in return. This property has won numerous awards for guest services, cleanliness, and is known to be a well-managed property in the city. We claim to be nothing more than what we are: A long term travel apartment hotel, located half a block from the Vancouver Seawall Promenade, directly across the water from Granville Island and 3 blocks from Granville street.
If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact myself directly at (phone number) Monday to Friday, 9am to 4pm or email at email@example.com
Front Office and Operations Manager
The Meridian at 910 Beach
The Meridian, Vancouver
We booked the penthouse 1 bedroom at the Meridian for 16 nights but only stayed for 11. The place itself is OK, but for the price, I felt there were problems that made it less than worth it. First, it got intolerable HOT (high 90's F, high 30's C)during the day and there was no air conditioning; something they ought to have for $236 per day! We were not able to stay in the apartment during the middle of the day for almost the entire first week of our visit. Some of the furniture was well past it's prime and should have been thrown out for new. The ventian blinds were also worn out in spots and not properly cleaned. The way the building is set up, we were constantly having neighbor's cigarette and cigar smoke blowing in through the windows and sometimes had to make a choice between very hot or smoky. There was also something in the air that smelled like a cheap deodorizer; the kind you smell in public bathrooms sometimes. We couldn't figure out where it was coming from although it was definitely coming from outside the hotel, but entering the windows and strong on the balcony. This may not have anything to do with the hotel but the general area constantly smelled of it and on occasion became overwhelming. The hotel is located between two busy bridges which sometimes became noisy. Air conditioning would have solved some of these problems.
We were told we would be able to see the sunset from our jacuzzi, but the sunset was not visible from any part of the apartment. We were also informed that parking was available but not told about the $12.00 per day extra for the spot! We thought it was included in the price.
On the positive side, the staff was generally friendly and the neighborhood very nice.
Great rooms, location and service
This is a special place in a terrific location with Super staff! Located a half a block away from the Aqua Bus which takes you across the creek to Granville Island - lots of food and a fun place to spend some time. The Meridian offers apartments with kitchens and great views. In the summer ask for a room on the east side of the building - no a/c and it can get warm. We just loved this place!! Take a walk along the beach and watch to sun go down. Or, walk around the corner to one of the open air cafe's on the water and watch the boats go by. What an awesome city!
TripAdvisor Reviews 910 Beach Avenue Apartment Hotel Vancouver
Travel Blogs from Vancouver
... in cloud as we’d see nothing! It’s a very expensive ride on the gondola so no point if there is no visibility…….
So we headed back to town catching the Sea Bus (ie, ferry) across the harbor which got us to the downtown area again. We had a great lunch at The Keg where they served my G&T with the gin in one glass and then the soda & tonic each in their own little carafes so I could mix it to my ...
... dryer combo works. We have dry towels again in a mere 2 days.
Our new apartment doesn't have the flair that our first "oven" did, but everyone is able to sleep in the air conditioning. We are smack on the Plaza Mayor, which is great people watching all day long. It is like having a window on Djemaa el Fna in Marrakesh, minus the ...
... efficient, It only took 30 minutes to clear Immigration, pick up my case and through customs. A fast driverless sky train link takes you into the heart of the city in
30 minutes and only costs C$7.50 (about £4.20), senior rates of course! This left me with just a five minute walk to the Holiday Inn Suites, my bed for the night, a lot better than my windowless box in Gatwick!
Although feeling a little jaded I still ...
... was trying to demonstrate using the wand to Harry and Ron Weasley. Swish and flick). It took me a few aborted attempts (lure getting tangled up on the rod, catching the bench about 5 metres behind me, hooking the back of my t-shirt in mid-action etc, but eventually I managed to launch a successful attempt out onto the water. Hurray!
Steven had told us that the pond was stocked with rainbow trout, approximately 500 or so by ...
Tom, Marian,Wayne,Trish,Glenys,Stephen,Ken and I embark on our adventure for today. Capilano Suspension Bridge, Tree Tops Walk and Cliff Wall Suspension walk. Wow what an action packed day. Grouse Mountain was also a highlight, the Lumber Jack show, Birds in Flight and the Grizzly Bears up very ...